Parks Canada Archaeological Recording Manual: Excavations and Surveys

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >


1.0 PREFACE

This Manual outlines the Parks Canada Agency (hereafter called “Parks Canada”) recording system for archaeological excavations and surveys as well as the principles, best practices and procedures to be followed by anyone conducting an archaeological investigation on properties administered by Parks Canada or under a Parks Canada permit (Parks Canada 2005a). This includes archaeologists employed by Parks Canada, as well as contractors or any other person engaged in land or underwater archaeological research. The current Manual replaces the 1978 manual (Parks Canada 1978), and is to be used hereafter for all Parks Canada archaeological projects.

Note that in areas where final comprehensive land claim agreements have been signed, the latter are legally binding and override Parks Canada policies and directives, and may override the procedures outlined in the current Manual. Parks Canada must adhere to sections and clauses in the agreements pertaining to archaeology and archaeological resources on federal Crown lands and lands under water under its administration and control (Parks Canada 2005b).

This is the latest version of a manual with a long history. J.H. Rick prepared the first manual for Parks Canada archaeologists in 1963, followed by a 1973 Archaeological Excavation Manual (Parks Canada 1973) edited by J. D. Swannack. Both of these documents focussed on excavation procedures, and included rudimentary records standards. With the advent of computer systems and the decentralisation of archaeological research in the late 1970s, it was recognised that a new manual was required that would permit a certain level of standardisation of recording. Standardisation was considered necessary for an integrated electronic database system, and to facilitate the efficient exchange of information among regional and program headquarters. As a result, in 1977, A. E. Wilson and J. R. Henderson, under the direction of J. D. Swannack, produced the “Parks Canada Archaeology Manual Volume 1: Excavation Records System” (Parks Canada 1977). That manual was reprinted in 1978 with minor changes to one of the form examples (Parks Canada 1978). A second volume pertaining to Collections Management procedures was originally planned (Parks Canada 1978), but was never realised.

An attempt to revise the manual in the early 1990s regrettably never reached fruition. The current Manual is dedicated to the memory of Dr. Pierre Nadon who, in the early 1990s, coordinated consultation sessions with Parks Canada archaeologists across the country and drafted preliminary revisions of the Manual. Prior to his passing in 2003, Dr. Nadon provided valuable background information on the previous consultations, and copies of previous manual drafts from the 1990s that were instrumental in revising the current document.

This revised version (Version1.0) is the result of consultation with Parks Canada archaeologists and archaeological collections specialists over a period of many years. At the core of this revision is the input and direction of the Archaeological Recording Manual Working Group, comprising Gary Adams, Charles Burke, Monique Élie, Daryl Fedje, Brian Ross, and Jim Ringer, as well as Jennifer Hamilton and Robert Gauvin. Colleagues from the Archaeological Services Branch also provided valuable input and advice: Daniel LaRoche, Dan Pagé, Thomas (TJ) Hammer, Jim Molnar, Virginia Myles, Helen Dunlop, and Christophe Rivet. I am also grateful for the contributions, guidance, and support of Ellen Lee, Robert Harrold, and Lyle Henderson. Countless discussions were held with, and input provided by, numerous archaeologists, collections managers, conservators, policy analysts, and information management staff. Thanks are extended to David Arthurs, Debbie Cochrane, Richard Dennis, Paul Downie, Mary Lou Doyle, Candis Emery, Matt Glaude, Rod Heitzmann, Shelley Isabelle, Barbara Lescovec, Sandra Leduc, Charles Lindsay, Stephen Lohnes, Earl Luffman, Alain Messier, André Miller, Christine Persohn, Caroline Phillips, Jack Porter, Mario Savard, Virginia Sheehan, Janet Stoddard, and Sharon Thomson. These individuals either discussed and contributed topics directly, or posted comments via a national archaeological group discussion database (which also serves as the decision archive for this project). I would also like to thank Yves LaBrèche and Suzanne Labrèche for their excellent translation of the Manual into French, as well as Parks Canada’s Cultural Resources Council and Executive Board for their comments and support.

Suggestions for improvements and for additional Manual topics are welcomed.

Stephen Savauge
Archaeological Services Branch, Parks Canada Agency
Ottawa-Gatineau
September 2005

< Previous Page  | Table of Contents  | Next Page  >

< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >


1.0 PRÉFACE

Le présent manuel décrit le système d’enregistrement de l’Agence Parcs Canada (« Parcs Canada » ci-après) pour les fouilles et les reconnaissances archéologiques ainsi que les principes, pratiques exemplaires et marches à suivre que doivent appliquer tous ceux qui effectuent des recherches archéologiques dans des propriétés administrées par Parcs Canada ou qui font l’objet d’un permis de Parcs Canada (Directive de gestion 2.3.2 de Parcs Canada. Permis de recherches archéologiques, 1990). Cela inclut les archéologues à l’emploi de Parcs Canada, de même que les entrepreneurs ou toute autre personne faisant des recherches archéologiques sur des sites terrestres ou submergés. Le présent manuel remplace celui de 1978 (Parcs Canada, 1978) et devra dorénavant être utilisé pour tous les projets de Parcs Canada en matière d’archéologie.

Il est à noter que dans les régions où des ententes globales relatives à des revendications territoriales ont été signées, ces dernières ont force obligatoire et ont priorité sur les politiques et directives de Parcs Canada, et peuvent avoir priorité sur les marches à suivre décrites dans le présent manuel. Parcs Canada doit adhérer aux articles et aux dispositions des ententes qui ont trait à l’archéologie et aux ressources archéologiques sur les terres de la Couronne fédérale ou les sites submergés qui sont sous sa responsabilité (Parcs Canada, 2005).

Le présent manuel est la plus récente version d’un ouvrage qui a une longue histoire. J.H. Rick a rédigé le premier manuel pour les archéologues de Parcs Canada en 1963, qui a été suivi en 1973 d’un manuel sur les fouilles archéologiques rédigé sous la direction de J. D. Swannack (Parcs Canada, 1973). Ces deux ouvrages mettaient l’accent sur les méthodes de fouille et comprenaient des normes rudimentaires pour l’enregistrement des données. Avec l’avènement des systèmes informatiques et la décentralisation de la recherche archéologique à la fin des années 70, un nouveau manuel est devenu nécessaire pour permettre un certain niveau de normalisation de l’enregistrement des données. La normalisation était considérée comme nécessaire pour établir un système intégré de base de données électroniques et pour faciliter l’échange d’information entre les bureaux régionaux et l’administration centrale du programme. C’est ainsi qu’en 1977, A. E. Wilson et J. R. Henderson, sous la direction de J. D. Swannack, rédigeaient le Manuel d’archéologie, volume 1. Méthode d’établissement du dossier de fouille (Parcs Canada, 1977). Une version intégrant des changements mineurs à l’un des exemples de fiches a été réimprimée en 1978 (Parcs Canada, 1978). La parution d’un deuxième volume portant sur les modes de gestion des collections était prévue à l’origine (Parcs Canada, 1978), mais elle n’a jamais eu lieu.

Il a été question, au début des années 90, de réviser le manuel, mais malheureusement le projet ne s’est pas concrétisé. Le présent manuel est dédié à la mémoire de Pierre Nadon, qui, à cette époque, a coordonné les séances de consultation auprès des archéologues de Parcs Canada dans tout le pays et a fait des révisions préliminaires du Manuel. Avant son décès en 2003, M. Nadon avait fourni de l’information valable dérivée des consultations ainsi que des versions préliminaires précédentes du manuel qui ont contribué de façon importante à la révision du présent manuel.

La version révisée (Version 1.0) est le résultat d’un processus de consultation des archéologues et des spécialistes des collections de Parcs Canada qui a duré plusieurs années. La base de ce travail de révision se trouve dans la participation du Groupe de travail sur le manuel d’enregistrement des données archéologiques et dans l’orientation qu’il a donnée à ce travail. Ce groupe est composé de Gary Adams, Charles Burke, Monique Élie, Daryl Fedje, Brian Ross et Jim Ringer, de même que de Jennifer Hamilton et de Robert Gauvin. Des collègues de la Direction des services archéologiques ont également fourni des informations et des conseils très utiles : Daniel LaRoche, Dan Pagé, Thomas (TJ) Hammer, Jim Molnar, Virginia Myles, Helen Dunlop et Christophe Rivet. Je suis également reconnaissant de la contribution, de l’orientation et de l’appui offerts par Ellen Lee, Robert Harrold et Lyle Henderson. Il y a également eu d’innombrables discussions avec de nombreux archéologues, responsables de collections, conservateurs, analystes des politiques et responsables de la gestion de l’information qui ont fourni une contribution précieuse. Merci aussi à Debbie Cochrane, Ellen Cunningham, Richard Dennis, Paul Downie, Mary Lou Doyle, Candis Emery, Matt Glaude, Rod Heitzmann, Shelley Isabelle, Barbara Lescovec, Sandra Leduc, Charles Lindsay, Stephen Lohnes, Earl Luffman, Allain Messier, André Miller, Christine Persohn, Caroline Phillips, Jack Porter, Mario Savard, Virginia Sheehan, Janet Stoddard, et Sharon Thomson. Ces personnes ont soit discuté directement des sujets étudiés ou envoyé des commentaires par l’entremise de la base de données nationale de discussion en archéologie (qui sert également d’archives décisionnelles pour ce projet). J’aimerais également remercier Yves LaBrèche et Suzanne LaBrèche pour leur excellente traduction française du manuel ainsi que le Conseil des ressources culturelles et le Conseil exécutif pour leurs commentaires et leur support.

Toutes les suggestions d’améliorations ou de sujets additionnels pour le manuel sont les bienvenues.

Stephen Savauge
Direction des services archéologiques, Agence Parcs Canada
Ottawa-Gatineau
Septembre 2005


< Page précédente  | Table des matières  | Page suivante >