Code of Ethics

Chapter 1: Statement of the Parks Canada Agency Ethics

[ Previous | Table of Contents | Next ]

The Role of the Parks Canada Agency

The Parks Canada Agency is an important national institution, part of the essential framework of Canadian parliamentary democracy. Through the support they provide to the duly constituted government, Parks Canada employees contribute in a fundamental way to good government, to democracy and to Canadian society.

The role of the Parks Canada Agency is to assist the Government of Canada to protect, as a first priority, the natural and cultural heritage of our special places and ensure that they remain healthy and whole; to present the beauty and significance of our natural world and to chronicle the human determination and ingenuity that have shaped our nation; to celebrate the legacy of visionary Canadians whose passion and knowledge have inspired the character and values of our country, and to serve Canadians. The Constitution of Canada and the principles of responsible government provide the foundation for Parks Canada's roles and responsibilities. The democratic mission of the Parks Canada Agency is to assist the Minister, under law, to serve the public interest.

The Code of Ethics of the Parks Canada Agency is a cornerstone of the Agency's organizational character. It enhances working conditions, employer/employee relations, interpersonal relationships and decision making at Parks Canada. The Chief Executive Officer expects all Parks Canada employees and managers to act in ways that support the Code . Actions and activities that best exemplify the Code of Ethics of the Parks Canada Agency will contribute to the recognition of employees within the Agency and to their personal success, as well as make Parks Canada a more rewarding place to work.

Parks Canada Mandate

The mandate of the Parks Canada Agency and its employees as per the Parks Canada Charter is:

On behalf of the people of Canada, we protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage, and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure the ecological and commemorative integrity of these places for present and future generations.

Doing this "on behalf of the people of Canada" entails great responsibilities. We should all be guided in our work and professional conduct by a balanced framework of democratic, professional, ethical and people qualities. This Code sets out the qualities expected of us by Parks Canada, which will guide us in the overall delivery of our work. It will help all Parks Canada employees to fully understand and uphold these qualities.

Objectives of the Code

We all have a responsibility to keep in mind the balance between democratic, professional, ethical and people qualities as we make work–related decisions, to seek help when we feel that the balance may be in jeopardy, and to avoid real or perceived conflicts of interest. Managers have an additional responsibility to monitor behaviour with respect to these qualities and to assist employees in using them, as well as to monitor possible conflicts of interest. Doing so will help all of us to make informed decisions. Employees and managers who fail to respect the Code of Ethics of the Parks Canada Agency may be subject to disciplinary action, up to and including the termination of their employment with the Agency.

The Code sets out the Agency's mandate and rules of conduct concerning the Conflict of Interest and Post–Employment Measures.

The Chief Executive Officer is responsible for preserving public confidence in the integrity of management and operations of the Agency and for maintaining the tradition of political neutrality of the Government of Canada and its continuing ability to provide professional, candid and frank advice.

Democratic Qualities: Helping the Chief Executive Officer and the Minister, under law, to serve the public interest.

  • All Parks Canada employees shall give honest and impartial advice and make all information relevant to a decision available to their supervisor.
  • All Parks Canada employees shall loyally implement Agency decisions, lawfully taken.
  • All Parks Canada employees shall support Agency accountability, and provide their supervisor with information on the results of their work.

Professional Qualities: Serving with competence, excellence, efficiency, objectivity and impartiality.

  • All Parks Canada employees must work within the laws of Canada and demonstrate political neutrality, as well as support for the agenda and objectives of the Government of Canada and the objectives of the Parks Canada Agency, as they undertake the responsibilities of their position.
  • Within the scope of their authority, all Parks Canada employees must ensure the proper, effective and efficient use of public money.
  • All Parks Canada employees must take into account that how Parks Canada's and the Government of Canada's objectives are achieved should be as important as the achievements themselves.
  • All Parks Canada employees must continually improve the quality of service they provide, by adapting to changing needs, being innovative and striving to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of Parks Canada programs and services offered in both official languages.
  • All Parks Canada employees must respect the confidentiality of information they have access to through their work, as required under the law.
  • All Parks Canada employees must be open and honest in their dealings with the public, stakeholders and other organizations.

Ethical Qualities: Acting at all times in such a way as to uphold the public trust.

  • All Parks Canada employees shall perform their duties and arrange their private affairs so that public trust in their integrity, objectivity and impartiality, as well as that of the Agency, is conserved and enhanced.
  • All Parks Canada employees shall act at all times in a manner that will bear the closest public scrutiny.
  • All Parks Canada employees shall, in fulfilling their official duties and responsibilities, make decisions in the public interest. If a conflict should arise between their private interests and their official duties, employees will resolve the conflict in favour of the public interest.
  • All Parks Canada employees shall report, within 60 days of being appointed to their first position at Parks Canada, and within 60 days of any subsequent appointment, transfer, promotion or deployment within the Agency, all outside activities, assets, and direct or contingent liabilities that may result in a conflict of interest with respect to their official duties.
  • All Parks Canada employees shall treat public property with care and respect, recognizing that it belongs to the people of Canada.

People Qualities: Demonstrating respect, fairness and courtesy in dealings with both citizens and colleagues, and recognizing that people who are treated with fairness and civility will be motivated to display these qualities in their own conduct.

  • Employees should always place respect for human dignity first in the exercise of authority and responsibility, in their dealings with the public as well as with their colleagues.
  • In any circumstance where employees are placed in a leadership role, they should lead through participation, openness and communication and with respect for diversity and for the official languages of Canada.

Overall:
All the activities connected to each employee's and manager's work should be consistent with the Code of Ethics of the Parks Canada Agency . If employees and managers have questions about how and when the Code applies, they should ask their supervisor for guidance.

Application

This Code applies to all employees and managers working in the Parks Canada Agency.

Responsibilities, Authorities and Accountabilities

Responsibilities of all Parks Canada Employees

This Code forms part of the conditions of employment in the Parks Canada Agency. At the time of signing their letter of offer, all Parks Canada employees acknowledge that the Code of Ethics of the Parks Canada Agency is a condition of employment. All Parks Canada employees are responsible for ensuring that they comply with this Code .

All Parks Canada employees must also be aware of and observe the statutes governing the Parks Canada Agency and their profession, where applicable.

When negotiating financial arrangements with outside parties, employees must ensure compliance with the Conflict of Interest and Post–Employment Measures in accordance with directives on this matter issued by the Treasury Board. When in doubt, they must immediately report the situation to their supervisors in order to seek advice or direction on how to proceed.

When an employee faced with an ethical dilemma is in need of assistance with a particular issue or has knowledge of wrongdoing in the workplace, the employee is encouraged to seek the guidance from his/her immediate supervisor or manager, or the Field Unit Superintendent or Director General. They may also refer to the Policy on the Internal Disclosureof Information Concerning Wrongdoing in the Workplace .

In cases where an employee does not feel comfortable in pursuing this reporting relationship, the employee may bring the issue to the attention of the Ombudsman, to raise, discuss and resolve issues of concern related to this Code . The Ombudsman is also the designated officer in the Parks Canada Agency serving as the Senior Integrity Officer and the Senior Values and Ethics official.

All Parks Canada employees who feel they are being asked to act in a way that is inconsistent with the qualities set out in this chapter are encouraged to raise the matter first using the usual reporting relationship. Should this fail to resolve the issue, the matter may be brought to the attention of the Ombudsman. Further avenues for resolution are contained in Chapter 4 of this Code .

Responsibilities of Parks Canada Managers

Managers have a particular responsibility to exemplify, in their actions and behaviour, the qualities set out in this chapter. They have a duty to infuse these qualities into all aspects of the work of sectors in the Agency under their responsibility. It is expected that they will take special care to ensure that they comply at all times with both the spirit and the specific requirements of this Code .

Managers have an additional responsibility to monitor behaviour with respect to these qualities and to assist employees in using them, as well as to monitor possible conflicts of interest. Doing so will help all of us to make informed decisions.

The Chief Executive Officer

The Chief Executive Officer may delegate responsibilities and authorities for the implementation of this Code .

Ombudsman

At Parks Canada, the Ombudsman is accountable to the Chief Executive Officer.

The role of the Ombudsman is to provide employees with informal and confidential support. He/she is a person with whom employees can raise their concerns and problems. He/she will attempt to help employees resolve their issues.

The Ombudsman at Parks Canada is also the Senior Integrity Officer and Senior Values and Ethics official. In these capacities, his/her role is to receive, record and review disclosures of wrongdoing in the workplace, including breaches of the Code , and to make recommendations where warranted to the Chief Executive Officer for resolution. Further, the Senior Integrity Officer may report on any cases dealing with breaches of the Code as part of his or her annual report. The Senior Values and Ethics official fosters and sustains dialogue on values and ethics, provides informal advice and guidance on ethical dilemmas, conflict of interest and the application of the Code of Ethics of the Parks Canada Agency , and provides advice and guidance on the development of policies and directives.

Effective Date

The effective date of the Code of Ethics of the Parks Canada Agency is February 1, 2006.

[ Previous | Table of Contents | Next ]

Code d'éthique

Chapitre 1 : Énoncé de l'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada

Le rôle de l'Agence Parcs Canada

L'Agence Parcs Canada, une importante institution nationale, fait partie intégrante du cadre essentiel de la démocratie parlementaire. Les employés de Parcs Canada, grâce au soutien qu'ils fournissent au gouvernement dûment constitué, contribuent de manière fondamentale au bon fonctionnement du gouvernement, à la démocratie et à la société canadienne.

Le rôle de l'Agence Parcs Canada est d'aider le gouvernement du Canada à protéger en priorité le patrimoine naturel et culturel de nos endroits spéciaux et de s'assurer qu'ils demeurent intacts et en bon état; de mettre en valeur la beauté et l'importance de notre univers naturel et de souligner la détermination et l'ingéniosité des hommes et des femmes qui ont façonné notre nation; de célébrer l'héritage de ces Canadiennes et Canadiens visionnaires dont la passion et le savoir ont modelé les valeurs et le caractère de notre pays; et de servir les Canadiens. La Constitution du Canada et les principes de gouvernement responsable servent de fondement aux rôles et aux responsabilités de l'Agence Parcs Canada. Cette dernière a pour mission démocratique d'aider le Ministre à servir l'intérêt public en vertu de la loi.

Le Code d'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada est une pierre angulaire du caractère organisationnel de l'Agence. Il vise l'amélioration des conditions de travail, des relations employeur–employé, des relations interpersonnelles et de la prise de décisions à Parcs Canada. Le Directeur général de l'Agence s'attend à ce que tous les employés et gestionnaires de Parcs Canada se conforment au Code . Les actions et les activités qui illustrent le mieux le Code d'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada contribueront à la reconnaissance des employés au sein de l'Agence et à leur réussite personnelle, en plus de rendre le milieu de travail de Parcs Canada plus stimulant.

Mandat de Parcs Canada

Le mandat de l'Agence Parcs Canada et de ses employés est défini dans la Charte de Parcs Canada :

Au nom de la population canadienne, nous protégeons et mettons en valeur des exemples représentatifs du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada, et en favorisons chez le public la connaissance, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l'intégrité écologique et commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain.

La réalisation de ce mandat « au nom de la population canadienne » est rattachée à de grandes responsabilités. Nous devrions tous rechercher dans notre travail et notre éthique professionnelle un équilibre de valeurs démocratiques et professionnelles et de valeurs liées à l'éthique et aux personnes. Le Code définit les valeurs privilégiées par Parcs Canada qui nous guideront dans l'exécution de notre travail. Il a pour but d'aider tous les employés de Parcs Canada à bien comprendre et à préserver ces valeurs.

Objectifs du Code

Nous avons tous la responsabilité de concilier nos valeurs démocratiques et professionnelles ainsi que nos valeurs liées à l'éthique et aux personnes lorsque nous prenons des décisions d'ordre professionnel; de chercher de l'aide lorsque cet équilibre pourrait être compromis et d'éviter les situations de conflits d'intérêts réels ou potentiels. Les gestionnaires ont également la responsabilité de surveiller le comportement des employés relativement à ces valeurs, de les aider à les appliquer et de contrôler les conflits d'intérêts possibles, afin que nous puissions tous prendre des décisions éclairées. Les employés et les gestionnaires qui ne respectent pas le Code d'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada peuvent faire l'objet de mesures disciplinaires, allant jusqu'au renvoi.

Le Code énonce le mandat de l'Agence et les règles de conduite relatives aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'après–mandat.

Le Directeur général de l'Agence a la responsabilité de préserver la confiance du public à l'égard de l'intégrité de la gestion et des activités au sein de l'Agence, et de préserver la tradition de neutralité politique du gouvernement du Canada ainsi que de maintenir sa capacité de fournir des conseils professionnels de façon franche et directe.

Valeurs démocratiques : Aider le Directeur général de l'Agence et le Ministre à servir l'intérêt public en vertu de la loi.

  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada fourniront à leur superviseur des conseils honnêtes et impartiaux, et mettront à sa disposition tous les renseignements rattachés à la prise de décisions.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada mettront en oeuvre avec loyauté les décisions de l'Agence, qui ont été prises conformément à la loi.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada aideront l'Agence à s'acquitter de son obligation de rendre des comptes et fourniront à leur superviseur de l'information liée aux résultats de leur travail.

Valeurs professionnelles : Servir avec compétence, excellence, efficacité, objectivité et impartialité.

  • Il incombe à tous les employés de Parcs Canada de respecter les lois du Canada, de faire preuve de neutralité politique et d'appuyer le programme et les objectifs du gouvernement du Canada et les objectifs de l'Agence Parcs Canada dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent s'assurer de l'utilisation adéquate, efficace et efficiente des deniers publics en fonction des pouvoirs qui leur sont impartis.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent considérer que la manière d'atteindre les objectifs de Parcs Canada et du gouvernement du Canada est aussi importante que l'atteinte des objectifs en soi.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent constamment améliorer la qualité des services qu'ils offrent en s'adaptant aux besoins changeants, en faisant preuve d'innovation et en accroissant l'efficacité et l'efficience des programmes et des services de Parcs Canada offerts dans les deux langues officielles.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent respecter la confidentialité des renseignements auxquels ils ont accès, conformément à la loi.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent faire preuve d'ouverture et d'honnêteté dans leurs relations avec le public, les intervenants et autres organisations.

Valeurs liées à l'éthique : Agir en tout temps de manière à préserver la confiance du public.

  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent exercer leurs fonctions et organiser leurs activités personnelles de façon à préserver et à accroître la confiance du public à leur égard et à l'égard de l'intégrité, de l'objectivité et de l'impartialité de l'Agence.
  • La conduite de tous les employés de Parcs Canada doit pouvoir résister en tout temps à l'examen public le plus minutieux.
  • Dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions officielles, tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent prendre les décisions dans l'intérêt public. S'il y a d'éventuels conflits entre les intérêts personnels de l'employé et ses fonctions et responsabilités officielles, l'intérêt public doit primer dans le règlement desdits conflits.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent déclarer, dans les 60 jours de leur nomination à leur premier poste à Parcs Canada et dans les 60 jours de tout transfert, nomination, promotion ou déploiement à l'Agence, tous les biens, activités exercées à l'extérieur et passifs directs ou éventuels pouvant causer des conflits d'intérêts à l'égard de leurs fonctions officielles.
  • Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent manipuler les biens publics avec soin et respect en reconnaissant qu'ils appartiennent aux Canadiens.

Valeurs liées aux personnes : Faire preuve de respect, d'équité et de courtoisie dans les relations avec les citoyens et les collègues, et reconnaître que les personnes qui sont traitées avec équité et civilité sont portées à exprimer ces valeurs dans leur propre conduite.

  • Le respect de la dignité humaine doit toujours primer dans l'exercice de l'autorité et des responsabilités des employés, tant dans leurs relations avec le public qu'avec leurs collègues.
  • En tout temps, les employés appelés à diriger doivent exercer leurs fonctions dans un souci de participation, d'ouverture et de communication, ainsi que dans le respect de la diversité et des langues officielles du Canada.

Globalement :
Toutes les activités liées au travail des employés et gestionnaires doivent être conformes au présent Code d'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada . Pour toute question relative à l'application du Code , les employés et gestionnaires doivent s'informer auprès de leur superviseur.

Champ d'application

Le présent Code s'applique à tout employé et gestionnaire de l'Agence.

Responsabilités, pouvoirs et imputabilité

Responsabilités de tous les employés de Parcs Canada

Le Code s'inscrit dans les conditions d'emploi à l'Agence Parcs Canada. Au moment de signer une lettre d'offre, tous les employés de Parcs Canada reconnaissent que le Code d'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada est une condition d'emploi. Il incombe à tous les employés de Parcs Canada de s'y conformer.

Tous les employés de Parcs Canada doivent aussi connaître et observer les lois régissant Parcs Canada et leur profession, le cas échéant.

Lorsqu'ils négocient des ententes financières avec des personnes de l'extérieur, les employés doivent se conformer aux mesures relatives aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'après–mandat en vertu des directives que le Conseil du Trésor a arrêtées à ce propos. S'ils ont des doutes, ils doivent immédiatement faire part de la situation à leur superviseur afin d'obtenir des conseils ou de l'orientation leur permettant de composer avec la situation.

Lorsqu'un employé aux prises avec un dilemme éthique a besoin d'aide concernant un problème particulier ou possède de l'information sur des actes fautifs au travail, il doit demander conseil à son superviseur immédiat, à son gestionnaire, au directeur d'unité de gestion ou au directeur général. Les employés peuvent également consulter la Politique sur la divulgation interne d'information concernant des actes fautifs au travail .

Lorsqu'un employé ne se sent pas à l'aise d'en parler à son superviseur immédiat, il peut soumettre le problème à l'ombudsman qui pourra cibler les questions préoccupantes liées au Code, en discuter et les résoudre. L'ombudsman est également désigné par l'Agence Parcs Canada pour agir à titre d'agent supérieur de l'intégrité et d'agent supérieur des valeurs et de l'éthique.

Tout employé de Parcs Canada qui a le sentiment qu'on lui demande d'agir de manière incompatible avec les valeurs énoncées dans le présent chapitre est encouragé à faire part de ses préoccupations à son supérieur hiérarchique en premier lieu. Si cela ne permet pas de régler le problème, celui–ci peut être présenté à l'ombudsman. D'autres pistes de solution sont proposées au chapitre 4 du Code .

Responsabilités des gestionnaires de Parcs Canada

Les gestionnaires doivent incarner particulièrement, dans leurs gestes et leur comportement, les valeurs présentées dans ce chapitre. Il leur incombe de les intégrer dans tous les aspects du travail des secteurs de l'Agence dont ils ont la responsabilité. On s'attend à ce qu'ils veillent particulièrement à respecter en tout temps l'esprit et les exigences particulières du présent Code .

Les gestionnaires ont également la responsabilité de surveiller le comportement des employés relativement à ces valeurs, de les aider à les appliquer et de contrôler les conflits d'intérêts possibles, afin que nous puissions tous prendre des décisions éclairées.

Le Directeur général de l'Agence

Le Directeur général de l'Agence peut déléguer des responsabilités et des pouvoirs pour la mise en œuvre du présent Code .

Ombudsman

À Parcs Canada, l'ombudsman relève du Directeur général de l'Agence.

Le rôle de l'ombudsman est de fournir aux employés un appui non officiel et confidentiel. Les employés peuvent lui soumettre leurs préoccupations et leurs problèmes; il tente d'aider les employés à les résoudre.

L'ombudsman à Parcs Canada est également l'agent supérieur de l'intégrité et l'agent supérieur des valeurs et de l'éthique. Son rôle est de recevoir, de consigner et d'examiner les divulgations d'actes fautifs au travail, y compris les dérogations au Code et, le cas échéant, de faire des recommandations au Directeur général de l'Agence pour la résolution des problèmes. De plus, dans son rapport annuel, l'agent supérieur de l'intégrité peut inclure les activités touchant les dérogations au Code . L'agent supérieur des valeurs et de l'éthique encourage et nourrit les discussions sur les valeurs et l'éthique, offre de l'orientation et des conseils non officiels sur des dilemmes éthiques, des conflits d'intérêts et l'application du Code d'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada , et fournit des conseils et de l'orientation sur l'élaboration des politiques et des directives.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

La date d'entrée en vigueur du Code d'éthique de l'Agence Parcs Canada est le 1 er février 2006.

[ Précédente | Table des matières | Suivante ]