Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >


5.0 ORGANIZING FIELD PROJECTS

This section offers some basic principles, guidelines, requirements, and recommended references for organizing archaeological field projects. Different working environments and available resources will dictate various approaches. There is, however, a set of functions that should be taken into consideration to improve the success of any archaeological field project. These are outlined below.

5.1 BASIC GUIDELINES, REQUIREMENTS, and PRINCIPLES for CONDUCTING FIELD PROJECTS

5.1.1 Archaeological Research Permits

Ensure that all required archaeological research permits have been approved and signed; and take signed copies with you in the field. The requirements are outlined in Management Bulletin 2.3.2. Archaeological Research Permitting (Parks Canada 2005a). If applicable, ensure that provincial or territorial archaeological research permits are acquired and approved in addition to the Parks Canada permit (e.g., in a non-gazetted National Park of Canada).

5.1.2 Occupational Health and Safety Requirements

Parks Canada and its employees are subject to the Canada Labour Code - Part II, Occupational Health and Safety. In addition, they must also comply with the Parks Canada Occupational Heath and Safety Policy. The policy states: “each employee is responsible for applying this policy in their work activities and to all persons granted access to our workplaces.” ‘Persons’ include contractors, students, volunteers, the general public and others.” For detailed information and guidance on the legal obligations consult the Canada Labour Code website, or the Parks Canada Intranet. The latter provides comprehensive information and tools for employers and employees.

5.1.3 Key Parks Canada Documents

Key references to Parks Canada policies, guidelines, directives, legislation, and regulations, which provide context for the conduct of archaeological investigations in Parks Canada, are found in Sections 12.8, 12.9, and 12.10 of this manual. All crewmembers should be familiar with the documents pertinent to their field project.

For general guidance, consult the Parks Canada Guidelines for the Management of Archaeological Resources (Parks Canada 2005b), which outlines the manner in which all of these documents apply to given situations. Also consult the Parks Canada Guiding Principles and Operational Policies (1994), which contains Parks Canada’s CRM Policy, as noted earlier.

When planning interventions at a NHSC or a FHBRO building, refer to the recently released Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada (Parks Canada 2003d). The Standards and Guidelines were designed in the spirit of the Parks Canada CRM Policy, and will soon offer a more elaborate section pertaining to archaeology.

5.1.4 Human Remains, Cemeteries, and Burial Grounds

Cemeteries, burial grounds, human remains, funerary objects, and grave markers found on federal Crown lands, lands under water, and in waters under the administration and control of Parks Canada are managed in accordance with Management Directive 2.3.1: Human Remains, Cemeteries and Burial Grounds (Parks Canada 2000). The directive applies to all human remains, and their associated sites and material culture, Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal alike. A brief summary of the contents of MD 2.3.1 is provided in Appendix G.

5.1.5 Functional Coordination

As required, consult with the Collections Manager, Archaeological Database Administrator, and Conservator at the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre to coordinate requirements for data recording, field conservation, and processing, packing and shipping of archaeological items. For example, the Principal Investigator should contact the appropriate Parks Canada staff to determine which proveniences have already been assigned, as well as the next available proveniences.

5.1.6 Final Agreements and Consultation with Aboriginal Groups

A number of final comprehensive land claim agreements have been signed. These agreements are legally binding documents that outline treaty rights that are constitutionally protected. Some agreements include provisions relating to culture, heritage and archaeology. As these agreements bind the federal Crown, Parks Canada must adhere to sections and clauses in the agreements pertaining to archaeology and archaeological resources on federal Crown lands and lands under water under its administration and control.

Also, as stated in Parks Canada (2005b), it is good practice - and may be a legal requirement - to inform all interested parties, including affected Aboriginal groups, when an archaeological activity may impact upon their cultural heritage.

Key elements pertaining to final agreements and consultation are outlined in Parks Canada Guidelines for the Management of Archaeological Resources (Parks Canada 2005b) and Management Bulletin 2.3.2. Archaeological Research Permitting (Parks Canada 2005a).

5.2 BASIC PRINCIPLES FOR PLANNING FIELD CAMPS

  • If feasible, a sheltered area on, or near, the site should be reserved for use as a “field office” and/or lab, where all completed records (notebooks, forms, maps, etc.) are stored and filed, and where archaeological objects can be cleaned and processed and prepared for shipment, if required.
  • Effort should be made to ensure that each assistant has some separate space in the field office or field camp for completing his or her field recording duties and maintenance of equipment, and that each person has some free time during the day to work on these records and equipment.
  • The Principal Investigator should delegate responsibilities among field assistants so that there is no confusion as to what each person is expected to do. For example, it may be feasible or desirable to make one assistant responsible for all photography and another for all mapping and instrument surveying.
  • Where possible, the Principal Investigator should designate an individual in each field crew whose main duties are those of the Field Records Clerk. This person reports directly to the Principal Investigator and coordinates the recording activities of the field assistants, and must be thoroughly familiar with the procedures laid out by the Principal Investigator. The clerk is responsible for the security, integrity, accuracy, and completeness of files and records.

5.3 BASIC PRINCIPLES for ORGANIZING FIELD RECORDS

The following, in brief, are essential principles in the organization of records for archaeological excavations and surveys:

  • know the requirements of the recording system, and anticipate difficulties in meeting the requirements in order to marshal the necessary strategies to overcome them;
  • plan the recording procedures before the excavation or survey begins;
  • make explicit the procedures and the flow of records, files, archaeological objects, and the duties of each individual assistant in a given field project;
  • provide adequate time and facilities for record keeping, meeting the necessary standards of correctness and completeness;
  • wherever feasible, the clerical tasks of record keeping should be assigned to a specific person (such as a Field Records Clerk, described in Section 5.2 above), not distributed among the assistants;
  • records with multiple copies (paper or digital) that need to go to different individuals, stored securely, or be sent back to the Parks Canada Service Centre should be clearly marked as each copy is completed;
  • for larger projects, plan the layout of the records area in such a way that the flow of records is simple and obvious to each person working there;
  • clearly mark where things are to go during processing and where they are to be stored when completed as it is important that all the records should be readily accessible to all individuals responsible for recording;
  • be aware of, and prepared to deal with, errors in recording.

5.4 RECOMMENDED REFERENCES FOR FIELD PROJECTS

The following references provide detailed directions for conducting excavations and surveys, most with an emphasis on Canadian archaeology. These are recommended for all archaeological excavation or survey projects conducted by Parks Canada archaeologists. If used, their application must be adapted to conform to the recording requirements outlined in the present Manual, and take into account recent developments in technology. To provide broader context, Section 11.0 Recommended Reading lists a number of other current standard references that are used internationally. For information regarding current Collections Management standards and procedures, please contact the Collections Manager for the appropriate Parks Canada Service Centre. Also, for information regarding underwater archaeology at Parks Canada, contact Underwater Archaeological Services at the Ontario Service Centre, and see the Bibliography.

5.4.1 Basic Archaeological Field Procedures

  • Fladmark, Knut R. (1978) A Guide to Basic Archaeological Field Procedures. Publication No. 4, Department of Archaeology, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia.

Fladmark’s guide provides detailed information on basic excavation and survey procedures, as well as suggestions for proper care and handling of field equipment, a glossary containing common technical terms, and numerous other helpful aids for the conduct of field projects. Though it was intended as a basic guide to archaeological fieldwork (and parts of the guide are outdated) it arguably remains the most comprehensive and practical field manual used by Canadian archaeologists. As a result, it is recommended as the default field manual reference for Parks Canada archaeologists, where a more current manual in unavailable.

5.4.2 Archaeological Surveys/Inventories

  • British Columbia Archaeological Inventory Guidelines (2000) Version 1, Ministry of Small Business, Tourism and Culture, Archaeology Branch, British Columbia.

This document is currently available on the Government of British Columbia website, under the Archaeology section. Though specific to British Columbia, it is an excellent guide to the conduct of archaeological surveys or inventories, with general application to Canadian archaeology. It addresses the need to rigorously define research or resource management goals and objectives, and to outline the past and present physical and cultural landscape of the study areas. In addition, it includes recommendations for using a combination of judgmental surveying and statistically valid sampling techniques, basic mapping standards, and a suggested reporting format for archaeological inventories, which can all be adapted for Parks Canada use.

5.4.3 Field Conservation

  • Parks Canada (1985) Management Directive 2.1.22: Collection Management System: Conservation Services. Appendices modified in 1991. Parks Canada, Ottawa.

Parks Canada archaeological conservators recommend Management Directive 2.1.22 for direction on general conservation of archaeological items in the field, supplemented by any pertinent manual as situations warrant. The references below represent two such manuals.

  • Bergeron, André et France Rémillard (2000) L’Archéologue et la conservation. Vade-mecum québécois. 2e édition. Centre de conservation du Québec, Québec.

This is the standard archaeological field conservation manual for Québec archaeologists. It describes and illustrates practical procedures for conserving archaeological items in field situations. An English version is currently unavailable.

  • Sease, Catherine (1994) A Conservation Manual for the Field Archaeologist. Third edition. UCLA Institute of Archaeology, Archaeological Research Tools, Vol. 4. Los Angeles, CA.

This has been a standard reference for many years, and still holds much relevance to practical field situations, though it is an American publication.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >


5.0 ORGANISATION DES PROJETS DE TERRAIN

Cette section présente des principes de base, des lignes directrices, des exigences et des références recommandés pour l’organisation des projets de terrain. Différents contextes de travail ou ressources disponibles exigent des approches variées. Cependant, il existe un ensemble de fonctions qui doivent être prises en considération afin d’améliorer le succès de tout projet de terrain en archéologie. Ces fonctions sont décrites brièvement ci-dessous.

5.1 LIGNES DIRECTRICES, EXIGENCES ET PRINCIPES DE BASE POUR LA CONDUITE DE PROJECTS DE TERRAIN

5.1.1 Permis de recherche archéologique

Il faut s’assurer que tous les permis de recherche archéologique ont été approuvés et signés et apporter des copies avec soi sur le terrain. Les exigences sont résumées dans le bulletin de gestion de Parcs Canada 2.3.2, Permis de recherches archéologiques (2005). S’il y a lieu, s’assurer que les permis de recherche de compétence provinciale ou territoriale sont obtenus et approuvés en plus du permis de Parcs Canada (p. ex., dans un parc national du Canada non inscrit dans la Gazette officielle).

5.1.2 Exigences en termes de santé et sécurité au travail

Les employeurs et les employés du gouvernement fédéral sont tenus légalement d’adhérer au Code canadien du travail – Partie II, Santé et sécurité au travail. De plus, tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent suivre la politique de Parcs Canada ayant trait à la santé et la sécurité au travail. Tel qu’indiqué sur le site Intranet de Parcs Canada, « chaque employé est responsable de l’application de cette politique dans ses activités de travail et à l’égard de toutes les personnes autorisées sur nos lieux de travail. » « Le terme « personnes » comprend les entrepreneurs, étudiants, bénévoles, le grand public et les autres. » Pour des informations détaillées et des conseils, consulter le site Web du Code canadien du travail ou le site Intranet de Parcs Canada. Ce dernier fournit des informations exhaustives et des outils pour les employeurs et les employés.

5.1.3 Documents clés de Parcs Canada

Des références clés de Parcs Canada au sujet des politiques, lignes directrices, lois et règlements qui précisent le contexte pour la conduite de recherches archéologiques à Parcs Canada se trouvent aux sections 12.8, 12.9 et 12.10 du manuel. Tous les membres des équipes devraient être familiers avec les documents pertinents à leur projet de terrain.

Pour des conseils généraux, consulter les Lignes directrices pour la gestion des ressources archéologiques de Parcs Canada (Parcs Canada 2005), qui résument la façon dont tous ces documents s’appliquent selon les situations. Consultez également les Principes directeurs et politiques de gestion, de Parcs Canada (1994), qui contiennent la politique de gestion des ressources culturelles (GRC), tel que mentionné précédemment.

Lors de la planification d’interventions dans un LHNC ou un édifice reconnu par le BEÉFP, consulter le document publié récemment et intitulé Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada (Parcs Canada 2003d). Ces normes et lignes directrices ont été conçues dans l’esprit de la politique de GRC de Parcs Canada et une section plus élaborée au sujet de l’archéologie sera bientôt disponible.

5.1.4 Restes humains, cimetières et lieux de sépulture

Les cimetières, lieux de sépulture, restes humains, objets et monuments funéraires découverts sur les terres de compétence fédérale, sous l’eau ou dans des eaux qui relèvent de l’administration et du contrôle de Parcs Canada sont gérés selon la directive 2.3.1 de Parcs Canada, Restes humains, cimetières et lieux de sépulture (juin 2000). Cette directive s’applique à tous les restes humains, aux sites et à la culture matérielle qui y sont associés, qu’ils soient d’affiliation autochtone ou non. Un court résumé du contenu de la directive 2.3.1 se trouve à l’annexe G.

5.1.5 Coordination fonctionnelle

Tel que requis, consulter le responsable des collections, le gestionnaire de la base de données archéologiques et le spécialiste en conservation du centre de services concerné de Parcs Canada afin de coordonner les besoins en ce qui a trait à l’enregistrement des données, à la conservation des vestiges sur le terrain et au traitement, à l’emballage et à l’envoi de vestiges archéologiques. Par exemple, le chercheur principal devrait consulter le responsable local des numéros des sites archéologiques de Parcs Canada afin de déterminer quelles provenances ont déjà été utilisées, et lesquelles sont disponibles.

5.1.6 Ententes finalisées et consultation auprès de groupes autochtones

De nombreuses ententes finalisées ont été signées à la suite de revendications territoriales. Ces ententes sont des documents de nature légale qui résument les droits découlant de traités protégés par la Constitution. Certaines ententes contiennent des clauses relatives à la culture, au patrimoine et à l’archéologie. Étant donné que ces ententes engagent le gouvernement fédéral, Parcs Canada doit adhérer aux articles et aux clauses de ces ententes qui se rapportent à l’archéologie et aux ressources archéologiques sur les terres de la Couronne et sur les terres submergées qui relèvent de son administration et de son contrôle.

De plus, tel qu’indiqué dans Parcs Canada (2005), les pratiques exemplaires – et il pourrait s’agir d’exigences légales - consistent à informer toutes les parties concernées, y compris les groupes autochtones touchés, lorsqu’une activité archéologique risque d’avoir un impact sur leur patrimoine culturel.

Les éléments clés relatifs aux ententes finalisées et à la consultation se trouvent résumés à les Lignes directrices pour la gestion des ressources archéologiques de Parcs Canada (Parcs Canada 2005) et dans la bulletin de gestion de Parcs Canada 2.3.2, Permis de recherche archéologique (2005).

5.2 PRINCIPES DE BASE POUR LA PLANIFICATION DES CAMPS DE TERRAIN

  • Si possible, une aire abritée, sur le site ou à proximité de celui-ci, doit être réservée pour servir de « bureau de terrain » ou de laboratoire où les données enregistrées (carnets de notes, fiches, cartes, etc.) sont consignées et classées et où les objets archéologiques
  • peuvent être nettoyés, traités et préparés pour l’envoi, si nécessaire.
  • Il faut essayer de voir à ce que chaque assistant ait un espace réservé dans le bureau ou le camp de terrain pour effectuer ses tâches d’enregistrement des données et d’entretien de l’équipement, et que chaque personne ait des moments libres au cours de la journée pour s’occuper de ces données et de l’équipement.
  • Le chercheur principal devrait déléguer des responsabilités aux assistants de terrain afin d’éviter qu’il y ait confusion quant à ce que l’on attend de chacun. Par exemple, il pourrait s’avérer possible ou souhaitable qu’un assistant soit responsable de tout ce qui a trait à la photographie et un autre de la cartographie et des instruments d’arpentage.
  • Si possible, le chercheur principal doit désigner, dans chaque équipe de terrain, un individu comme commis responsable des données de terrain. Cette personne relève directement du chercheur principal et coordonne les activités d’enregistrement des assistants de terrain, et doit être bien au courant des procédures mises en place par le chercheur principal. Le commis est responsable de la sécurité, de l’intégrité, de l’exactitude et de l’exhaustivité des dossiers.

5.3 PRINCIPES DE BASE POUR L’ORGANISATION DES DONNÉES DE TERRAIN

Voici brièvement les principes essentiels à l’organisation des données enregistrées lors de fouilles ou de reconnaissances archéologiques :

  • Connaître les exigences du système d’enregistrement et prévoir les difficultés pouvant survenir afin de maîtriser les stratégies nécessaires pour les surmonter;
  • Planifier les procédures d’enregistrement avant le début de la fouille ou de la reconnaissance;
  • Être explicite au sujet des procédures et de la circulation de la documentation, des dossiers, des objets archéologiques et des tâches assignées à chaque assistant d’un projet de terrain;
  • Prévoir suffisamment de temps et d’espace pour la documentation afin de satisfaire aux exigences en termes d’exactitude et d’exhaustivité;
  • Si possible, assigner les tâches de préposé à la documentation à une personne en particulier (p. ex., commis aux données de terrain, tel que décrit à la section 5.2 ci-dessus) plutôt que les répartir parmi les assistants;
  • Identifier clairement les documents en plusieurs copies (imprimées sur papier ou numériques) qui doivent parvenir à différents individus, être entreposés de manière sécuritaire ou encore être renvoyés au centre de services de Parcs Canada, dès que les copies sont complétées;
  • pour les grands projets, prévoir une dispostion de l’espace où les documents seront consignés qui facilite la circulation des documents d’une manière simple et claire pour toutes les personnes qui y travaillent;
  • marquer clairement où les choses doivent aller durant le traitement et où elles doivent être entreposées une fois complétées car il importe que tous les individus responsables de l’enregistrement puissent accéder facilement à toute la documentation;
  • être conscient de la possibilité d’erreurs d’enregistrement et être prêt à les corriger.

5.4 RÉFÉRENCES RECOMMANDÉS POUR LES PROJETS DE TERRAIN

Les références suivantes fournissent des renseignements détaillés pour orienter les fouilles et les reconnaissances et la plupart mettent l’accent sur l’archéologie canadienne. Ces références sont recommandées pour tous les projets de fouille ou de reconnaissance dirigés par des archéologues de Parcs Canada. Lors de l’utilisation, les méthodes doivent être adaptées afin d’être conformes aux exigences d’enregistrement exposées dans le présent manuel, tout en tenant compte des développements techniques récents. Offrant un contexte plus vaste, la section 12.0 (Lectures recommandées) comprend une liste de nombreux autres ouvrages de référence correspondant aux normes internationales actuelles. Pour des informations au sujet des procédures actuelles de gestion des collections, communiquer avec le responsable des collections au centre de services concerné de Parcs Canada. De plus, pour de l’information au sujet de l’archéologie subaquatique à Parcs Canada, communiquer avec les services d’archéologie subaquatique au Centre de services de l’Ontario et consulter la bibliographie.

5.4.1 Procédures de base pour les recherches archéologiques sur le terrain

  • Fladmark, Knut R. (1978). A Guide to Basic Archaeological Field Procedures, Publication No. 4, Department of Archaeology, Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, Colombie-Britannique.

Le guide de Fladmark fournit des informations détaillées sur les procédés élémentaires de fouille et de reconnaissance, ainsi que des suggestions pour l’entretien et la manipulation de l’équipement de terrain, un glossaire des termes techniques courants et de nombreux autres éléments utiles dans la conduite de projets de terrain. Même s’il fut d’abord conçu comme guide élémentaire pour le travail de terrain en archéologie (et que certaines parties du guide sont dépassées), il demeure indiscutablement le manuel de terrain le plus complet et pratique utilisé par les archéologues canadiens. C’est pourquoi, il est recommandé, comme manuel de référence pour les archéologues de Parcs Canada, malgré que certaines parties ne sont pas à jour. Il n’y a pas de version française disponible.

5.4.2 Reconnaissances/inventaires archéologiques

  • British Columbia Archaeological Inventory Guidelines (2000). Version 1, Ministry of Small Business, Tourism and Culture, Archaeology Branch, Colombie-Britannique.

Ce document est présentement disponible sur le site Web du gouvernement de la Colombie- Britannique, sous la section Archéologie. Même s’il concerne particulièrement cette province, il s’agit d’un excellent guide pour la réalisation de reconnaissances et d’inventaires archéologiques, car il contient des éléments d’application générale pour l’archéologie canadienne. On y trouve souligné le besoin de définir de manière rigoureuse les buts et les objectifs de la recherche et de la gestion des ressources et de mettre en évidence les paysages culturels et physiques anciens et récents à l’intérieur de l’aire d’étude. De plus, il comprend des recommandations pour l’utilisation d’une conjugaison de méthodes incluant la reconnaissance intuitive (basée sur l’opinion des chercheurs) et des techniques d’échantillonnage valables au plan statistique, des normes pour la cartographie de base et un format suggéré pour les rapports d’inventaires archéologiques qui peuvent tous être adaptés pour l’utilisation à Parcs Canada. Il n’y a pas de version française disponible.

5.4.3 Conservation sur le terrain

  • Parcs Canada (1985). Directive de gestion 2.1.22. Système de gestion des collections : Services techniques de conservation, annexe modifiée en 1991, Parcs Canada, Ottawa.

Les spécialistes en conservation de Parcs Canada recommandent la directive 2.1.22 pour des conseils d’intérêt général sur la conservation des éléments archéologiques sur le terrain, en plus de tout manuel pertinent, selon la situation. Deux exemples de manuel sont présentés cidessous.

  • Bergeron, André et France Rémillard (2000). L’archéologue et la conservation. Vade-mecum québécois, 2e édition, Centre de conservation du Québec, Québec.

Il s’agit d’un manuel standard pour la conservation sur le terrain à l’usage des archéologues québécois. Il décrit et illustre les procédés concrets pour la conservation des éléments archéologiques sur le terrain. Il n’y a pas de version anglaise disponible.

  • Sease, Catherine (1994). A Conservation Manual for the Field Archaeologist. Troisième édition, UCLA Institute of Archaeology, Archaeological Research Tools, Vol. 4. Los Angeles, CA.

Même s’il s’agit d’une référence américaine, c’est un ouvrage standard qui existe depuis plusieurs années et demeure très pertinent pour les situations concrètes sur le terrain. Il n’y a pas de version française disponible.

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >