Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >


7.0 IMAGES

This section describes recording and cataloguing procedures for “still” images, in both traditional film and digital formats. As Parks Canada is currently in a period of rapid transition between traditional and digital formats for image recording (and the development of standards to manage them), this section will require periodic amendment to keep pace with innovations and developments. For the purpose of this manual, “still images” refers to single-frame images, in either digital or film format (e.g., individual exposures recorded using a film or digital camera, and including single-frame video image captures). “Moving images”, refers to images created by video cameras, film cameras etc. in either digital or analog tape format. Moving images are treated differently, as “media”, in section 8.0.

7.1 PRINCIPLES AND GUIDELINES

  1. All image records are prepared in such a manner that Collections Management staff or data entry clerks from the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre can assure their efficient and complete entry into the archaeological records/database system.
  2. An archival quality paper record of the image catalogue is produced for Collections Management for long-term records management and preservation.
  3. All image data is input into the appropriate Parks Canada Archaeological Database.
  4. A link is assured between the exposure or record number and the Image Catalogue Number after processing.
  5. Where possible, manual transcription of data is avoided. Rather, data is transferred or input directly into the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre Archaeological Database to ensure data integrity and reduce transcription error.
  6. Where possible, unwanted digital images are deleted shortly after the recording event.
  7. Digital records are organized daily to ensure integrity, completeness, and efficiency of data transfer.
  8. Copies or digital data backups are made for all original images, according to the Collections Management standards of the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre.
  9. Core metadata pertaining to each file is recorded for each digital record to ensure the long-term preservation or integrity of the record and associated data. Every effort is made to keep current with latest Parks Canada initiatives on Digital Multimedia Asset Management and Metadata Standards.
  10. As for all field records, the maximum possible legibility is essential for all entries pertaining to images, whether on forms or in field notes or other media.

7.2 IMAGE CATALOGUING SYSTEM

The image cataloguing system used for archaeological site photography (still images) in Parks Canada requires the assignment of an exposure or record number to each image at the time it is taken, and the assignment of an Image Catalogue Number to each image that is accessioned as a necessary part of the records of the excavation or survey. Both traditional film as well as digital photography can be catalogued using the same procedure, with slight variations according to the medium, and integrated into the same Image Catalogue Form example (see Section 7.4 below, and Appendix B).

Image Catalogue Numbers are assigned after the unwanted images have been culled by reason of technical quality or redundancy. In the case of traditional film photography, the Image Catalogue Numbers are assigned after the film has been processed and unnecessary exposures have been culled. For digital images, image cataloguing may be possible shortly after the recording event, as images can be quickly reviewed and culled as required.

7.2.1 Image Type Code

A single letter of the alphabet codes the type of image or film being used. It is recommended that no more than one type of image appear on each Image Catalogue Form. Note that most of these image codes are no longer used, but are listed here as they form an essential part of the legacy of data generated to date. However, traditional film types such as slide (T) and 35 mm colour (W) or black and white negative (M) are still in use. These must necessarily be coded in a manner consistent with previous work. The Image Type Codes are noted in Table 7. Three new codes are introduced in this version of the manual: “E” for digital images, “R” for radiograms, and “V” for digital video “still images” or “captures” (“moving images” are catalogued differently, under “Other Media”. See Section 8.0).

Table 7. Valid Image Type Codes

Code Description
A
4 x 5 colour slides (transparencies)
B
4 x 5 black-and-white negatives
C
4 x 5 colour negatives
D
35 mm black-and-white slide (transparencies)
E
Electronic (digital) images
L
Black-and-white negatives other than 120, 4 x 5, 35 mm
M
35 mm black-and-white negatives
N
120 colour negatives
P
120 colour slides (transparencies)
R
Radiograms
T
35 mm colour slides (transparencies)
V
Video (“still images” or “captures” only)
W
35 mm colour negatives
X
120 black-and-white negatives
Y
Colour negatives other than 120, 4 x 5, 35 mm

7.2.2 Exposure/Record Number

This number is assigned at the time that the picture is taken. For convenience, the procedures for traditional film photography and digital photography are described separately.

7.2.2.1 Film Photography

For traditional film photography, the results of the exposure are unknown and therefore it is impossible to anticipate that a particular exposure will receive a permanent Image Catalogue Number. Exposure numbers are assigned sequentially for each roll of film by type. The exposure number signifies the advance of the film in the camera, not the frame number printed on the film by the manufacturer.

In Field Notebooks and other field records, the exposure number is used to reference the photographs, since the permanent catalogue will not normally be available at the time of the recording event. The exposure number consists of three groups separated by hyphens: the first group is the year (yyyy, e.g., 2004), followed by R (for “roll”) followed by the roll number (in sequence for the type of film); the second group is the Image Type Code (Section 7.2.1); the third group is the number of the exposure made on the roll.

Example

2004R1-M-7 is the seventh exposure made on the first roll of 35 mm black-and-white film used in 2004.

7.2.2.2 Digital Photography

For digital images, the automatic numbering system of the camera may be used. It is recommended that the image number sequence for each camera be set to zero for each new project. If more than one digital camera is used in a given project, there is potential for duplicate or overlapping image record numbers. There are a number of solutions to this problem.

  • Download the images as soon after the recording event as possible, and place the images in a folder appropriately labelled so as to distinguish them from images taken by other digital cameras.
  • Use multiple data storage media/memory cards (e.g., four CompactFlash Cards) for each digital camera, and physically apply a label to each completed storage medium, in such a manner as to distinguish it from those used by other cameras for the same project. If this approach is used, it is recommended that the recorder’s Staff Field Number or full name, and the date (yyyy-mm-dd) be included along with the storage medium sequence number. Acronyms describing the particular storage medium can be used, and should be identified in the field notes (e.g., “Flash Card” = “FC”)
  • At the end of each day, cull, download and assign Image Catalogue Numbers to all images generated by all cameras in a given day. This procedure would require compiling and coordinating all image files, folders and associated forms, and is best suited for one designated individual (e.g., a Field Records Clerk, or the Principal Investigator).
Examples

P000050.tiff is the fiftieth image record number automatically generated by the digital camera, in “.tiff” format

FC01-200P (2004-06-11) is the first Flash Card (image data storage medium/memory card) used by Staff Field Number 200P (Jane Smith) in 2004

As shown above, digital images will have an associated file name extension when downloaded, which usually comprises three or four characters (e.g., .tiff, .jpg). The photographer determines the image file type during the initial digital camera set-up. The file name extension is a critical element in digital file management and data filtering. As a result, its original format at the time of the recording event should always be retained as part of the image archive.

7.3 IMAGE CATALOGUE NUMBER

The Image Catalogue Number is assigned to the photograph at the time that it is entered into the permanent image catalogue. It consists of two groups separated by a hyphen: the first group is the Site Number; the second consists of the Image Type Code preceded by a number which is assigned in sequence for that image type and site as the photograph is catalogued, regardless of year or season.

Example

1H-430M is the four hundred and thirtieth catalogued 35 mm black-and-white photograph from Fort St. Joseph NHSC, Ontario.

Image labelling procedures (i.e., writing/printing key data onto a slide/transparency, negative, or print) vary slightly for each Parks Canada Service Centre. For current protocols, consult the Collections Manager at the appropriate Service Centre. Several best practices are generic enough to be widely applied.

  1. The Image Catalogue Number is written with archival quality ink on stable data storage media.
  2. A link between the physical or digital record(s) and the associated Image Catalogue Number must always be assured.
  3. Legibility must always be assured.

7.4 IMAGE CATALOGUE FORM: EXPLAINED

An example of an Image Catalogue Form, as well as a Form Guide, is provided in Appendix B. Though the use of the Image Catalogue Form is optional, the data fields shown in the form and explained in the Form Guide are mandatory, and represent minimum data standards for Parks Canada image recording. As a result, the use of the Image Catalogue Form is recommended as a best practice.

The Image Catalogue Form organizes data for each still image as it is taken, correlates this record with the permanent Image Catalogue Number and prepares each of these records for data entry into an Archaeological Database. Relational databases can merge, cross-reference and output image data in a variety of ways to suit the needs of a given project or Service Centre’s archaeological records management system.

There are two areas for data entries on the Image Catalogue Form. The entries at the top serve to index the form itself. The entries in the columns serve to index the individual images. Each roll of film (or memory card/image data storage medium) used requires the completion of a separate form, or a series of paginated forms if all the data cannot be entered on one form. Every exposure, by which is meant every full advance of film or record, requires an entry on at least one separate line of the form. A sequence of three bracketing exposures, for example, requires three separate entries on the form. Where data of an exposure or record is duplicated in the following exposure, ditto marks can be used.

7.4.1 Image Selection Process

Not all exposures or records need to be catalogued, and it would normally be highly redundant to catalogue every exposure/record. The selection for cataloguing will be based on information content, anticipated research, management, publication and presentation requirements or, in the case of bracketed exposures, the best exposure.

7.4.2 Duplicate Images

It is sometimes required to take two or more image records of the same subject to generate duplicate original images (e.g., for “bracketing” exposures). In this case, exposures/records would be separate items on the Image Catalogue Form, but could either be assigned the same Image Catalogue Number, with the extra image(s) labelled “duplicate”, or be catalogued separately and ascribed a unique Image Catalogue Number. The Principal Investigator should consult with the Collections Manager of the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre to determine the latest standard.

7.4.3 Studio Images of Catalogued Archaeological Objects

The Image Catalogue Form can be used to catalogue studio images of catalogued archaeological objects. Fill in all the data fields normally, ignoring the “Direction” field. In the subject field, list on a separate line the following information for each archaeological object in the image:

  • the archaeological Object Catalogue Number;
  • the name of the person that requested the image (after the final archaeological object entry for each image).

7.5 DATA STANDARDS FOR DIGITAL IMAGES

Format
  1. Specific field formats are outlined in the Image Catalogue Form (Appendix B).
Mandatory Data
  1. Specific data field requirements for images are outlined in the Image Catalogue Form (Appendix B). In the Form Guide, mandatory fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).
Image Preservation Standards

Recommendations for long-term preservation of digital images are provided in Appendix H, which summarises key recommendations from a current Parks Canada Digital Multimedia Asset Management initiative. The standards, both in Canada and abroad, are constantly evolving. Despite these rapid changes, the image standards outlined in Appendix H should be considered as a best practice. The standards will be updated periodically as required.

Image Metadata

Metadata is very important for the search and retrieval of multimedia content across an organization. Given the regional disposition of the Parks Canada Agency, metadata of the digital assets will be extremely important in order to search and retrieve content located in various content repositories across the country (Parks Canada 2003a.) Every effort should be made to keep current with latest Parks Canada metadata requirements.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >


7.0 IMAGES

La présente section décrit les procédures à suivre pour enregistrer et cataloguer les images « fixes » de format pellicule traditionnelle et de format numérique. Étant donné que Parcs Canada traverse présentement une période de transition rapide entre les formats traditionnels et numériques pour l’enregistrement des images (et pour le développement de normes pour la gestion de ces images), cette section devra être révisée de manière périodique afin de suivre les innovations et les nouveaux développements. Pour les fins du manuel, les « images fixes » correspondent aux images de format normal, pellicule ou numérique (p. ex., clichés individuels pour une caméra utilisant du film ou une caméra numérique et images enregistrées avec une caméra vidéo en mode image par image). Les « images animées » correspondent aux images créées à l’aide d’une caméra vidéo ou d’autres caméras utilisant du film, en format numérique ou analogique. Les images animées sont traitées différemment, comme « médias » à la section 8.0.

7.1 PRINCIPES ET LIGNES DIRECTRICES

  1. Tous les dossiers d’images sont préparés de façon à ce que le personnel de gestion des collections ou les responsables de la saisie des données au centre de services concerné de Parcs Canada puissent assurer la saisie efficace et complète des données dans le système de base de données archéologiques.
  2. Une copie du catalogue d’images sur papier de qualité pour les archives est remise à la Gestion des collections pour l’organisation et la conservation à long terme des documents.
  3. Toutes les données sur les images doivent être saisies dans la base de données appropriée de Parcs Canada.
  4. Un lien doit être assuré entre le cliché ou le numéro d’enregistrement et le numéro de catalogue de l’image après le traitement.
  5. Si possible, éviter la transcription manuscrite des données. Il est préférable de transférer ou de copier directement dans la base de données du centre de services concerné, pour assurer l’intégrité des données et éviter les erreurs de transcription.
  6. Si possible, effacer les images numériques inutiles peu après le moment de l’enregistrement.
  7. Les enregistrements numériques sont organisés quotidiennement afin d’assurer l’intégrité, l’exhaustivité et le transfert efficace des données.
  8. Des copies de sauvegarde des données numériques sont faites à partir des images originales selon les normes de gestion des collections du Centre de service concerné de Parcs Canada.
  9. Les métadonnées de base relatives à chaque fichier sont enregistrées pour chacune des images numériques afin de garantir la préservation à long terme ou l’intégrité des collections ou dossiers de données associées. Tous les efforts nécessaires doivent être faits pour tenir compte des initiatives les plus récentes de Parcs Canada en matière de gestion des collections numériques de type multimédia et des normes relatives aux métadonnées.
  10. Pour les dossiers de terrain, il est essentiel d’assurer la meilleure lisibilité possible pour toute saisie de données relatives aux images, qu’il s’agisse de fiches d’enregistrement, de notes de terrain ou d’autres médias.

7.2 SYSTÈME DE CATALOGAGE D’IMAGES

Le système de catalogage d’images utilisé à Parcs Canada pour la photographie (images fixes) des sites archéologiques exige l’attribution d’un numéro de cliché ou de document pour chaque image au moment de l’enregistrement et l’attribution d’un numéro de catalogue d’images à chaque image qui s’ajoute à la collection. Cela fait nécessairement partie de la constitution des dossiers de fouille ou de reconnaissance. Les photographies sur film traditionnel ainsi que les photos numériques peuvent être cataloguées selon la même procédure, avec de légères variations selon le média, et intégrées sur la même fiche de catalogue d’images (voir section 7.4 ci-dessous et l’annexe B).

Les numéros de catalogue d’images sont attribués une fois que les images jugées inutiles sont éliminées en raison de leur mauvaise qualité technique ou de la redondance. Dans le cas de la photographie traditionnelle sur pellicule, les numéros de catalogue d’images sont assignés après le développement du film et une fois que les clichés inutiles ont été supprimés. Pour les images numériques, la préparation du catalogue est possible peu après l’enregistrement, car les images peuvent être rapidement évaluées et éliminées, si nécessaire.

7.2.1 Code pour les types d’images

Un code à une lettre est utilisé pour identifier les types d’images ou de films utilisés. Il est recommandé de n’inscrire qu’un seul type d’image par fiche de catalogue d’images. Il faut noter que la plupart de ces codes d’images ne sont plus utilisés, mais ils sont énumérés ici car ils constituent une partie essentielle des données accumulées à ce jour. Cependant, les types de film traditionnels tels que les diapositives (T) et les négatifs 35 mm couleur (W) ou noir et blanc (M) continuent d’être utilisés. Ceux-ci doivent nécessairement être codés d’une manière qui s’accorde avec les travaux précédents. Les codes pour les types d’images sont présentés au tableau 7. Trois nouveaux codes ont été ajoutés à cette version du manuel : « E » pour les images numériques,

« R » pour les radiographies, et « V » pour les images fixes ou « prises » de vidéo numérique (les « images animées » sont cataloguées différemment sous la rubrique « Autres médias ». Voir section 8.0).

Tableau 7. Codes valides pour les types d’images

Code Description
A 4 x 5, diapositives couleur (transparents)
B 4 x 5, négatifs noir et blanc
C 4 x 5, négatifs couleur
D 35 mm, diapositives noir et blanc (transparents)
E Images électroniques (numériques)
L Négatifs noir et blanc autres que 120, 4 x 5, 35 mm
M 35 mm, négatifs noir et blanc
N 120, négatifs couleur
P 120, diapositives couleur (transparents)
R Radiographies
T 35 mm, diapositives couleur (transparents)
V Vidéo (« images fixes » ou « saisies » seulement)
W 35 mm, négatifs couleur
X 120, négatifs noir et blanc
Y Négatifs couleur autres que 120, 4 x 5, 35 mm

7.2.2 Numéro d’enregistrement de cliché

Ce numéro est attribué au moment où la photo est prise. Pour des raisons pratiques, les procédures pour la photographie traditionnelle sur pellicule et la photographie numérique sont décrites séparément.

7.2.2.1 Pellicule photographique

Dans le cas de la photographie traditionnelle utilisant la pellicule, les résultats de l’exposition demeurent inconnus et conséquemment, il est impossible de prédire si un cliché particulier se verra attribuer un numéro de catalogue d’images permanent. Les numéros de clichés sont attribués de manière séquentielle pour chaque rouleau de film selon le type. Le numéro de cliché correspond à l’avancement du film dans la caméra, et non pas au numéro imprimé sur chaque cadre du film par le manufacturier.

Dans le carnet de notes de terrain et dans d’autres dossiers de terrain, le numéro de cliché est utilisé pour faire référence aux photographies, étant donné que le catalogue permanent n’est normalement pas disponible au moment de l’enregistrement. Le numéro de cliché comprend trois groupes séparés par des traits d’union : le premier groupe est l’année (aaaa, p. ex., 2004), suivi d’un R (pour rouleau) et du numéro de rouleau (en séquence pour chaque type de film); le second groupe est le code pour le type d’image (section 7.2.1); le troisième groupe est le numéro de cliché apparaissant sur le rouleau.

Exemple

2004R1-M-7 est le septième cliché du premier rouleau de film 35 mm noir et blanc utilisé en 2004.

7.2.2.2 Photographie numérique

Pour les images numériques, le système de numérotation automatique de la caméra peut être utilisé. Il est recommandé d’ajuster la séquence des numéros d’images de chaque caméra pour commencer à zéro lors de tout nouveau projet. Si plus d’une caméra numérique sont utilisées dans un même projet, il est possible qu’il y ait un doublement ou un chevauchement des numéros d’enregistrement des images. Il y a plusieurs solutions à ce problème.

  • Télécharger les images dès que possible après l’enregistrement d’un événement et placer les images dans un dossier clairement identifié afin de les distinguer des images prises avec d’autres caméras numériques.
  • Utiliser des cartes de mémoire ou des médias permettant d’emmagasiner des données multiples (p. ex., quatre cartes « CompactFlash ») pour chaque caméra numérique et appliquer une étiquette à chaque média de stockage après l’utilisation complète de manière à le distinguer de ceux qui sont utilisés avec d’autres caméras au cours du même projet. Si cette méthode est utilisée, il est recommandé d’inclure le numéro de personnel de terrain ou le nom complet de l’employé qui procède à l’enregistrement et la date (aaaa-mm-jj) ainsi que le numéro du média de stockage. Des acronymes décrivant le type de média peuvent être utilisés et devraient être identifiés dans les notes de terrain (p. ex., « Flash Card » = FC).
  • À la fin de chaque journée, éliminer, télécharger et attribuer les numéros de catalogue d’images à toutes les images produites par toutes les caméras utilisées ce jour-là. Cette procédure exige la compilation et la coordination de tous les fichiers d’image, dossiers et fiches associées et convient mieux à un seul individu désigné (p. ex., un commis aux dossiers de terrain ou le chercheur principal).
Exemples

P000050.tiff est le numéro d’enregistrement de la cinquantième image attribué automatiquement par la caméra numérique en format « .tiff ».

FC01-200P (2004-06-11) est la première Carte Flash (média de stockage d’image numérisée/carte de mémoire) utilisée par l’employée de terrain numéro 200P (Jane Smith) en 2004.

Tel qu’indiqué ci-dessus, les images numériques, une fois téléchargées, seront associées à un nom de fichier dont l’extension comprend généralement trois ou quatre caractères (p. ex., tiff, jpg). Le photographe détermine le type de fichier d’image lors de la préparation initiale de la caméra numérique. L’extension du nom de fichier est un élément important dans la gestion des fichiers numériques et l’extraction sélective des données. Il en résulte que le format initial, celui de l’enregistrement de l’événement, devrait toujours être conservé comme partie de l’image archivée.

7.3 NUMÉRO DE CATALOGUE D’IMAGES

Le numéro de catalogue d’images est attribué à une photographie au moment de son inscription au catalogue permanent des images. Il comprend deux groupes de caractères séparés par un trait d’union : le premier groupe est le numéro du site; le second comprend le code correspondant au type d’image précédé d’un numéro attribué en séquence pour ce type d’image et le site lorsque la photographie est cataloguée, quelle que soit l’année ou la saison.

Exemple

1H-430M est la quatre cent trentième photographie 35 mm noir et blanc du LHNC de Fort St. Joseph, Ontario.

La procédure pour l’étiquetage (écrire ou imprimer les données de référence sur une diapositive ou un transparent, un négatif ou une épreuve) varie légèrement selon les centres de services de Parcs Canada. Pour les protocoles en vigueur, consulter le responsable des collections au centre de services approprié. Plusieurs pratiques exemplaires sont d’application suffisamment générale pour être utilisées dans de nombreuses circonstances.

  1. Le numéro de catalogue d’images est écrit à l’aide d’une encre de qualité pour archivage sur un média de stockage de données stable.
  2. Un lien doit être assuré entre les dossiers physiques ou numériques et les numéros de catalogue d’images associés.
  3. La lisibilité doit être assurée en tout temps.

7.4 FICHE DE CATALOGUE D’IMAGES EXPLIQUÉE

Un exemple de fiche de catalogue d’images et le guide d’utilisation associé se trouvent à l’annexe B. Même si l’utilisation de la fiche de catalogue d’images est optionnelle, les champs de données présents sur la fiche et expliqués dans le guide sont obligatoires et représentent les normes de données minimales de Parcs Canada pour l’enregistrement des images. Conséquemment, l’utilisation de la fiche de catalogue d’images est recommandée comme pratique exemplaire.

La fiche de catalogue d’images structure les données pour chaque image fixe au moment de la prise, crée un lien entre ce document et le numéro de catalogue permanent de l’image et prépare chacun de ces documents pour la saisie des données dans une base de données archéologiques. Des bases de données relationnelles peuvent être fusionnées, marquées de renvois mutuels et produire des images numériques variées selon les besoins particuliers d’un projet ou d’un système de gestion des données archéologiques d’un centre de services.

Il y a deux sections pour entrer des données sur la fiche de catalogue d’images. Les informations à entrer au haut de la fiche servent à son indexation. Les espaces à remplir dans les colonnes servent à indexer chacune des images. Chaque rouleau de film (ou carte de mémoire/média de stockage d’images numériques) utilisé exige l’utilisation d’une nouvelle fiche ou d’une série de fiches paginées si les données ne peuvent être entrées sur une seule fiche. Pour chaque cliché, à chaque nouvelle exposition du film ou à l’enregistrement suivant, les données doivent être entrées sur une nouvelle ligne de la fiche. Ainsi, pour une série de trois tests d’exposition, l’information doit être inscrite trois fois sur la fiche. Lorsque l’information d’un cliché ou d’un enregistrement doit être répétée pour l’image suivante, des guillemets peuvent être utilisés.

7.4.1 Processus de sélection des images

Les clichés ou les enregistrements ne sont pas tous nécessairement catalogués, et il serait normalement très redondant de cataloguer chaque cliché/enregistrement. Le choix des clichés à cataloguer sera basé sur les exigences en termes d’information contenue, de recherches prévues, de gestion, de publication ou de présentation, et dans le cas des tests d’exposition, le meilleur cliché sera choisi.

7.4.2 Images répétées

Il est parfois nécessaire de prendre deux images ou plus d’un même sujet afin de produire des images originales en double (p. ex., pour les tests d’exposition). Dans ce cas, les clichés/fichiers sont des éléments distincts sur la fiche de catalogue d’images, mais peuvent soit recevoir un même numéro de catalogue d’images, les images supplémentaires étant étiquetées « doubles », ou être cataloguées séparément avec leur propre numéro de catalogue d’images. Le chercheur principal devrait consulter le responsable des collections au centre de services concerné de Parcs Canada afin de connaître la norme la plus récente.

7.4.3 Images d’objets archéologiques catalogués réalisées en studio

La fiche de catalogue d’images peut être utilisée pour cataloguer les images d’objets catalogués réalisées en studio. Fournir l’information pour tous les champs normalement remplis, sauf le champ « Orientation ». Dans le champ du sujet, fournir sur une nouvelle ligne les informations suivantes pour chaque objet archéologique se trouvant sur l’image :

  • Le numéro de catalogue de l’objet archéologique;
  • Le nom de la personne qui a demandé l’image (après l’entrée finale des données pour chaque objet archéologique).

7.5 NORMES RELATIVES AUX DONNÉES POUR LES IMAGES NUMÉRIQUES

Format
  1. Les formats des champs particuliers sont résumés sur la fiche de catalogue d’images (annexe B).
Données obligatoires
  1. Les exigences des champs particuliers de données sont résumées sur la fiche de catalogue d’images (annexe B). Dans le guide d’utilisation de la fiche, les champs obligatoires sont identifiés par un astérisque (*).
Normes de conservation des images

Des recommandations pour la conservation à long terme des images numériques sont présentées à l’annexe H, qui résume les recommandations principales d’une initiative actuelle de Parcs Canada pour la gestion des collections multimédias numériques. Les normes, au Canada comme à l’étranger, évoluent constamment. Malgré ces changements rapides, les normes sur les images résumées à l’annexe H doivent être considérées comme pratiques exemplaires. Les normes seront mises à jour périodiquement, s’il y a lieu.

Métadonnées relatives aux images

Les métadonnées sont très importantes pour la recherche et l’extraction du contenu multimédia au sein d’une organisation. Étant donné la distribution régionale de l’Agence Parcs Canada, les métadonnées des collections numériques sont extrêmement importantes pour fins de recherche et d’extraction des documents qui se trouvent dans des dépôts variés à travers le pays (Parcs Canada 2003a.) Aussi on devrait s’efforcer de se conformer aux normes de métadonnées de Parcs Canada les plus récentes.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >