Economic Impact of Parks Canada

Executive Summary


Download a printable version of the report (PDF 1.3 MB)

Parks Canada makes a substantial economic contribution to Canada’s economy.  Through the spending of the organization and the visitors to Parks Canada’s National Parks, National Historic Sites and National Marine Conservation Areas, a significant and widespread economic impact is felt throughout the country.

In 2008/09 Parks Canada’s organizational spending and visitor spending totalled $3.3 billion.  Of this amount, visitor spending accounted for $2.7 billion and $587 million was spent by Parks Canada on the three program areas.  The overall national economic impacts derived from the spending attributed to Parks Canada on the Canadian economy are:

Gross Domestic Product      $2,988 million
Labour Income                    $1,925 million
Employment                         41,720 fulltime equivalents
Tax Revenue                        $218 million

National impacts by program area in 2008/09 were:

Parks Canada Program

Economic Impact

Gross Domestic Product (millions)

Labour Income (millions)

Employment (FTE)

Tax Revenue
(millions)

National Parks

$2,405.0

$1,518.4

32,757.7

$161.7

National Historic Sites

$440.1

$317.7

6,660.2

$45.6

National Marine Conservation Areas

 

$142.7

 

$88.9

 

2,302.3

 

$10.6

     TOTAL

$2,987.8

$1,925.0

41,720.2

$217.9

With visitors accounting for 81.8% of total spending, it is reasonable to expect visitor spending to have the greater impact.  In fact, visitor spending generates 75.5% of the GDP impacts; 75.8% of employment impacts and 62.5% of the tax impact.

Spending by non-Canadian visitors to Parks Canada locations – $1.2 billion – represents 45% of all visitor spending.  The impacts generated by this non-Canadian visitor spending contributes to Canada’s balance of international payments and creates a GDP impact nationally of $967 million and adds $57.5 million to tax revenues.


 

Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Impact économique de Parcs Canada

Sommaire


Télécharger la version imprimable du rapport (PDF 2,5 Mo)


L’Agence Parcs Canada joue un rôle prépondérant dans l’économie canadienne. Les dépenses de l’organisation et les dépenses des visiteurs dans les parcs nationaux, les lieux historiques nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation génèrent des retombées économiques considérables qui profitent à l’ensemble du pays.

En 2008-2009, le montant total des dépenses de l’Agence Parcs Canada et des dépenses des visiteurs s’élevait à 3,3 milliards de dollars. De ce montant, les dépenses des visiteurs représentaient 2,7 milliards et les dépenses de Parcs Canada représentaient 587 millions pour les trois secteurs de programmes. L’ensemble des retombées économiques découlant des dépenses attribuables à Parcs Canada injectées dans l’économie canadienne représente :

Produit intérieur brut                        2 988 millions de dollars
Revenus du travail                            1 925 millions de dollars
Emploi                                             41 720 équivalents temps plein
Recettes fiscales                               218 millions de dollars

Les retombées nationales par secteur de programme représentaient en 2008-2009 :


Programme de Parcs Canada

Retombées économiques

 PIB
(millions)

Rev. trav. (millions)

Emploi
(ETP)

Rec. fisc.
(millions)

Parcs nationaux

2 405,0 $

1 518,4 $

32 757,7

161,7 $

Lieux historiques nationaux

440,1 $

317,7 $

6 660,2

45,6 $

Aires marines nationales de conservation

 

142,7 $

 

88,9 $

 

2 302,3

 

10,6 $

     TOTAL

2 987,8 $

1 925,0 $

41 720,2

217,9 $

Avec des dépenses des visiteurs représentant 81,8 % des dépenses totales, il y a tout lieu de croire que les retombées qu’elles génèrent sont plus importantes. En fait, les dépenses des visiteurs génèrent 75,5 % des retombées sur le PIB, 75,8 % des retombées sur l’emploi et 62,5 % des retombées sur les recettes fiscales.

Les dépenses des visiteurs non canadiens aux endroits administrés par Parcs Canada (1,2 milliard de dollars) représentent 45 % de toutes les dépenses des visiteurs. Les retombées générées par ces dépenses des visiteurs non canadiens contribuent à la balance des paiements internationaux du Canada, contribuent au PIB du Canada pour un total de 967 millions de dollars et rapportent 57,5 millions de dollars en recettes fiscales.


 

N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).