Placing a Cache at Parks Canada

PDF icon Printable version (53 KB)

There are a few things you should know before getting started:

Geocachers must travel on marked and maintained trails or in publicly accessible areas (e.g. picnic areas) at all times and ensure that natural and cultural resources are not disturbed.

All caches have to be available from trails or other publicly accessible areas.

Trade items are not permitted in caches.  Instead, a message or story about the unique location where the cache has been placed is included in the cache for others to find.  You can research message ideas at www.pc.gc.ca or by contacting Parks Canada staff at the selected national historic site, national park or national marine conservation area.

Removing trade items will help prevent a cache from containing items that may attract wildlife.

Geocachers pay all applicable fees.  (A list of applicable daily entry fees is available at www.pc.gc.ca). 

Geocachers who want to place a cache must meet with a Parks Canada staff person at the chosen national historic site, national park or national marine conservation area to obtain an authorization seal prior to placing a cache.

Preparing for this meeting

  1. Make sure that your cache container is watertight, is made of material that will withstand natural elements, is as small as possible, is neutral-coloured and has never been used for food.
  2. Bring along two completed documents: the note [Word (34 KB) PDF (31 KB)] that you will place in the cache for others to find and the completed Cache Information Form [Word (25 KB) PDF (12 KB)]

For more information, contact a Parks Canada staff person at the national historic site, national park or national marine conservation area where you are planning to geocache. For general information, please e-mail geocache@pc.gc.ca.  We are happy to help you!

Geocachers are also encouraged to visit the Leave no Trace website at http://www.leavenotrace.ca.  This website offers helpful principles for planning safe and environmentally respectful outdoor recreation activities.

A complete version of the Parks Canada Guidelines for Geocaching – which set out a basic national direction for geocaching at national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas managed by Parks Canada

Geocache
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch
Geocache
© Parks Canada / B. Townsend
Geocache
© Parks Canada / B. Townsend
Geocache
© Parks Canada / J. Sylvester
Geocache
© Parks Canada / D. Venne
Geocache
© Parks Canada / G. Locke

Installer une cache à Parcs Canada

icône PDF Version imprimable (54 ko)

Il y a certaines choses que vous devriez savoir avant de commencer :

Les géocacheurs doivent se promener en tout temps sur les sentiers balisés et entretenus ou dans les aires accessibles au public (par exemple dans les aires de pique-niques.) Ils doivent s’assurer de ne pas déranger les ressources naturelles et culturelles.

Toutes les caches doivent être accessibles à partir des sentiers ou des aires accessibles au public.

Les objets d’échange ne sont pas permis dans la cache.  À leur place, un message ou une histoire au sujet de l’endroit où se trouve la cache est placé à l’intérieur.  Vous trouverez des idées de messages en consultant le site www.pc.gc.ca ou en communiquant avec le personnel de Parcs Canada dans le lieu historique national, le parc national ou l’aire marine nationale de conservation que vous avez choisi.

Retirer les objets d’échanges permet d’éviter qu’une cache contienne un objet qui pourrait attirer un animal sauvage.

Les géocacheurs doivent payer tous les frais applicables.  La liste des tarifs est disponible au www.pc.gc.ca .

Les géocacheurs qui veulent installer une cache doivent rencontrer un membre du personnel de Parcs Canada au lieu historique national, parc national ou l’aire marine nationale de conservation choisi pour obtenir un sceau d’autorisation avant d’installer la cache.

Pour préparer cette rencontre :

  1. Assurez-vous que le contenant choisi pour la cache est hermétique, fait d’un matériau résistant aux éléments extérieurs, le plus petit possible, de couleur neutre et n’a jamais été utilisé pour de la nourriture.
  2. Préparez et apportez deux documents: le message à insérer dans la cache [Word (21 ko) PDF (19 ko)] et le formulaire d'information sur la cache [Word (27 ko) PDF (12 ko)].

Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter un employé de Parcs Canada au lieu historique national, parc national ou l’aire marine nationale de conservation de votre choix.  Pour des informations générales, faites parvenir un courriel à  geocache@pc.gc.ca.  Il nous fera plaisir de vous aider!

Les géocacheurs sont invités à visiter le site Internet Sans Trace Canada à l’adresse http://www.sanstrace.ca. Ils y trouveront des principes utiles pour l’organisation d’activités récréatives de plein air de façon sécuritaire et respectueuse de l’environnement.

Une version complète des lignes directrices de la géocachette à Parcs Canada – qui énoncent les directions nationales de base à observer pour la pratique de la géocachette dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation relevant de Parcs Canada.

Géocache
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch
Géocache
© Parcs Canada / B. Townsend
Géocache
© Parcs Canada / B. Townsend
Géocache
© Parcs Canada / J. Sylvester
Géocache
© Parcs Canada / D. Venne

© Parcs Canada / G. Locke