Common menu bar links

Guidelines for the Management of Archaeological Resources

Objective

It is the policy of the Government of Canada to protect and manage archaeological resources3.  This document provides guidance to the Parks Canada Agency in its implementation of this policy and in applying Parks Canada’s CRM Policy to the management of its archaeological resources.

In this respect, these Guidelines are a framework to support Field Unit Superintendents in their accountability to ensure the protection and management of archaeological resources within their areas of responsibility

Map of Canada with Borden Grid overlaid

Map of Canada with Borden Grid overlaid
© Archaeological Survey of Canada, Museum of Civilization

These guidelines provide direction to all Parks Canada personnel, other organizations and individuals undertaking projects and activities that may affect terrestrial and submerged archaeological resources in heritage areas administered by Parks Canada. These include National Parks of Canada, National Historic Sites of Canada,4 National Marine Conservation Areas of Canada, National Park Reserves of Canada and National Marine Conservation Area Reserves. Parks Canada archaeologists also provide support to National Historic Sites not directly administered by Parks Canada. These guidelines apply to contribution agreements and cost-sharing agreements. Federal land managers seeking advice on the management of archaeological resources could also use these guidelines. The application of these guidelines may be affected by legislation and federal policies concerning Aboriginal land claim settlement provisions.


3 Government of Canada Archaeological Heritage Policy Framework
4 Historic Canals are considered part of the national historic sites family.

Lignes directrices pour la gestion des ressources archéologiques

Objectif

Le Gouvernement du Canada affirme dans son Cadre de la Politique sur le patrimoine archéologique qu'il est impératif d'en assurer la sauvegarde et la gestion3. Ce document vise à procurer les orientations devant faciliter l'application de la Politique sur la GRC à la gestion des ressources archéologiques.

À cet effet, les lignes directrices servent de cadre aux Directeurs d'Unités de gestion face à leurs obligations. Elles permettent aussi de faciliter leur travail quant à la protection et la gestion des ressources archéologiques placées sous leur responsabilité.

Carte du Canada illustrant le système de ré-férence Borden pour les sites archéologiques au Canada

Carte du Canada illustrant le système de référence Borden pour les sites archéologiques au Canada
© Commission archéologique du Canada, Musée de la Civilisation

Les lignes directrices énoncées dans le présent document s'adressent à tout le personnel de Parcs Canada, ainsi qu'aux autres organismes et particuliers qui entreprennent des projets ou exercent des activités qui peuvent avoir un impact sur les ressources archéologiques terrestres et subaquatiques qui sont présentes dans les aires protégées qui sont administrées par Parcs Canada. Elles sont applicables notamment dans les aires marines nationales de conservation, les lieux historiques nationaux4, les parcs nationaux, les réserves de parc national du Canada et dans les autres lieux administrés par Parcs Canada. Les archéologues de Parcs Canada fournissent d'ailleurs un soutien aux lieux historiques nationaux qui ne sont pas directement administrés par Parcs Canada. Ces lignes directrices s'appliquent aux accords de financement et aux ententes de partage des coûts et peuvent être utilisées par des gestionnaires de terres fédérales qui sont désireux d'obtenir des conseils en matière de gestion des ressources culturelles.

Les lois et les politiques du gouvernement fédéral visant le règlement des revendications territoriales autochtones peuvent avoir une incidence sur les présentes lignes directrices.


3 Cadre de la Politique sur le patrimoine archéologique, Gouvenement du Canada, 1990.
4 Les canaux historiques figurent parmi les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada