Code of Ethics

Chapter 3: Post–Employment Measures

Objective

The objective of these measures is to establish rules of conduct regarding post employment.

Overall Responsibility

Without unduly restricting their ability to seek other employment, former Parks Canada employees should undertake to minimize the possibility of real, apparent or potential conflicts of interest between their new employment and their most recent responsibilities within the Agency. Before leaving employment, all Parks Canada employees should disclose their intention of future employment and discuss potential conflicts with their supervisor.

Application

The overall responsibility cited above applies to all Parks Canada employees covered by the Code .

The measures that follow apply specifically to those Parks Canada employees staffed in Parks Canada executive positions (PCX) or their equivalents as well as PCX minus 1 and PCX minus 2 positions and their equivalents.

The Chief Executive Officer may designate other positions as being subject to these measures (where the position involves official duties that raise post–employment concerns), or exclude positions from the application of the post–employment measures (when the official duties of these positions do not raise concerns for post employment). Before doing this, the Chief Executive Officer must consult the appropriate bargaining agent, if applicable.

Before Leaving Office

Parks Canada employees must disclose, in a Code of Ethics Report to their Human Resources Manager, all firm offers of employment that could place them in a real, apparent or potential conflict of interest situation. They must also immediately disclose the acceptance of any such offer.

Limitation Period

Former Parks Canada employees shall not, within a period of one year after leaving office:

  1. accept appointment to a board of directors of, or employment with, entities with which they personally, or through their subordinates, had significant official dealings during the period of one year immediately prior to the termination of their service;
  2. make representations for, or on behalf of, persons to any department, agency or organization with which they personally, or through their subordinates, had significant official dealings during the period of one year immediately prior to the termination of their service; or
  3. give advice to their clients using information that is not available to the public concerning the programs or policies of the Agency, departments or organizations with which they were employed or with which they had a direct and substantial relationship.

Reduction of Limitation Period

The Chief Executive Officer has the authority to reduce or waive the limitation period of employment for a Parks Canada employee or former Parks Canada employee. Such a decision should take into consideration the following:

  1. the circumstances under which the termination of their service occurred;
  2. the general employment prospects of the Parks Canada employee or former Parks Canada employee;
  3. the significance to the government of information possessed by the Parks Canada employee or former Parks Canada employee by virtue of that individual's position in the Parks Canada Agency;
  4. the desirability of a rapid transfer of the Parks Canada employee's or former Parks Canada employee's knowledge and skills from the government to private, other governmental or non–governmental sectors;
  5. the degree to which the new employer might gain unfair commercial or private advantage by hiring the Parks Canada employee or former Parks Canada employee; and
  6. the authority and influence possessed while at the Parks Canada Agency, and the disposition of other cases.

A decision by the Chief Executive Officer to waive or reduce the limitation period will be recorded in writing.

Exit Arrangements

The Chief Executive Officer must ensure that a Parks Canada employee who is intending to leave the Parks Canada Agency is aware of these post–employment measures.

Reconsideration

A Parks Canada employee or former Parks Canada employee may apply to the Chief Executive Officer for reconsideration of any determination regarding his/her compliance with the post–employment measures.

[ Previous | Table of Contents | Next ]

Code d'éthique

Chapitre 3 : Mesures concernant l'après–mandat

Objectif

Les présentes mesures visent à établir des règles de conduite au sujet de l'après–mandat.

Responsabilité générale

Sans limiter indûment leurs possibilités de chercher un autre emploi, les ex–employés de Parcs Canada doivent réduire au minimum la possibilité de se trouver dans des situations de conflit d'intérêts réel, apparent ou potentiel à l'égard de leur nouvel emploi et de leurs dernières responsabilités à l'Agence. Avant de quitter leur emploi, tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent faire part à leur superviseur de leur intention en ce qui concerne leur emploi futur et discuter des conflits potentiels.

Champ d'application

Les responsabilités susmentionnées s'appliquent à tous les employés de Parcs Canada couverts par le Code .

Les mesures qui suivent s'appliquent précisément aux employés de Parcs Canada occupant un poste classé au niveau de cadre supérieur (PCX) ou à son niveau équivalent, ainsi qu'aux niveaux PCX moins 1 et PCX moins 2, et à leurs niveaux équivalents.

Le Directeur général de l'Agence peut désigner d'autres postes visés par ces mesures (lorsque le poste implique des fonctions officielles qui soulèvent des inquiétudes quant à l'après–mandat) ou exclure certains postes de l'application des mesures relatives à l'après–mandat (lorsque les fonctions officielles de ces postes ne soulèvent aucune inquiétude relativement à l'après–mandat). Auparavant, le Directeur général de l'Agence doit consulter l'agent de négociation approprié, selon le cas.

Avant de quitter son poste

Les employés de Parcs Canada doivent divulguer, dans un rapport lié au Code d'éthique adressé à leur gestionnaire des Ressources humaines, toutes les offres sérieuses d'emploi qui risquent de les placer dans une situation de conflit d'intérêts réel, apparent ou potentiel, et divulguer immédiatement l'acceptation de toute offre d'emploi.

Période de restriction

Il est interdit à tout ex–employé de Parcs Canada, dans l'année qui suit la cessation de ses fonctions :

  1. d'accepter une nomination au conseil d'administration d'une entité avec laquelle il a eu, personnellement ou par l'entremise de ses subalternes, des rapports officiels importants au cours de l'année ayant précédé la fin de son mandat, ou d'accepter un emploi au sein d'une telle entité;
  2. d'intervenir pour le compte ou au nom d'une autre personne ou d'une entité auprès d'une agence, d'un ministère ou d'un organisme avec lequel il a eu, personnellement ou par l'entremise de ses subalternes, des rapports officiels importants au cours de l'année ayant précédé la fin de son mandat; ou
  3. de donner à ses clients, au moyen de renseignements qui ne sont pas accessibles par le public, des conseils touchant les programmes ou les politiques de l'agence, du ministère ou de l'organisme pour lequel il travaillait ou avec lequel il entretenait d'importants rapports directs.

Réduction de la période de restriction

Le Directeur général de l'Agence a le pouvoir de réduire ou d'annuler la période de restriction d'emploi d'un employé ou d'un ex–employé de Parcs Canada. Cette décision doit tenir compte de ce qui suit :

  1. les circonstances du départ de l'employé de Parcs Canada;
  2. les perspectives générales d'emploi de l'employé ou de l'ex–employé de Parcs Canada;
  3. l'importance que le gouvernement attache aux renseignements détenus par l'employé ou l'ex–employé de Parcs Canada dans le cadre de son poste au sein de l'Agence Parcs Canada;
  4. la nécessité de transférer rapidement au secteur privé, à d'autres secteurs gouvernementaux ou à des secteurs non gouvernementaux, les connaissances et les compétences d'un employé ou d'un ex–employé de Parcs Canada;
  5. la mesure dans laquelle le nouvel employeur pourrait tirer un avantage commercial indu ou des avantages de nature privée en embauchant un employé ou un ex–employé de Parcs Canada;
  6. l'autorité et l'influence qu'a exercé l'employé de Parcs Canada et les dispositions prises dans d'autres cas.

Toute décision prise par le Directeur général de l'Agence quant à l'annulation ou à la réduction de la période de restriction doit être consignée par écrit.

Arrangements de départ

Le Directeur général de l'Agence doit s'assurer qu'un employé qui a l'intention de quitter Parcs Canada soit informé des exigences relatives à l'après–mandat.

Nouvel examen

Tout employé actuel ou tout ex–employé de Parcs Canada peut demander au Directeur général de l'Agence de réexaminer toute décision ayant trait à sa conformité aux mesures concernant l'après–mandat.

[ Précédente | Table des matières | Suivante ]