Visitor Activity Guidelines

GEOCACHING

Date of Approval: September 2007

Description of Activity

Geocaching
Geocaching
© Parks Canada

Geocaching is an outdoor activity that is similar to a treasure hunt. The goal of the activity is to find hidden containers known as caches or geocaches using a portable satellite navigation device called a Global Positioning System (GPS) receiver. Individuals who practice this activity (generally referred to as cachers or geocachers) place a cache in an outdoor location and post the cache's latitudinal and longitudinal coordinates on the Internet. Other geocachers then use their GPS devices to download the coordinates and cache descriptions from the Internet in order to find the caches. Once the participant has found the cache, they may log their findings on the Internet.

There are a number of different types of caches. Physical caches include a logbook, pencil, and trade items 1 (small objects left in the caches for geocachers to trade with one another – e.g. toys, key chains, etc.). Another type of cache is an earth cache, which highlights an area’s unique natural features. More information regarding different types of caches and geocaching in general can be found at:


1
Trade items are not permitted in caches placed in national historic sites, parks and marine conservation areas managed by Parks Canada. Instead, an educational message about the cache’s specific or general location is included.

National Direction

Geocaching is an activity that can occur at national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas managed by Parks Canada. While geocaching is embraced by Parks Canada at the national level, it is important to note that the activity may not be permitted at all of Parks Canada’s locations.

Where the activity is encouraged, additional guidelines could be developed in order to meet location-specific needs. For more information regarding geocaching at a specific Parks Canada location, individuals should contact the selected historic site, park or marine conservation area directly.

Activity Guidelines

These guidelines set out a basic national direction for geocaching at Parks Canada’s national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas. Geocachers at Parks Canada locations must also comply with international rules and standards for geocaching. These can be found at:

  1. When placing or seeking a cache, geocachers must travel on marked and maintained trails or in publicly accessible areas (e.g. picnic areas) at all times. All caches must be accessible from the trail or the public area. If marked and maintained trails do not exist, geocachers must check with Parks Canada staff at the selected historic site, park or marine conservation area to discuss where a cache may be placed.
  2. Trade items are not permitted in caches. Instead, a message or story about the cache’s specific location or about the national historic site, park or marine conservation area in general is included. These messages will encourage a focus on the special natural or cultural features of the cache location. Removing trade items will also help prevent a cache from containing items that may attract wildlife. However, a historic site, park or marine conservation area can choose to act as an intermediary so that the geocachers can obtain or leave trade items.
  3. Geocachers pay all applicable fees. (This list is available at http://www.pc.gc.ca).
  4. Caches are placed so that they do not disturb natural (e.g. vegetation, soil) and / or cultural resources.
  5. Caches are permitted in zone II, III, IV and V areas in national parks 3. Individuals should contact Parks Canada staff directly for more information about zoning in a specific national park.
  6. Geocachers are required to meet with Parks Canada staff at the selected historic site, park, or marine conservation area to discuss the proposed location of their cache and to obtain an authorization seal prior to placing a cache. In preparation for this meeting, geocachers are required to complete a cache information form. [Word (25 KB) PDF (12 KB)]
  7. Cache containers will:
    • Be watertight;
    • Be made of material that will withstand wind, rain, frost, and other natural elements;
    • Be as small as possible;
    • Be neutral-coloured so that they do not stand out in the natural environment.
    • Cache containers that have been used for food are not permitted as odours could attract wildlife.
  8. Caches should include the following:
    • A logbook (in a sealable bag to protect it from humidity),
    • A pencil and pencil sharpener, and
    • A note for finders [Word (34 KB) PDF (31 KB)] that includes the following:
      • An educational message about the cache’s specific location or about the historic site, park or marine conservation area in general,
      • A clear message directing finders not to leave trade items in the cache and providing the rationale as to why (to prevent a cache from containing items that may attract wildlife),
      • Instructions for people who find the cache by chance,
      • The cache’s coordinates to confirm that the correct cache has been found, and
      • Parks Canada staff contact information and the cache owner’s name and/or screen name and contact information in the event that the cache is in need of maintenance or needs to be removed from its location.

Additional Information

The Staff Orientation Guide for Geocaching at Parks Canada provides specific information for managing geocaching at national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas. It includes direction for staff regarding placing, finding, archiving and monitoring caches, as well as direction for management of unauthorized caches.

The Public Information Page for Geocaching at Parks Canada provides specific information for geocachers regarding how to find and place caches in Parks Canada’s national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas.

Special Thanks

Parks Canada wishes to thank everyone who participated in the consultation to develop these guidelines. The involvement of various groups - including the geocaching community - was instrumental in finding a creative approach to offering geocaching in Canada’s national historic sites, national parks and national marine conservation areas in a manner that respects natural and cultural resources, promotes understanding and helps facilitate memorable visitor experiences .

2 Geocachers are also encouraged to visit the Leave no Trace website at http://www.leavenotrace.ca. This website offers helpful principles for planning safe and environmentally respectful outdoor recreation activities.

3 There are five zones in Parks Canada’s zoning system for national parks: Zone I (Special Preservation), Zone II (Wilderness), Zone III (Natural Environment), Zone IV (Outdoor Recreation) and Zone V (Park Services) areas.

Parks Canada Welcomes Geocachers: Come Explore With Us!

For more information, contact a Parks Canada staff person at the national historic site, national park or national marine conservation area where you are planning to geocache. For general information, please e-mail geocache@pc.gc.ca.  We are happy to help you!

Lignes directrices pour les activités aux visiteurs

GÉOCACHETTE

Date d’approbation : Septembre 2007

Description de l’activité

Géocachette
Géocachette
© Parcs Canada

La géocachette est une activité de plein air qui ressemble à une chasse au trésor. Le but de cette activité est de découvrir des contenants dissimulés, appelés caches ou géocaches, à l’aide d’un récepteur GPS (global positioning system ou système mondial de localisation) qui est un instrument portatif de navigation supporté par des satellites. Les adeptes de cette activité (communément appelés cacheurs ou géocacheurs) placent une cache dans un endroit en plein air et affichent les coordonnées géographiques (latitude et longitude) sur Internet. D’autres géocacheurs utilisent par la suite leur récepteur GPS pour repérer la cache après en avoir téléchargé les coordonnées et la description figurant sur Internet. Une fois que les participants ont découvert la cache, ils peuvent enregistrer leur trouvaille sur Internet.

Il existe de nombreux types de caches. Les caches physiques renferment un carnet de bord, un crayon et des objets destinés à être échangés 1 (par exemple de petits jouets, des porte‑clés ou d’autres babioles.). Un autre type de cache est la cache géoscientifique, dite earth cache, qui a pour objet de faire ressortir les particularités naturelles uniques d’un lieu. On trouvera de plus amples renseignements sur les différents types de caches et sur la géocachette en général sur les sites Internet suivants: 

1 Il n’est pas permis de mettre des objets d’échanges dans les caches situées dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux ou les aires marines nationales de conservation gérés par Parcs Canada. Au lieu d’inclure un objet, un message ou un récit sur l’emplacement spécifique de la cache ou sur l’endroit en général où elle se trouve sera inséré dans la cache.

Direction nationale

La géocachette est une activité qui peut être pratiquée dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et dans les aires marines nationales de conservation gérés par Parcs Canada.  La géocachette est adoptée par Parcs Canada au niveau national; il est cependant important de noter que l’activité ne sera pas nécessairement permise dans tous les emplacements de Parcs Canada.
Pour les endroits où l’activité est encouragée, des lignes directrices supplémentaires pourraient être établies afin de répondre à des besoins particuliers. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la géocachette dans des endroits donnés, le géocacheur devra communiquer directement avec le personnel du lieu historique, du parc ou de l’aire marine de conservation en question.

Lignes directrices d’activité

Ces lignes directrices énoncent les directions nationales de base à observer pour la pratique de la géocachette dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation administrés par Parcs Canada. Les géocacheurs doivent également se conformer aux règles et normes internationales en matière de géocaching lorsqu’ils s’adonnent à leur activité dans les lieux gérés par Parcs Canada. On peut trouver ces règles et normes sur les sites :


  1. Lorsqu’ils sont à la recherche d’une cache ou vont en placer une, les géocacheurs doivent toujours se tenir dans les sentiers balisés et entretenus ou dans les endroits accessibles au public (ex. les aires de pique-nique). Toutes les caches doivent être accessibles à partir des sentiers ou dans les aires publiques. S’il n’existe pas de sentiers balisés et entretenus, ils doivent aller voir le personnel de Parcs Canada dans le lieu historique, le parc ou l’aire marine de conservation choisi pour discuter de l’endroit où ils pourraient installer une cache.
  2. Il n’est pas permis de mettre des objets d’échanges dans les caches.  Au lieu d’inclure un objet, un message ou un récit sur l’emplacement spécifique ou sur le lieu historique, le parc ou l’aire marine de conservation sera inséré dans la cache. Ces messages sont destinés à faire ressortir les particularités naturelles ou culturelles du lieu. On interdit les objets d’échanges afin d’éviter la présence d’objets susceptibles d’attirer les animaux. Cependant, un lieu historique, un parc ou une aire marine de conservation pourrait choisir de servir d’intermédiaire afin que les géocacheurs puissent obtenir ou laisser un objet à échanger.
  3. Les géocacheurs doivent payer tous les frais applicables. (Cette liste est disponible à http://www.pc.gc.ca).
  4. La cache sera installée de façon à ne pas déranger les ressources naturelles (par exemple : la végétation, la terre) et/ou culturelles.
  5. L’installation de caches est autorisée dans les zones II, III, IV et V des parcs nationaux 3.  La personne intéressée communiquera directement avec le personnel de Parcs Canada afin d’obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le zonage dans un parc national donné.
  6. Les géocacheurs doivent rencontrer un membre du personnel de Parcs Canada dans le lieu historique, le parc ou l’aire marine de conservation de leur choix pour discuter de l’emplacement et obtenir le sceau d’autorisation requis avant d’installer une cache. Afin de se préparer à cette rencontre, le géocacheur complètera le formulaire d’information sur la cache. [Word (21 Ko) PDF (19 Ko)]
  7. Le contenant à cacher devra :
    • Être étanche;
    • Être fait d’un matériau résistant aux éléments  naturels (vent, pluie, gel, etc.);
    • Être le plus petit possible;
    • Être de couleur neutre pour ne pas trancher avec le milieu naturel.
    • Les contenants ayant servi pour de la nourriture sont interdits car leur odeur pourrait attirer les animaux.
  8. La cache doit renfermer :
    • Un carnet de bord (dans un sac à fermeture hermétique qui le protège de l’humidité),
    • Un crayon et un taille‑crayon; et
    • Une note explicative à l’intention des gens à la recherche de caches [Word (27 Ko) PDF (12 Ko)] comprenant les éléments suivants :
      • Un message éducatif  concernant l’endroit où se trouve la cache ou ayant trait au lieu historique, au parc ou à l’aire marine de conservation en général;
      • Un message clair qui demande de ne mettre aucun objet à échanger dans lacache et expliquant le but de cette consigne (éviter la présence d’objets susceptibles d’attirer les animaux);
      • Des instructions à l’intention de quiconque aurait découvert la cache par hasard;
      • Les coordonnées de la cache, pour s’assurer d’avoir trouvé la bonne cache, et
      • Les coordonnées d’une personne‑ressource de Parcs Canada ainsi que le nom et/ou le pseudonyme et les coordonnées du propriétaire de la cache, au cas où celle-ci aurait besoin d’entretien ou devrait être retirée.

Information supplémentaire

Le guide d’orientation des employés pour la géocachette à Parcs Canada présente les informations spécifiques à la gestion de la géocachette dans les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et dans les aires marines nationales de conservation gérés par Parcs Canada. Il présente les lignes directrices à suivre lors de l’installation, la recherche, l’archivage et la supervision d’une cache ainsi que les consignes concernant les caches non-autorisées.

La page d’information pour le public au sujet de la géocachette à Parcs Canada présente les informations requises afin de chercher ou de placer une cache dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et dans les aires marines nationales de conservation gérés par Parcs Canada.

Remerciement spécial

Parcs Canada tient à remercier toutes les personnes qui ont participé aux consultations préparatoires à l’élaboration de ces lignes directrices. L’implication des différents organismes de géocaching et des représentants de divers autres groupes concernés a été un facteur clé dans le développement d’une approche créative pour intégrer la géocachette dans les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation de façon à respecter les ressources naturelles et culturelles, promouvoir la compréhension et faciliter des expériences de visite mémorables.

2 Les géocacheurs sont invités à visiter le site web Sans Trace Canada à l’adresse http://www.sanstrace.ca. Ils y trouveront des principes utiles pour l’organisation d’activités récréatives de plein air de façon sécuritaire et respectueuse pour l’environnement.

3 Il y a cinq zones dans le système de zonage de Parcs Canada pour les parcs nationaux : la zone I (zone de préservation spéciale), la zone II (zone de milieu sauvage), la zone III (zone de milieu naturel), la zone IV (zone de loisirs de plein air) et la zone V (zone de services du parc).

Parcs Canada souhaite la bienvenue aux géocacheurs : Venez explorer avec nous!

Pour plus d’information, veuillez contacter un employé de Parcs Canada au lieu historique national, parc national ou l’aire marine nationale de conservation de votre choix. Pour des informations générales, faites parvenir un courriel à geocache@pc.gc.ca. Il nous fera plaisir de vous aider!