The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Stories of the Northwest Passage

Key Characters of the Past

Lady Franklin, a devoted wife

Lady Franklin Lady Jane Franklin

Jane Griffin, born on December 4, 1791, was a highly educated and tenacious woman; she became the second wife of John Franklin in 1828. She took the title of Lady Franklin when her husband was knighted the next year. In the early years of their marriage, she travelled extensively in the Mediterranean. Then, when her husband was posted to Van Diemen’s Land (today Tasmania), she went with him and developed a keen interest in his professional life. When Sir John Franklin was 58, he was appointed to lead the expedition of the two vessels HMS Erebus and HMS Terror. These ships, under Admiralty orders, sailed in May 1845 in a quest for the Northwest Passage.

Three years after her husband’s departure, an anxious Lady Franklin offered a reward for anyone who would venture beyond his initial destination and bring back information about him. This was the first round in the tireless efforts of Lady Franklin, who gave her all to the search for Sir John. Because as a woman she could not join an expedition herself and go in search of her spouse, she resolved to use such means of pressure as were available to women of her day. Thus, she started writing numerous articles for publication in the press to raise public awareness of mysterious fate of Franklin’s expedition. These articles put her cause in the media spotlight of the day and succeeded in mobilizing resources for the search. Then, when she noticed a loss of interest in her cause on the part of the Admiralty, she became even more insistent in order to revive search efforts.

The press portrayed Jane Franklin as a woman of great dedication, and this image gained her the sympathy and support of the public. She displayed such dedication that the Quebec Mercury stated that it would be no surprise if she put her own life on the line on the snowbound shores of the Arctic Ocean to try to save her husband:

“… after which we shall not be astonished if this noble woman should cross the snowy regions of the North, […] and on the shores of the Arctic sea, peril her life in searching to rescue him [...]” (Quebec Mercury, January 19, 1850).

Her cause touched the public, for when she called for a day of prayer in honour of her husband, over 60 churches took part.

When government funding for the expeditions ran out, Jane Franklin found new backers like American businessman Henry Grinnell to finance sever al expeditions [link to the story on American Expeditions]. She also managed to convince powerful leaders such as US President Zachary Taylor and the Tsar of Russia to contribute to the search for her husband. In addition, Lady Franklin, supported by the public, pressured the Admiralty to intensify the search. Consequently, in 1849 this organization raised the amount of their initial reward, offering £20,000 to anyone discovering and coming to the aid of Sir John Franklin’s expedition.

Lady Franklin also contributed to the search for her husband by financing and organizing seven expeditions in the course of her life. Such expeditions were very expensive, but she declared that she would exhaust her entire fortune should that prove necessary. This determination led to serious rifts within the family and poisoned her relationship with Franklin’s daughter, Eleanor, and the latter’s husband, while her own father disinherited her in 1851. She was highly popular, however, and a number of people joined her expeditions voluntarily, while others underwrote her cause with financial contributions.

In 1854, nine years after her husband’s departure, Lady Franklin wrote to the Admiralty criticizing their decision to stop sending expeditions. In her letter, she described the decision as sounding the death knell and telling the public that these unhappy men were being abandoned to their fate: “Yet does it sound on the public ear, and more deeply in the ear of many heart-anxious listeners, as the knell of departed hopes, the warning voice that tells us we are to prepare for the abandonment of those unhappy men to their fate.” (letter to the Lords of the Admiralty, February 24, 1854).

A few months later in the fall, when Captain Rae [link], in the employ of the Hudson’s Bay Company, reported that some of Sir John Franklin’s crew had perished and that some survivors had resorted to cannibalism, Lady Franklin defended her husband’s honour, appealing to Charles Dickens. Dickens wrote a text published in his weekly Household Words in December explaining that this report could not be trusted and discrediting Rae.

When her husband’s death was confirmed, she spared no efforts in demonstrating to the Admiralty that Franklin had certainly found one possible passage through the Northwest, and she succeeded in proving it in 1859 thanks to the McClintock [link] expedition, which she had sponsored. Lastly, anxious to gain recognition for her husband’s achievements, she financed two identical memorials to Franklin and his men, one erected at Waterloo in London in 1866, and the other in Hobart, Tasmania. She also pushed for a bust of Sir John Franklin to be displayed in Westminster Abbey. In these ways, Lady Franklin promoted the story of Sir John Franklin in the public eye and defended his merits until the time of her own death on July 18, 1875.

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Histoires du Passage du Nord-Ouest

Les personnages principales du passé

Lady Franklin, une femme dévouée à son mari

Lady Franklin Lady Jane Franklin

Née le 4 décembre 1791, Jane Griffin est une femme très éduquée et tenace qui devient la deuxième épouse de John Franklin en 1828. Elle prend le titre de lady Franklin lorsque son mari est anobli un an plus tard. Durant les premières années qui suivent son mariage, elle voyage énormément dans la région méditerranéenne. Puis, lorsque son mari est posté à Van Diemen’s land (aujourd’hui la Tasmanie), elle l’accompagne et développe un vif intérêt pour la vie professionnelle de celui-ci. Lorsque sir John Franklin est âgé de 58 ans, il décroche le poste de capitaine de l’expédition des bateaux HMS Erebus et HMS Terror. Ces bateaux, sous les ordres de l’amirauté, quittent en mai 1845 avec l’intention de trouver le passage du nord-ouest.

Trois ans après le départ de son mari, lady Franklin, inquiète, offre une récompense à quiconque voyagera au-delà de sa destination initiale afin de trouver des informations le concernant. Ceci marque le début des efforts infatigables de lady Franklin qui s’investit toute entière dans la recherche de sir John Franklin. Parce qu’elle est une femme et qu’elle ne peut se joindre à une expédition afin de retrouver son mari, elle doit donc se résoudre à utiliser des moyens de pression convenables aux femmes de son époque. Ainsi, elle commence à écrire de nombreux articles publiés dans la presse afin de sensibiliser la population au destin incertain de l’expédition de John Franklin. Ces écrits permettent de mettre sa cause au centre de l’attention médiatique de l’époque et d’assurer une grande mobilisation des ressources afin de le retrouver. Puis, lorsqu’elle remarque une baisse d’intérêt de l’amirauté pour cette cause, elle insiste davantage afin de raviver l’ardeur des recherches.

La presse décrit Jane Franklin comme une femme pleine de dévouement et cette image lui attire la sympathie et le soutien du public. Celle-ci semble si dévouée que Le Quebec Mercury affirme qu’il ne serait pas surprenant qu’elle traverse les régions enneigées du nord et qu’elle mette sa vie en péril, sur les côtes de l’océan Arctique, afin de tenter de sauver son mari.

« After which we shall not be astonished if this noble woman should cross the snowy regions of the North, […] and on the shores of the Arctic sea, peril her life in searching to rescue him [...]. »

Après quoi, nous ne serons pas étonnés si cette noble femme doit traverser des régions enneigées du Nord, [...] et sur ​​les rives de la mer dans l'Arctique, le péril de sa vie dans la recherche pour le sauver [...].

Quebec Mercury (19 janvier 1850). Sa cause touche la population, car lorsqu’elle proclame une journée de prière en l’honneur de son mari, plus d’une soixantaine d’églises participent à cet évènement.

Lorsque le gouvernement cesse son financement pour des expéditions, Jane Franklin trouve de nouveaux donateurs comme l’entrepreneur américain Henry Grinnell afin de financer plusieurs expéditions [link to the story on American Expeditions]. Aussi, elle réussit à convaincre de puissants dirigeants tels le président américain Zachary Taylor et le tsar russe de contribuer à la recherche de son mari. De plus, lady Franklin, soutenue par la population, fait pression auprès de l’amirauté afin que les recherches soient intensifiées. Par conséquent, vers 1849, cette organisation hausse sa récompense initiale afin d’offrir 20 000£ à quiconque découvre et porte secours à l’expédition de sir John Franklin.

Lady Franklin contribue également à la recherche de son mari en finançant et en organisant sept expéditions durant sa vie. De telles expéditions sont très dispendieuses, mais elle affirme qu’elle dépensera toute sa fortune pour le retrouver si cela s’avère nécessaire. Cette détermination engendre de graves conflits familiaux et envenime sa relation avec la fille de Franklin, Eleanor, et le mari de celle-ci tandis que son père la déshérite en 1851. Cependant, elle jouit d’une grande popularité et plusieurs personnes joignent volontairement ses expéditions alors que d’autres soutiennent sa cause en y contribuant monétairement.

En 1854, neuf ans après le départ de son mari, lady Franklin écrit à l’amirauté afin de critiquer la décision de cette organisation de cesser d’envoyer des expéditions. Elle affirme dans sa lettre que cette décision résonne comme le son du glas dans l’oreille du public qui annonce l’abandon de malheureux hommes à leur sort. « Yet does it sound on the public ear, and more deeply in the ear of many heart-anxious listeners, as the knell of departed hopes, the warning voice that tells us we are to prepare for the abandonment of those unhappy men to their fate. » (lettre aux Lords de l’Amirauté, 24 février 1854).

Quelques mois plus tard, en automne, lorsque le capitaine Rae [link], employé par la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, révèle qu’une partie de l’équipage de sir John Franklin a péri et que certains survivants ont eu recours au cannibalisme, lady Franklin défend l’honneur de son mari en faisait appel à Charles Dickens. Ce dernier écrit un texte publié dans son journal Household Words en décembre qui explique que cette déclaration ne peut être vraie et discrédite Rae.

Quand la mort de son mari lui est confirmée, elle s’acharne à démontrer à l’amirauté que Franklin avait certainement trouvé un des passages possibles vers le nord-ouest ce qu’elle réussit à prouver en 1859 grâce à l’expédition de McClintock [link] qu’elle a commanditée. Finalement, voulant que les exploits de son mari soient reconnus, elle finance alors deux monuments commémoratifs identiques en l’honneur de Franklin et de ses hommes, l’un érigé sur la place Waterloo à Londres en 1866, et l’autre à Hobarth en Tasmanie. De plus, elle fait donc pression pour qu’un buste de sir John Franklin soit exposé dans l’abbaye de Westminster. Ainsi, lady Franklin a propagé l’histoire de John Franklin auprès du public et a défendu les mérites de ce dernier jusqu’au moment de sa mort le 18 juillet 1875.