Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >


9.0 ARCHAEOLOGICAL OBJECTS: TRACEABILITY FROM FIELD TO LAB

9.1 PRINCIPLES

  1. It is critical to ensure the integrity of archaeological items, their grouping by provenience, and all associated data from the moment the archaeological items are recovered from the field to their reception at the Parks Canada Service Centre laboratory.
  2. All items removed from the field as a result of an archaeological investigation are traceable to the archaeologist’s Field Notebook or forms.
  3. To ensure the above principle, it is essential to adhere to local Parks Canada Service Centre Collections Management procedures, directives, and guidelines.

9.2 ESSENTIAL DATA

Archaeologists should take every necessary precaution to ensure provenience control between the time that an archaeological item is excavated, or surface collected in the field, and the time that it has been received in the laboratory. The essential data, described below, must accompany archaeological items, at all times, between their recovery and their reception at the laboratory.

Archaeological items (e.g., archaeological objects, samples, feature components) must be brought or shipped to the Parks Canada Service Centre laboratory with the following information attached:

  • complete Provenience Number;
  • date of recovery (yyyy-mm-dd);
  • full name of archaeologist/collector (and/or Staff Field Number);
  • additional remarks (when necessary).

An archaeological object bag card example is provided in Figure 8. Its format may be adapted to suit the needs of a given Parks Canada Service Centre, provided the essential data noted above are included with the archaeological items removed from the field, and that labelling procedures for bags or cards are in accordance with the Collections Management standards of the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre. The same approach may be used for other labels ascribed to larger archaeological items (e.g., structural members) removed from the field, as required.

PROVENIENCE DATE (YYYY-MM-DD)
FULL NAME or STAFF FIELD NUMBER
REMARKS

Figure 8. Archaeological Object Bag Card Example. Redrawn by S. Savauge, from Parks Canada (1978).

In the “Remarks” field, for example, one could include object name, material type, or note any special conservation requirements for the items, such as “Keep wet”, “Fragile”, “Do not Wash”, etc. Where there are multiple bags for a Lot, the bags could be numbered sequentially and, if possible, the total number of bags from the Lot indicated, e.g., “Bag 1 of 3" or “Bag 27 of 32.”

Best Practices

  • Any recorded data should be legibly written or printed with stable, indelible ink on a resistant material (whether it is a bag, a card, a tag or a box) and accompany archaeological objects at all times.
  • All collected archaeological items should be packed in containers (e.g., bags, boxes) that are sufficiently resilient to ensure that objects are not lost or mixed with others from a different provenience at any time after their recovery, and especially during their transport to the Parks Canada Service Centre laboratory.
  • For the latest object cataloguing procedures and standards, consult the Collections Manager and Archaeological Conservators at the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >


9.0 OBJETS ARCHÉOLOGIQUES : DU TERRAIN AU LABORATOIRE

9.1 PRINCIPES

  1. Il est importe d’assurer l’intégrité des éléments archéologiques, leur regroupement selon la provenance et l’intégrité des données associées aux éléments lors de leur découverte sur le terrain jusqu’au moment de leur réception au laboratoire du centre de services de Parcs Canada.
  2. Tous les éléments prélevés sur le terrain dans le contexte de recherches archéologiques doivent pouvoir être retracés dans le carnet de notes de terrain de l’archéologue ou sur des fiches.
  3. Pour garantir l’application de ce principe, il est essentiel d’adhérer aux procédures, instructions et lignes directrices pour la gestion des collections du centre de services de Parcs Canada.

9.2 DONNÉES ESSENTIELLES

Les archéologues devraient prendre toutes les précautions nécessaires pour assurer le contrôle de la provenance, à partir de la découverte de l’objet sur le terrain lors de la fouille ou d’un prélèvement en surface, et le moment de la réception au laboratoire. Les données essentielles, décrites ci-dessous, doivent accompagner les éléments archéologiques en tout temps entre le moment de leur découverte et celui de leur réception au laboratoire.

Les éléments archéologiques (p. ex., objets, échantillons, composantes de formes d’aménagement) doivent être apportés ou expédiés au laboratoire du centre de services de Parcs Canada. Ils doivent être accompagnés de l’information suivante :

  • Numéro de provenance au complet;
  • Date de la découverte (aaaa-mm-jj);
  • Nom au long de l’archéologue/ou de l’auteur du prélèvement (ou numéro de personnel de terrain) ;
  • Remarques additionnelles (si nécessaire).

Un exemple d’étiquette d’accompagnement de l’objet archéologique pour l’emballage est fourni à la figure 8. Ce format peut être modifié pour répondre aux besoins d’un centre de services particulier de Parcs Canada, dans la mesure où les données essentielles mentionnées ci-dessus sont incluses avec l’élément archéologique prélevé sur le terrain et que les procédures pour l’emballage et les étiquettes soient conformes aux normes de gestion de collections du centre de service concerné. La même approche peut être utilisée pour les autres étiquettes utilisées dans le cas d’éléments plus volumineux (p. ex., parties de structures) prélevés sur le terrain, au besoin.

PROVENANCE DATE (AAAA/MM/JJ)
NOM AU LONG ou NUMÉRO DE PERSONNEL DE TERRAIN
REMARQUES

Figure 8. Exemple d’étiquette d’objet archéologique pour l’emballage. Redessiné par S. Savauge, d’après Parcs Canada (1978).

Dans le champ « Remarques », on peut par exemple inclure le nom de l’objet, le type de matériel ou encore noter les précautions à prendre pour la conservation des éléments tel que « Garder humide », « Fragile », « Ne pas nettoyer », etc. Lorsqu’il y a plus d’un sac d’emballage pour un lot, les sacs doivent être numérotés en séquence et si possible, le nombre total de sacs provenant de ce lot doit être indiqué, par exemple, « sac 1 de 3 » ou « sac 27 de 32 ».

Pratiques exemplaires

  • Toutes les données enregistrées doivent être lisibles et écrites ou imprimées avec une encre stable et indélébile sur un matériel résistant et sans acide (que ce soit le sac, la fiche, l’étiquette, la boîte ou un autre type de contenant et accompagner les objets archéologiques en tout temps.
  • Tous les éléments archéologiques devraient être emballés dans des contenants (p. ex., sacs, boîtes) qui sont suffisamment résistants pour faire en sorte que les objets ne seront pas perdus, endommagés, ni mélangés avec des objets d’autres provenances en tout temps après leur découverte et particulièrement au cours du transport vers le laboratoire du centre de services de Parcs Canada.
  • Pour les normes et procédures les plus récentes en ce qui a trait à la préparation des catalogues d’objets et pour l’emballage, on peut consulter le responsable des collections et les spécialistes en conservation archéologique du centre de services concerné de Parcs Canada, ainsi que les directives de gestion pertinentes notés a section 12.8.

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >