Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >


8.0 DRAWINGS, MAPS, and OTHER MEDIA

The following procedures allow field records such as drawings and maps, as well as “media” such as magnetometer and sonar data generated during a field project, to be documented in a standard manner. The procedures also ensure that core data is associated with the original record, and facilitate the efficient transfer of data to an archaeological database or a paper-based record system. Central to the effective management of field drawings, maps, and other media are the Drawing and Media Catalogue Number systems, in tandem with the recording of key metadata for each type of record.

For the purpose of this Manual, “media” refers to the means by which something is communicated, such as instrument-derived data, audio, video (“moving images”), and forms, in either paper or digital format. “Moving images” refers to images created by video cameras, film cameras, etc. in either digital or analog tape format. The cataloguing procedure for media is a new introduction with this Manual, and is an adaptation of the drawing cataloguing procedure employed in previous years.

8.1 PRINCIPLES

  1. Records are prepared in such a manner that Collections Management staff from the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre can assure their efficient and complete entry into the records/database system.
  2. Copies, or digital data backups (as applicable) are made for all original drawings, maps, and other media according to the Collections Management standards of the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre.
  3. Core metadata pertaining to each record is recorded, and to ensure the long-term preservation or integrity of the record and associated data. Every effort should be made to keep current with latest Parks Canada initiatives on Digital Multimedia Asset Management and Metadata Standards.
  4. Metadata for digital files are included with each digital file. If not resident in the file itself, the essential metadata are recorded in the field notes.

8.2 DATA STANDARDS for DRAWINGS, MAPS and OTHER MEDIA

Field drawings, plans, and maps must, at a minimum, provide the information under the following headings:

  • Drawing Catalogue Number (see Section 8.2.2);
  • Provenience;
  • Description;
  • Scale (e.g., 1:15; 1:50,000);
  • Date (in format: yyyy-mm-dd);
  • Staff Field Number (or full name of archaeologist);
  • References (Field Notebook page reference); and
  • include a north arrow (if applicable; depicting true, magnetic, or grid north).

As a best practice, the following should be included, if the data is applicable or available:

  • coordinates;
  • elevation.

These elements are described below. As a best practice, all drawings should be done in the metric system.

An example of a drawing record format (or card) for entering drawing data is shown in Figure 7. This is a variation of the Drawing Stamp and Card system used in previous versions of the Manual (see Parks Canada 1978:57). The format may also be adapted for maps (e.g., NTS topographic maps).

DATA STANDARDS for DRAWINGS, MAPS and OTHER MEDIA

Figure 7. Example of a drawing record format (or card) for entering drawing data. Redrawn by S. Savauge, from Parks Canada (1978).

8.2.1 Provenience

Enter the most inclusive Provenience Number. Depending on the content of the record, this may be a Site, Operation, Suboperation, or Lot Number. The complete Provenience Number must be used, e.g., 2E43 or 2E43Q or 2E43Q48 would be correct, but 43Q48 or Q48 or other variations of partial provenience numbers are not acceptable.

8.2.2 Drawing Catalogue Number

The Drawing Catalogue Number or “Drawing Number” should be used to catalogue all key drawings, plans, and maps used or generated during the course of a field project. The Drawing Catalogue Number comprises the Site Number, Date (yyyy-mm-dd), Staff Field Number, and Drawing Number, separated by hyphens, as shown in the examples below and Table 8.

The Drawing Number denotes the drawings made by an individual, not the total of drawings for a project. The Drawing Numbers begin sequentially from number “1”. For computer input, the drawing number groups are justified to the right, e.g., 009K-2004-7P-D005.

Examples

5H-2004-101H-D1
18H-2004-101H-D2
134H-2004-101H-D3
134H-2004-101H-D4

From the hypothetical examples above, one can determine at a glance that Staff Field Number 101H (“John Smith”) generated four separate field drawings at three different sites (5H, 18H, and 134H) in the year 2004.

Table 8. Drawing Catalogue Number Components.

Site Number Year (yyyy) Staff Field Number Drawing Number
5H 2004 101H D1

8.2.3 Area

Identify the structure, part of a structure or activity area of which the record was made, e.g., “Latrine.”

8.2.4 Description

Identify the drawing as a plan, section (profile), or elevation, and provide a statement of the drawing content and purpose (if applicable).

Examples

“Plan of casemate floor showing location of in situ archaeological objects”
“Plan of tent ring showing hearth, sleeping platform and cold trap”
“Elevation of north face (exterior) of doorway”
“Map of Operation 2E19 showing locations of Suboperations and limits of excavation”
“Elevation showing soil profiles of north-east face of suboperation 15H21D”

To specify content, additional Provenience Numbers should be added where applicable. For
example, a plan of Suboperations 2E13Q and 2E13R would have the Operation Number 2E13
entered in the “Provenience” field (Section 8.2.1) and the specific Suboperation Letters listed in this
“Description” field.

8.2.5 Scale

Enter the scale to which the drawing was made.

Example

“1cm = 1m” or A1:100"

8.2.6 Date

Enter the date on which the drawing was made, in numerical format: yyyy-mm-dd.

Example

The first day of July, 2005 would be entered as 2005-07-01.

8.2.7 References

Enter the Drawing Catalogue Numbers of the related drawings, including those of other sheets in the case of a composite drawing or mosaic. Also enter related field note pages or forms.

8.2.8 Coordinates and Elevations

Where possible, enter the spatial or geographic coordinate data pertinent to the drawing (See the Parks Canada Archaeological Site Inventory Form Guide, Appendix A, for examples and descriptions).

8.3 MAPS

A vast array of Topographic (e.g., NTS maps) and other maps (e.g., forestry maps, hydrographic charts, orthographic maps, Geographic Information System (GIS) maps) of various scales are often used to plot the locations of archaeological sites, or indicate vegetation, landforms, and other information for predictive modelling, etc. These maps or representations may be in either paper or digital format, or sometimes both, and may be acquired externally (e.g., from Geomatics Canada) or generated internally (e.g., from a Service Centre GIS database).

When original field data is recorded on such maps, and where the information does not appear elsewhere (e.g., on a master map), the map should be assigned a Drawing Catalogue Number as described above, which should be cross-referenced to the field notes.

On return from the field, the map will be catalogued into the Collections Management System according to jurisdictional Service Centre Collections Management procedures.

8.4 OTHER MEDIA

This section outlines best practices for cataloguing such media records as remote sensing data, digital and analog video and audio files and tapes, as well as geographic and navigational data, and forms.

The Media Catalogue Number is the cataloguing method for media in either digital or analog format, which is a variation of the Drawing Catalogue Number described above. As is the case for the Drawing Catalogue Number, the Media Catalogue Number comes with a requirement to record associated metadata for each record.

8.4.1 Media Catalogue Number

The Media Catalogue Number comprises the Site Number, Year, Staff Field Number, and Media Number, separated by hyphens. The Media Catalogue Numbers begin sequentially from number “1”, and denote the records made by an individual, not the total of drawings for a project.

Example

9K-2004-137P-R1 is the first Remote Sensing Data record (R1) generated in 2004 at York Factory NHSC (9K), Manitoba by Staff Field Number 137P (Jim Doe)

Additional Examples

5H-2004-101H-A1;
5H-2004-101H-R1;
18H-2004-101H-R2;
134H-2004-101H-G1;
134H-2004-101H-G2

From the hypothetical examples immediately above, one can determine at a glance that Staff Field Number 101 H (“John Smith”) generated five separate media records (one audio record, two remote sensing records, and two geographic data records) at three different sites (5H, 18H, and 134H) in the year 2004.

8.4.2 Codes for Media Records

As a best practice, the following codes (Table 9) are applied to media records, which include digital files and outputs (e.g., magnetometer output/printout), and analog tapes (e.g., video, audio tapes).

Table 9. Valid Codes for Media Records, with Descriptions and Examples.

Code Description Examples
A Audio Digital audio files, analog tape formats (with no video component)
F Forms Suboperation Summary Form, Lot Summary Form
G Geographic Data Global Positioning System Data, Geographic Information System Data, Boat Navigation Data
R Remote Sensing Data Gradiometer Data, Magnetometer Data, Ground Penetrating Radar Data, Electrical Resistivity/Electromagnetic Conductivity Data, Sonar Data (such as Side Scan; Sector Beam; Multi-Beam; Sub Bottom Profiler), Satellite Remote Sensing, Aerial Photography Data (such as thermal imagery, Infrared)
S Instrument Survey Data Total Station, Transit, Theodolite, Level Data
V Video Digital video files, analog tape formats (may include associated audio components)

8.5 MEDIA SELECTION PROCESS

As specified in the case of digital images (described above), not all records need to be catalogued; the selection for cataloguing will be based on information content, anticipated research, management requirements, as well as publication and presentation requirements. Only those files identified by the Principal Investigator or delegate to be curated into the records system and referenced in the field notes should be assigned a Media Catalogue Number.

8.6 MEDIA CATALOGUE FORM: EXPLAINED

An example of Media Catalogue Form, as well as a Form Guide, is provided in Appendix C. Though the use of the Media Catalogue Form is optional, the data fields shown in the form and explained in the Form Guide are mandatory and represent minimum data standards for Parks Canada media records. As a result, the use of the Media Catalogue Form is recommended as a best practice. The Media Catalogue Form organizes data for each type of media as it is recorded, correlates this record with the permanent Media Catalogue Number and prepares each of these records for data entry or transfer into an Archaeological Database. Relational databases can merge, cross-reference and output media data in a variety of ways to suit the needs of a given project or Service Centre’s archaeological records management system.


< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >


8.0 DESSINS, CARTES ET AUTRES MÉDIAS

La procédure qui suit permet de normaliser l’enregistrement des documents de terrain tels que les dessins, les cartes ainsi que les médias comme par exemple les données enregistrées à l’aide d’un magnétomètre ou d’un sonar au cours d’un projet de terrain. Ces procédures assurent également que l’essentiel des données est associé au document original et elles facilitent le transfert efficace des informations dans une base de données archéologiques ou dans un système de documentation sur papier. Le système de numérotation du catalogue de dessins et médias est essentiel à la gestion efficace des dessins, cartes et autres médias de terrain, de même que l’enregistrement des métadonnées clés pour chaque type de document.

Pour les fins de ce manuel, le terme « médias » réfère aux moyens par lesquels une chose est communiquée, comme par exemple des données obtenues au moyen d’un appareil, un enregistrement sonore ou vidéo (« images animées ») et des fiches en format imprimé ou numérisé. L’expression « images animées » désigne les images créées par les caméras vidéo, ciné-caméras, etc., en format numérique ou analogique (ruban). Dans ce manuel, la procédure d’établissement des catalogues pour les médias représente une nouveauté et une adaptation de la procédure employée pour les dessins au cours des années passées.

8.1 PRINCIPES

  1. Les documents sont préparés de façon à ce que le personnel de gestion des collections du centre de services concerné de Parcs Canada puisse assurer l’entrée efficace et complète des données dans les dossiers/le système de base de données.
  2. Des copies ou des copies de sauvegarde des données numériques (s’il y a lieu) sont effectuées à partir de tous les dessins, cartes et autres médias originaux, selon les normes de gestion des collections du centre de services concerné.
  3. Il est crucial d’enregistrer l’ensemble des métadonnées associées à chaque document pour assurer la conservation à long terme et l’intégrité des documents et des données associées. Il faut faire tous les efforts nécessaires pour suivre les normes les plus récentes de Parcs Canada quant aux métadonnées pour la gestion des collections multimédias numériques.
  4. Les métadonnées des fichiers numériques sont inclues avec chaque fichier numérique. Si elles ne se trouvent pas incorporées dans le fichier, les métadonnées essentielles sont enregistrées dans les notes de terrain.

8.2 NORMES RELATIVES AUX DONNÉES DES DESSINS, CARTES ETAUTRES MÉDIAS

Avec les dessins, plans et cartes de terrain, il faut au minimum fournir les informations suivantes :

  • Numéro de catalogue du dessin (voir section 8.2.2);
  • Provenance;
  • Description;
  • Échelle (p. ex., 1:15; 1:50 000);
  • Date (en format : aaaa-mm-jj);
  • Numéro de personnel de terrain (ou nom complet de l’archéologue);
  • Références (renvoi à la page du carnet de notes de terrain); et
  • Flèche indiquant le Nord (s’il y a lieu, représentant le nord géographique, magnétique ou celui du quadrillage).

Comme pratique exemplaire, il faudrait inclure les éléments suivants, lorsque les données le permettent :

  • coordonnées;
  • altitude.

Ces éléments sont décrits ci-dessous. Comme pratique exemplaire, le système métrique doit être utilisé dans la réalisation de tous les dessins.

Un exemple du format (ou encadré) d’enregistrement des données d’un dessin se trouve à la figure 7. Il s’agit d’une variation du système d’estampage et d’encadré utilisé dans les versions précédentes du manuel pour les dessins (voir Parcs Canada, 1978:57). Ce format peut être également adapté pour les cartes (p. ex., cartes topographiques du SNRC).

PROVENANCE NUMÉRO DU DESSIN AIRE
DESCRIPTION
ÉCHELLE FEUILLET De ALTITUDE COORDONNÉES
RÉFÉRENCES NOM/No. DE TERRAIN PERSONNEL DE DATE (AAAA/MM/JJ)

Figure 7. Exemple du format (ou encadré) d’enregistrement d’un dessin pour l’entrée des données. Redessiné par S. Savauge, d’après Parcs Canada (1978).

8.2.1 Provenance

Inscrire le numéro de provenance le plus complet possible. Selon le contenu du document, il peut s’agir d’un site, d’une opération, d’une sous-opération ou d’un numéro de lot. Le numéro de provenance au complet doit être utilisé. Par exemple, si 2E43 ou 2E43Q ou 2E43Q48 sont corrects, 43Q48, Q48 ou d’autres variantes partielles de ces numéros de provenance ne sont pas acceptables.

8.2.2 Numéro de catalogue de dessins

Le numéro de catalogue des dessins ou « numéro de dessin » peut être utilisé pour tous les dessins, cartes et plans importants utilisés ou produits au cours d’un projet de terrain. Le numéro de catalogue de dessins comprend le numéro du site, la date (aaaa-mm-jj), le numéro de personnel de terrain et le numéro du dessin, séparés par des traits d’union, tel qu’indiqué plus bas et au tableau 8.

Le numéro de dessin identifie les dessins réalisés par un individu et non pas le nombre total de dessins pour un projet. La séquence des numéros de dessin commence par « 1 ». Pour l’informatisation des données, les groupes de numéros sont justifiés à droite; p. ex., 009K-2004-7pD005.

Exemples

5H-2004-101H-D1
18H-2004-101H-D2
134H-2004-101H-D3
134H-2004-101H-D4

Dans les exemples fictifs ci-dessus, il est possible de déterminer au premier coup d’œil que le numéro de personnel de terrain 101H (« John Smith ») a produit quatre dessins de terrain distincts sur trois sites différents (5H, 18H et 134H) au cours de l’année 2004.

Tableau 8. Composantes du numéro de catalogue de dessins

Numéro du site Année (aaaa) Numéro de personnel de terrain Numéro de dessin
5H 2004 101H D1

8.2.3 Aire

Identifier la structure, la partie de structure ou l’aire d’activités qui a fait l’objet de l’enregistrement, par exemple, des « latrines ».

8.2.4 Description

Identifier le dessin comme un plan, une section (profil) ou un plan des élévations, et en décrire le contenu et l’objectif (s’il y a lieu).

Exemples

« Plan d’un plancher de casemate montrant la distribution des objets archéologiques tels que découverts »
« Plan d’un emplacement de tente montrant le foyer, la plate-forme de couchage et le sas thermique »
« Élévation du côté nord (extérieur) d’une porte d’entrée »
« Carte de l’opération 2E19 montrant l’emplacement des sous-opérations et les limites de la fouille »
« Élévation montrant les profils de sol de la face nord-est de la sous-opération 15H21D ».

Pour préciser le contenu, des numéros de provenance supplémentaires devraient être ajoutés, s’il y
a lieu. Par exemple, un plan des sous-opérations 2E13Q et 2E13R s’inscrit comme numéro
d’opération 2E13 dans le champ « Provenance » (section 8.2.1) et les numéros de sous-opérations
particulières s’énumèrent sous la variable « Description ».

8.2.5 Échelle

Inscrire l’échelle utilisée lors de la production du dessin.

Exemple

« 1cm = 1m » ou « 1:100 »

8.2.6 Date

Inscrire la date de production du dessin selon le format numérique suivant : aaaa-mm-jj.

Exemple

Le premier jour de juillet de 2005 devrait être noté 2005-07-01.

8.2.7 Références

Inscrire les numéros de catalogue des dessins associés, en incluant ceux des autres feuilles dans le cas des dessins composites ou en mosaïque. Inscrire également les pages des notes de terrain ou les fiches associées.

8.2.8 Coordonnées et cotes d’altitude

Si possible, indiquer les coordonnées géographiques ou spatiales relatives au dessin (voir le guide d’utilisation de la fiche d’inventaire des sites archéologiques de Parcs Canada à l’annexe A pour des exemples et des descriptions).

8.3 CARTES

Un large inventaire de cartes topographiques (p. ex., cartes du SNRC) et d’autres cartes de différentes échelles (p. ex., cartes d’inventaires forestiers, cartes hydrographiques, cartes orthogonales, cartes de SIG (système d’information géographique)) sont souvent utilisés pour localiser les sites archéologiques, illustrer les types de végétation, les formes de relief et d’autres informations pour développer des modèles de prévision, etc. Ces cartes ou représentations peuvent être en format papier ou numérique et parfois des deux types, et s’acquérir à l’extérieur (p. ex., chez Géomatique Canada) ou produite à l’interne (p. ex., à partir de la base de données du SIG d’un centre de services).

Lorsque les données originales de terrain sont enregistrées sur de telles cartes et lorsque ces informations n’apparaissent nulle part ailleurs (p. ex., sur une carte maîtresse), il faudrait toujours leur attribuer un numéro de catalogue de dessins tel que décrit ci-dessus avec renvoi approprié aux notes de terrain.

Au retour du terrain, la carte sera cataloguée dans le système de gestion des collections selon les procédures d’attribution du centre de services pour la gestion des collections.

Les métadonnées doivent être incluses comme partie intégrante des documents de terrain pour tous les dessins, plans et cartes numériques. Les normes sont présentées à la section 8.7 cidessous.

8.4 AUTRES MÉDIAS

Cette section résume les pratiques exemplaires pour cataloguer les documents sur médias tels que les données de télédétection, les vidéos de type numérique ou analogique et les fichiers ou rubans sonores, de même que les données géographiques ou de navigation et les fiches d’enregistrement.

Le numéro de catalogue de médias est la façon de cataloguer les médias de format numérique et analogique et n’est qu’une variante du numéro de catalogue de dessins décrit ci-dessus. Comme dans le cas du numéro de catalogue de dessins, le numéro de catalogue de médias exige l’enregistrement des métadonnées associées à chaque document.

8.4.1 Numéro de catalogue des médias

Le numéro de catalogue des médias comprend le numéro du site, l’année, le numéro de personnel de terrain et le numéro du média, séparés par des traits d’union. Les numéros de catalogue des médias suivent une séquence commençant par le numéro « 1 » et correspondent aux documents créés par un individu et non pas au nombre total de médias d’un projet.

Exemple

9K-2004-137P-R1 est le premier document de données de télédétection (R1) produit en 2004 au LHNC de York Factory (9K) au Manitoba par l’employé de terrain 137P (Jim Doe).

Autres exemples

5H-2004-101H-A1
5H-2004-101H-R1
18H-2004-101H-R2
134H-2004-101H-G1
134H-2004-101H-G2

À partir des exemples fictifs ci-dessus, il est possible de déterminer en un coup d’œil qu’en 2004, l’employé de terrain numéro 101H (« John Smith ») a produit cinq documents distincts de type média (un enregistrement sonore, deux fichiers de données de télédétection et deux fichiers de données géographiques) sur trois sites différents (5H, 18H et 134H).

8.4.2 Codes pour l’enregistrement des médias

La pratique exemplaire consiste à appliquer les codes suivants (Tableau 9) aux documents de type média qui comprennent des fichiers et des résultats d’enregistrement numériques (p. ex., résultats d’enregistrements par magnétomètre et imprimés) et des rubans analogiques (p. ex., enregistrements vidéos ou sonores).

Tableau 9. Codes valides pour les documents de type média avec descriptions et exemples.

Code Description Exemples
A Son Fichier sonore numérique, ruban de format analogique (sans composante vidéo)
F Fiches Fiche de résumé de sous-opération, fiche de résumé de lot
G Données géographiques Données de système de positionnement global, données de système d’information géographique, données de navigation
R Données de télédétection Données de gradiomètre, de magnétomètre, de radar pénétrant, de résistivité électrique ou de conductivité électromagnétique, de sonar (tel que balayage latéral, faisceau sectoriel, faisceaux multiples, profil sous fond), de télédétection par satellite, de photographie aérienne (imagerie thermique, infrarouge)
S Données d’instruments d’arpentage Données de station totale, transit, théodolite ou niveau automatique
V Vidéo Fichiers vidéo numérisés, rubans de format analogique (peuvent inclure des composantes sonores)

8.5 PROCESSUS DE SÉLECTION DES MÉDIAS

Tel qu’il est spécifié dans le cas des images numériques (décrit ci-dessus), il n’est pas nécessaire de cataloguer tous les documents. La sélection à cataloguer sera basée sur l’information contenue, la recherche anticipée et les exigences de gestion, de publication et de présentation. Seuls les fichiers identifiés par le chercheur principal ou son délégué comme devant être conservés dans le système d’enregistrement et mentionnés dans les notes de terrain se verront attribuer un numéro de catalogue de médias.

8.6 FICHE DE CATALOGUE DE MÉDIAS EXPLIQUÉE

Un exemple de fiche de catalogue de médias de même que le guide d’utilisation sont fournis à l’annexe C. Même si l’utilisation de la fiche de catalogue de médias est facultative, les champs de données présentés sur la fiche et expliqués dans le guide sont obligatoires et représentent les normes minimales de Parcs Canada pour l’enregistrement des données de type média. Conséquemment, l’utilisation de la fiche de catalogue des médias est recommandée comme pratique exemplaire.

La fiche de catalogue de médias structure les données pour chaque type de média au moment de l’enregistrement, relie ce document au numéro permanent de catalogue des médias et prépare chaque document pour l’entrée ou le transfert dans la base de données archéologiques. Des bases de données relationnelles peuvent regrouper ou effectuer des références croisées et produire une variété de rapports sur les données des médias pour répondre aux besoins d’un projet particulier ou du système de gestion des documents archéologiques d’un centre de services.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >