Common menu bar links

Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >


2.0 INTRODUCTION

Since the release of the last version of the manual (Parks Canada 1978), the field of archaeology has undergone considerable change, particularly in the domain of computer technology. The Parks Canada Agency, as an organization, has also evolved from a regionally based entity to an organization currently comprising Service Centres and Field Units located across the country. With decentralisation in the 1970s and the introduction of personal computers in the 1980s, the archaeological units or functions in each of the Service Centres have adapted and modified elements of the Parks Canada records system outlined in the 1978 manual. As a result, many of the formerly essential elements of the archaeological records system are now outdated or obsolete.

In the early years of Parks Canada archaeology, the focus was primarily on large-scale archaeological excavation projects involving primarily historic Euro-Canadian occupations such as forts and fortifications. Parks Canada now places much greater emphasis on pre-contact and Aboriginal archaeology, and conducts both large- and small-scale archaeological surveys, excavations, impact assessments, monitoring, and mitigation projects throughout the Parks Canada system.

The present Manual must necessarily keep pace with the profoundly evolving world of technology and archaeological advancements, particularly in the context of Parks Canada’s current archaeological focus. As a result, the Manual is designed to be dynamic and flexible, while ensuring that practitioners of archaeology for sites administered by Parks Canada record essential archaeological data as consistently and efficiently as possible. The current Manual encompasses new developments since the 1978 version, some elements of the previous versions (e.g., Parks Canada 1973), and recent advancements in the international archaeological communities.

One of the greatest challenges is to preserve the integrity of the provenience system as well as existing database systems, which are intricately linked with millions of archaeological objects, records, and digital data representing over 30 years of work across the country. This legacy of data must be managed in the context of the mandate of Parks Canada’s Cultural Resource Management Policy (Parks Canada 1994). At the same time, it must keep pace with technological advances in the discipline and in Cultural Resource Management (CRM), international standards of the archaeological community, and current Parks Canada initiatives on digital multimedia asset management, metadata standards, collection management, and long-term conservation of archaeological resources.

At the heart of the Parks Canada approach to excavation and surveys is the Parks Canada provenience system. Since the introduction of the system, much has evolved in archaeological practice, but the provenience system has endured as a flexible and integrating recording method for Parks Canada archaeologists. Though not without its problems and critics, its utility has been proven countless times. In addition, Parks Canada archaeologists are ethically obliged to implement the principles and practices outlined in Parks Canada’s CRM Policy (see Parks Canada 1994). We actively work with all our heritage assets in the context of the policy, which is one of the most compelling reasons for a uniform system of recording, rooted in a nationally consistent provenience system. Following is a brief history of the provenience system.

Since the early 1960s, Parks Canada has used an archaeological provenience system that is an adaptation of one developed by the University of Pennsylvania Museum for excavations at Tikal, Guatemala. Our method was largely based on archaeological practices that Parks Canada employed over the first two decades of Parks Canada archaeology, which focused primarily on excavations of Euro-Canadian military and urban sites. Similar to those of Tikal, these sites: 1) were, and are, characterised by complex stratigraphy; 2) require attention to topographical features; 3) yield an abundance of archaeological objects; and 4) encompass large areas excavated by a changing staff over a period of years. The provenience system, by nature of its inherent flexibility (and in concert with some of the modifications outlined in this manual), is able to accommodate more recent shifts in emphasis, encompassing pre-contact and Aboriginal excavations and surveys, both terrestrial and underwater.

Our adaptation of the Tikal system provides a standard provenience nomenclature for all persons excavating or surveying on lands, including lands under water, administered by Parks Canada. The provenience system is hierarchical in nature, integrating Site Number and information pertaining to excavation or survey units into a single alphanumeric code. Though the order and format of the Provenience Number elements are fixed, the archaeologist determines the meaning ascribed to them. The flexibility of the system gives the archaeologist latitude and discretion to use provenience designations that are best suited to the size and nature of the site, and to use preferred excavation and survey techniques and methods.

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >


2.0 INTRODUCTION

Depuis la publication de la dernière version du manuel (Parcs Canada, 1978), le domaine de l’archéologie a connu des changements considérables, en particulier pour ce qui est de la technologie informatique. L’Agence Parcs Canada a également évolué d’une base régionale à un organisme comprenant des centres de services et des unités de gestion répartis dans tout le pays. Compte tenu de la décentralisation, dans les années 70, et de l’arrivée des ordinateurs personnels dans les années 80, les unités ou fonctions archéologiques de chacun des centres de services ont adapté et modifié des éléments du système d’enregistrement des données de Parcs Canada tel qu’il était décrit dans le manuel publié en 1978. Ainsi, plusieurs des éléments qui étaient auparavant essentiels dans le système sont maintenant dépassés.

Au début des activités de Parcs Canada en archéologie, l’accent était mis principalement sur des grands projets de fouilles archéologiques associés surtout à l’occupation euro-canadienne, par exemple à des forts ou à des fortifications. Parcs Canada se concentre maintenant sur l’archéologie préeuropéenne et autochtone, et procède à des reconnaissances, à des fouilles, à des études d’impact, à de la surveillance et à des projets d’atténuation à petite et à grande échelle en archéologie.

Le présent manuel devait nécessairement suivre l’évolution profonde de la technologie ainsi que les percées en archéologie, en particulier dans le cadre de l’orientation actuelle de Parcs Canada en matière d’archéologie. C’est ainsi que le manuel est conçu pour être dynamique et souple, tout en garantissant que les praticiens de l’archéologie qui s’occupent des sites administrés par Parcs Canada consignent les données archéologiques essentielles de manière aussi cohérente et efficace que possible. Le présent manuel intègre les nouveaux développements depuis la version de 1978, certains éléments de versions précédentes (p. ex., Parcs Canada, 1973) ainsi que les nouveautés au sein du milieu de l’archéologie dans le monde.

L’une des plus grandes difficultés consistait à préserver l’intégrité du système de provenance ainsi que des bases de données existantes, qui sont intimement liées à des millions d’objets, de dossiers et de données numériques représentant plus de 30 années de travail dans tout le pays. Cette somme de données doit être gérée dans le contexte du mandat de la politique sur la gestion des ressources culturelles de Parcs Canada (Parcs Canada, 1994). Il fallait également suivre le rythme de l’évolution technologique dans la discipline et la gestion des ressources culturelles (GRC), les normes internationales du milieu de l’archéologie ainsi que les initiatives actuelles de Parcs Canada portant sur la gestion des documents multimédias numériques, les normes associées aux métadonnées et la gestion des collections ainsi que la conservation à long terme des ressources archéologiques.

Le système de provenance de Parcs Canada est au cœur de sa démarche pour ce qui est des fouilles et des reconnaissances. Depuis l’instauration du système, la pratique de l’archéologie a beaucoup évolué mais le système de provenance est demeuré une méthode d’enregistrement souple et intégrante pour les archéologues de Parcs Canada. Bien que les problèmes et les critiques ne soient pas inexistants, son utilité a été prouvée d’innombrables fois. De plus, les archéologues de Parcs Canada sont tenus par l’éthique d’appliquer les principes et les pratiques prévus dans la politique sur la GRC (cf. Parcs Canada, 1994). Nous travaillons activement avec tous nos biens patrimoniaux dans le cadre de cette politique, ce qui est l’une des raisons les plus convaincantes pour adopter un système uniforme d’enregistrement, intégré à un système national de provenance cohérent. Les quelques lignes qui suivent donnent un bref aperçu de l’historique de ce système.

Depuis le début des années 60, Parcs Canada utilise pour ses données archéologiques un système de provenance qui est adapté du système élaboré par le musée de l’université de Pennsylvanie pour des fouilles réalisées à Tikal, au Guatemala. Notre méthode s’est inspirée fortement des pratiques archéologiques en usage au cours des 20 premières années d’activités de Parcs Canada en archéologie, où l’on se concentrait sur des fouilles de sites militaires et urbains euro-canadiens. Comme ceux de Tikal, ces sites : 1) étaient, et sont toujours, caractérisés par une stratigraphie complexe; 2) exigent qu’on porte une attention particulière aux caractéristiques topographiques; 3) comportent une abondance d’objets archéologiques et 4) comprennent des fouilles de grande superficie réalisées par un personnel changeant au cours des années. Le système de provenance, par sa souplesse inhérente (et de concert avec certaines des modifications indiquées dans le présent manuel), est en mesure de s’adapter aux récentes modifications des grandes orientations, qui intègrent maintenant des fouilles et des reconnaissances dans des sites préeuropéens et autochtones terrestres et subaquatiques.

Notre adaptation du système de Tikal offre une nomenclature normalisée en matière de provenance pour tous ceux qui font des fouilles ou des reconnaissances sur les territoires, y compris les terres submergées, administrés par Parcs Canada. Le système de provenance est un système hiérarchique, qui intègre le numéro de site et des renseignements relatifs à l’unité de fouille ou de reconnaissance dans un seul code alphanumérique. Bien que l’ordre et la forme des éléments du numéro de provenance soient fixes, l’archéologue détermine la signification qui leur est attribuée. La flexibilité du système donne à l’archéologue la latitude nécessaire pour utiliser les dénominations qui conviennent le mieux à la dimension et à la nature d’un site et pour choisir les techniques et les méthodes de fouille et de reconnaissance les mieux adaptées.


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >