Reports

Secondary Research: Mountain Biking Market Profiles, CRA, For Parks Canada, March 2010

Note: Please note that the full report is only available in English. To have access to the report or if you need more information, please contact Julie Lefebvre from the Activities and Facilities team, by email or at 819-934-1113.

Executive summary

Mountain Biking is a popular sport in many countries, with new participants starting every year. This sport is considered an adventure sport, although like hiking or skiing, participants can choose the level of difficulty. Indeed, cross country mountain biking may be considered a mainstream sport, with other disciplines considered to be niche, but with devoted participants and followers. This leads to a wide range of participants, from young children to seniors, and everyone in between. Start-up costs can be minimal, although this may not be the perception among the general population, as the cost of participation is reflected in the more affluent profile of participants, and participants can spend thousands of dollars on a bicycle, other equipment, and trail access.

Cross country is by far the most popular type of mountain biking, which is related to the number of trails available, and the ease with which participants can access cross country trails. While mountain biking attracts a wide range of athletes, active participants tend to be male, younger, have higher levels of education and income, and travel with others of similar interests. Additionally, frequent mountain bikers will often travel to seek new trails, and belong to associations or clubs.

Mountain biking is popular in many parts of the world, with the United States, Canada and Australia/New Zealand having higher participation rates than other locations. Mountain biking is an ever expanding sport, with new types of riding emerging. Indeed, the adoption of downhill mountain biking has led to a number of downhill ski operators offering summer mountain biking activities, and the popularity of freeriding and dirt jumping is resulting in parks specifically designed for this purpose.

As with any growing sport, there are challenges faced by participants and operators. Some participants who do not have ready access to managed trails can face backlash from landowners and parks that may not be developed with mountain bikers in mind. Meanwhile, operators are facing safety concerns, trail development and land access issues. User conflict is also an area of concern, although evidence suggests that through trail design and appropriate training and signage, these conflicts can be decreased.

Each market has many organizations devoted to the development and promotion of mountain biking, and tourism relating to cycling and mountain biking in particular is a growing business. Many Canadian mountain biking operators report a large number of participants from outside their province, or even from outside of Canada. Moreover, some American operators, particularly those closer to the border, report high levels of Canadian visitation.

In terms of competitions and racing, there is a well organized competitive circuit in all markets, with governing bodies that develop regulations for these events. Mountain biking, or more specifically, cross country, became an Olympic sport in 1996. Finally, an evaluation of the National Parks Service (NPS) and National Forest Service (NFS) in the US, and the National Parks and Wildlife Service in Australia suggest that these organizations are facing challenges with integrating mountain biking into their existing recreational offering, although progress is being made in this regard. The NFS could be considered the most 'mountain biking friendly' of the three organizations, with a wide range of trails and offerings available.

Rapports

Recherche de sources secondaires : Profil des marchés du vélo de montagne, CRA, pour Parcs Canada, mars 2010

Note: Veuillez prendre note que le rapport complet est uniquement disponible en anglais. Pour obtenir le rapport ou si vous avez besoin d’autres informations n’hésitez pas à contacter Julie Lefebvre de l'équipe des activités récréatives et installations par courriel ou au 819-934-1113.

Sommaire

Le vélo de montagne est une activité populaire dans bien des pays et, chaque année, conquiert de plus en plus d’adeptes. Il s’agit d’une activité dite d’aventure, mais, tout comme pour la randonnée pédestre et le ski, les participants peuvent choisir le niveau de difficulté auquels ils souhaitent faire face. Le vélo de montagne cross-country peut effectivement être considéré comme une activité à la mode, tandis que d’autres disciplines sont considérées comme des créneaux, chacune avec leurs propres participants et leurs propres adeptes. On y retrouve donc des participants en tous genres, des jeunes enfants aux personnes âgées. Malgré les apparences, commencer ne coûte pas bien cher. Les adeptes les plus prospères dépensent des milliers de dollars pour un vélo, du matériel et l’accès aux pistes, ce qui a un impact sur la perception du coût de pratique de l’activité.

Le cross-country est la pratique de vélo de montagne le plus pratiqué, notamment en raison du nombre de pistes offertes et de leur facilité d’accès. Bien que le vélo de montagne attire des athlètes en tous genres, les participants les plus actifs sont en général des jeunes hommes dont le niveau de scolarité et le revenu sont élevés, et qui voyagent habituellement avec d’autres personnes ayant les mêmes intérêts. Les grands adeptes cherchent également souvent de nouveaux sentiers et font partie d’associations ou de clubs.

Le vélo de montagne est populaire dans bien des pays, mais surtout aux États-Unis, au Canada, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande, où l’on retrouve des taux de participation plus élevés qu’ailleurs. Il s’agit d’une activité en expansion constante auquel se rajoutent sans cesse de nouveaux types de pratique. Ainsi, la popularité de la descente en vélo de montagne a poussé les exploitants de centres de ski alpin à offrir des activités de vélo de montagne en été. Dans le même ordre d’idées, la popularité du freeride et des sauts en terre battue a entraîné la création de parcs conçus expressément pour ces pratiques.

Comme pour toute activité en croissance, les participants et les exploitants du vélo de montagne doivent faire face à quelques difficultés. Les participants qui n’ont pas facilement accès à des sentiers gérés peuvent avoir des problèmes avec les propriétaires des terrains et parcs qui n’ont pas été créés pour le vélo de montagne. Les exploitants, de leur côté, doivent faire attention aux questions de sécurité, de conception de sentiers et d’accès aux terres. Les conflits entre les utilisateurs peuvent également poser problème, quoi qu’il semble possible de les éviter en portant une grande attention à la création des sentiers, à la formation et à la signalisation.

Chaque marché est doté de nombreuses organisations consacrées au développement et à la promotion du vélo de montagne. Le cyclotourisme et le tourisme en vélo de montagne sont eux aussi en pleine expansion. Plusieurs exploitants de vélo de montagne canadiens affirment que de nombreux participants viennent de l’extérieur de leur province, voire de l’extérieur du pays. De plus, certains exploitants américains (surtout ceux qui se trouvent près de la frontière) signalent de nombreux visiteurs canadiens.

Pour ce qui est des compétitions et des cours, il existe des organismes de réglementation et un circuit compétitif bien organisé dans tous les marchés. Notons aussi que le vélo de montagne ou, plus précisément, le cross-country, est devenu un sport olympique en 1996. Une évaluation du National Parks Service (NPS) et du National Forest Service (NFS), aux États-Unis, et du National Parks and Wildlife Service, en Australie, a indiqué que ces organisations ont de la difficulté à intégrer le vélo de montagne parmi leur offre d’activités de loisirs existants. Malgré tout, elles parviennent à faire des progrès à cet égard. Des trois organisations, le NFS est possiblement la plus ouverte au vélo de montagne, car elle offre une vaste gamme de sentiers et d’autres possibilités.