The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Stories of the Northwest Passage

Key Characters of the Past

Who was Sir John Franklin?

Photo of Sir John Franklin Library and Archives Canada/R9266-3037 Peter Winkworth Collection of Canadiana

John Franklin was born in 1786 in Spilsby, England to a middle-class merchant family. As a schoolboy, Franklin dreamt of a career at sea. Despite the opposition of his father, who had hoped Franklin would become a clergyman, he joined the Royal Navy at age 14. In April 1801, he secured an appointment under Captain Matthew Flinders sent to explore the largely uncharted coast of Australia.

Franklin returned to Britain in 1804 to fight against Napoleonic France. He participated in the Battle of Trafalgar and was wounded during the Battle of New Orleans, one of the last battles the War of 1812. When peace arrived, Franklin was discharged and like many former soldiers and sailors, he found himself on half pay and without work.

In 1818, the Royal Navy revived its search for a Northwest Passage and Franklin was appointed captain of the Trent, a small whaling vessel. The expedition, under Commander David Buchan, planned to cross the Arctic from Spitsbergen, north of Norway, to the Bering Strait.At this time, it was believed that the North Pole was surrounded by open water, known as the Polar Sea and the expedition could simply sail straight north. This first mission failed when the ships encountered impenetrable pack ice and were forced to turn back.

The following year, Franklin was put in command of an overland expedition charged with the task of charting a large section of the northern coast of Canada's mainland as part of finding the most direct route for a Northwest Passage. He led a mixed group of twenty men including four Royal Navy officers, one of whom was George Back), Aboriginal guides and fur trade voyageurs from both the Hudson's Bay and North West companies. This expedition ran into serious difficulties caused in part by the competing fur trade companies, which had both promised to provide food and skilled guides but failed to do so.

After a difficult winter spent at Fort Enterprise, the expedition made its way north. Progress was slow and the men were forced to turn back after surveying only a short piece of the Arctic coast. On the return journey, the expedition split into smaller groups, each one struggling south. Franklin's group reached Fort Enterprise first and were reduced to eating deer skins, bones, lichen and boiled boot leather before George Back and a party of Dene finally arrived with food. In total, eleven men from the expedition died from starvation, exposure and in-fighting.

While the expedition itself was a disaster, it brought Franklin into the spotlight. Back in London, he was acclaimed as a hero and became known as "the man who ate his boots." He also received an admiralty promotion to post-captain. During his time at home, he married his first wife, Eleanor Anne Porden, who soon after gave birth to their daughter Eleanor Isabella.

In 1823, the Royal Navy accepted a new proposal from Franklin to explore more of the Arctic coast. Learning from the mistakes of his last expedition, Franklin developed a new strategy to focus on self sufficiency. He made preparations well in advance and sent supplies ahead to Hudson's Bay posts along the route.

Franklin left Great Britain in February 1825 and his expedition travelled across North America and down the Mackenzie River to reach the Arctic Ocean. They returned south to spend the winter of 1825-26 at Fort Franklin constructed on the shore of Great Bear Lake. Greatly helped by the Dene, hunting and fishing augmented their supplies.

In the summer of 1826, the expedition travelled down the Mackenzie once more and split into two parties to map the north shore of the continent, charting nearly 2,000 kilometres of coastline. Passing through Upper Canada on his journey back to England, Franklin stopped at a small lumber community called Bytown, which later became Ottawa, Canada's capital. While there, he laid the cornerstone for one of the locks of the Rideau Canal.

Franklin returned home in September 1827 only to find that Eleanor, his wife, had died a week after he sailed in 1825. In November 1828, he married Jane Griffin, a friend of his late wife. He received a knighthood from King George IV a year later. Although Franklin anticipated being appointed to further Arctic expeditions, this did not materialize. Instead, the Admiralty sent him to the Mediterranean where he served from 1830-33 during the Greek war of independence. In 1836, he accepted an offer to serve as Lieutenant Governor of Van Diemen's Land (Tasmania).

Franklin was recalled in 1843, and the Admiralty informed him of its plan to renew the search for the Northwest Passage. He was made commander of an expedition with Captain Francis Crozier as his second in command. Franklin began his final voyage on 19 May 1845 as HMS Erebus and HMS Terror departed from England. The last Europeans to see Franklin and his men alive were whalers in Baffin Bay.

We know from a note left by Francis Crozier that Sir John Franklin died on 11 June 1847 and was buried on King William Island. The location of his grave and those of the wrecks of Erebus and Terror , the two ships he lead to the Arctic, are still unknown.

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Histoires du Passage du Nord-Ouest

Les personnages principales du passé

Qui était sir John Franklin?

Photo de Sir John Franklin Bibilothèque et Archives Canada/ R9266-3037 Collection de Canadiana Peter Winkworth
© Parks Canada

Né en 1876 à Spilsby en Angleterre, John Franklin est issu d’une famille de marchands de la classe moyenne. Alors qu’il n’est qu’un écolier, Franklin rêve déjà d’une carrière en mer. Il s’engage dans la Marine royale à l’âge de 14 ans, malgré l’opposition de son père, qui voudrait voir son fils embrasser une carrière ecclésiastique. En avril 1801, il obtient une affectation sous le commandement du capitaine Matthew Flinders : aller explorer le littoral de l’Australie pour en dresser la carte marine, encore fort incomplète.

En 1804, Franklin retourne en Bretagne pour combattre la France napoléonienne. Il prend part à la bataille de Trafalgar et est blessé lors de la bataille de la Nouvelle-Orléans, l’une des dernières batailles de la guerre de 1812. Avec l’arrivée de la paix, Franklin est délié de ses obligations et, comme un grand nombre d’anciens soldats et marins, il est mis à la demi-solde et se retrouve sans travail.

En 1818, la Marine royale reprend sa recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest et Franklin est nommé capitaine du Trent, une petite baleinière. L’expédition, sous la gouverne du commandant David Buchan, compte traverser l’Arctique à partir de Spitsberg, au nord de la Norvège, jusqu’au détroit de Béring. À cette époque, on croit que le pôle Nord est entouré d’une mer libre, connue sous le nom de mer polaire et que l’expédition pourra donc simplement naviguer vers le Nord. La première mission échoue : les bateaux tentent en vain de pénétrer la banquise et doivent rebrousser chemin.

L’année suivante, Franklin se retrouve aux commandes d’une expédition terrestre avec la tâche de cartographier une grande partie de la côte nord du Canada terrestre dans le but de trouver la voie la plus directe vers le nord-ouest. Il guide un groupe mixte de vingt hommes, notamment quatre officiers de la Marine royale, dont l’un est George Back, des guides autochtones et des commerçants de fourrures de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest. L’expédition fait face à de sérieux obstacles causés en partie par les deux compagnies de traite des fourrures compétitrices, qui faillissent à leur promesse de fournir de la nourriture et des guides expérimentés.

Après un dur hiver au fort Entreprise, l’expédition se dirige vers le nord. Les progrès se font lents; les hommes doivent rebrousser chemin après n’avoir exploré qu’une petite partie de la côte arctique. Sur le chemin du retour, l’équipage se divise en petits groupes qui, avec peine, se déplacent vers le sud. Le groupe de Franklin arrive en premier au fort Entreprise. Les hommes sont réduits à manger des peaux de chevreuil, des os, du lichen et du cuir de bottes bouilli jusqu’à l’arrivée de George Back et d’un groupe de Dénés qui apportent de la nourriture. Au total, onze hommes de l’expédition meurent de faim, de froid ou des suites de batailles internes.

Bien que l’expédition s’avère désastreuse, Franklin se retrouve sous les feux de la rampe. De retour à Londres, il est reçu comme un héros et porte bientôt le nom de « l’homme qui a mangé ses bottes ». Il est aussi promu capitaine de vaisseau par l’amirauté. Lors de son séjour à domicile, il épouse Eleanor Anne Porden, sa première femme, qui, peu de temps après, donne naissance à leur fille Eleanor Isabella.

En 1823, la Marine royale accepte un nouveau projet de Franklin qui consiste à explorer davantage la côte arctique. Fort de ses erreurs passées, Franklin élabore une nouvelle stratégie qui vise l’autosuffisance. Il termine ses préparatifs bien en avance et envoie des provisions aux postes de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson qui se trouvent le long du trajet de l’expédition.

En février 1825, Franklin quitte la Grande-Bretagne et son expédition traverse l’Amérique du Nord et descend le fleuve Mackenzie pour atteindre l’océan Arctique. Il revient vers le sud, au fort Franklin, construit sur la rive du Grand lac de l’Ours, pour y passer l’hiver de 1825 et 1826. Avec l’aide des Dénés, les hommes chassent et pêchent pour augmenter leurs stocks de provisions.

À l’été 1826, l’expédition descend à nouveau le fleuve Mackenzie et se sépare en deux groupes afin de cartographier la rive nord du continent. Ils cartographient quelque 2 000 kilomètres de ligne de côte. Sur le chemin du retour vers l’Angleterre, Franklin passe par le Haut-Canada et s’arrête à Bytown, une petite communauté forestière qui deviendra Ottawa, la capitale du Canada. Pendant son séjour, il pose la pierre angulaire de l’une des écluses du canal Rideau.

De retour en Angleterre, en septembre 1827, Franklin apprend que sa femme Eleanor est décédée une semaine après son départ en 1825. En novembre 1828, il épouse Jane Griffin, une amie de sa défunte épouse. Un an plus tard, le roi George IV le fait chevalier. Franklin s’attend à participer à d’autres expéditions dans l’Arctique, mais ce désir ne se matérialisera pas. Plutôt, de 1830 à 1836, l’Amirauté l’affecte en Méditerranée dans le cadre de la guerre d’indépendance de la Grèce. En 1836, il accepte de servir à titre de lieutenant-gouverneur de la terre de Van Diemen, en Tasmanie.

En 1843, Franklin est destitué et l’Amirauté l’informe de ses projets de chercher à nouveau le passage du Nord-Ouest. Il est nommé commandant d’une expédition, et le capitaine Francis Crozier agit à titre de commandant adjoint. Le 19 mai 1845, Franklin quitte l’Angleterre avec le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror et entame son dernier voyage. Des baleiniers furent les derniers Européens à voir Franklin et ses hommes en vie, dans la baie de Baffin.

Une note laissée par Francis Crozier indique que sir John Franklin est décédé le 11 juin 1847 et a été enterré sur l’île du Roi-Guillaume. L’emplacement de sa tombe, ainsi que celui des épaves du Erebus et du Terror, les deux navires qu’il dirigeait vers l’Arctique, est toujours inconnu.