The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Searching for the Shipwrecks

What the Ice Can Tell Us (CIS)

Data from the Canadian Ice Service: Parks Canada underwater archaeologist working collaboratively with CIS to determine what their research can tell us.

By Tom Zagon, Canadian Ice Service

Canadian Ice Service Logo Canadian Ice Service

Modern icebreakers rely heavily on information obtained from remote sensing satellites for planning routes through the ice and making navigational decisions. The ice charts produced by the Canadian Ice Service are crucial for navigation in ice covered waters and up-to-date ice information is regularly delivered to the bridges of icebreakers in near-real time through satellite communications. It is daunting to think that vessels like HMS Erebus and HMS Terror had none of the benefits provided by today's satellite technology that are often taken for granted.

While the satellite imagery collected over the Canadian Arctic over last few decades has certainly had an operational benefit, it has also created a valuable archive that can be used to analyze the historical ice conditions over any given region. Ice conditions do vary from year to year, but this variability manifests itself within a well defined range and many ice features reoccur in the same location on an annual basis. Sea ice is dynamic, but numerous studies have shown that it does not behave in a random fashion.

A detailed examination of historical satellite imagery is being used to support the current search effort for HMS Erebus and HMS Terror. The imagery can be used to provide a more complete understanding of the ice environment in the region where the vessels ran into trouble. For example, by examining the ice conditions in the early autumn of different years, it is possible to identify the most likely scenario that led to the vessels becoming beset in 1846. More importantly, the imagery makes it is possible to ascertain the general drift patterns that occur in the region and identify crucial aspects of the progression of winter freeze-up and spring break-up. This can help determine the direction the ships might have drifted after they were abandoned in April 1848 off the northwest shore of King William Island.

Most of what is known about the subsequent sinking of the vessels is derived from historical evidence. Unfortunately some of that evidence is unclear and at times even contradictory. It is hoped that the use of historical satellite imagery will be able to resolve some of this uncertainty by assigning probabilities to the different scenarios and locations under consideration. When used in conjunction with archaeological evidence and invaluable Inuit oral history testimony, the satellite imagery of ice patterns becomes an important addition to help solve the Franklin puzzle.

These two images show the break-up and clearing in eastern Queen Maud Gulf in July of 2010. The area of fast ice, shown on the image from July 14, has fractured by July 18.
Satellite sensor: MODIS
Source: NASA

Satellite Photo of O'Reilly Island July 14 July 14, 2010, O'Reilly Island

Satellite Photo of O'Reilly Island July 18 July 18, 2010, O'Reilly Island

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

A la recherche des épaves

Qu'est-ce que la glace Dites-nous (SCG)

Données du Service canadien des glaces : des archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada travaillent en collaboration avec le SCG pour déterminer ce que leurs recherches peuvent nous apprendre.

Par Tom Zagon, Service canadien des glaces

Logo de la Service canadien des glaces Service canadien des glaces

Les brise-glaces modernes se fient grandement à l'information que transmettent les satellites de télédétection pour planifier leur route dans la glace et prendre des décisions relatives à la navigation. Les cartes des glaces que produit le SCG sont essentielles à la navigation dans les eaux couvertes de glaces, et de l'information à jour concernant l'état des glaces est régulièrement envoyée jusqu'à la passerelle des brise-glaces en temps quasi réel grâce à la communication par satellite. Il est déconcertant de penser que des navires comme le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror ne pouvaient pas profiter des avantages que fournit aujourd'hui la technologie par satellite et qui sont souvent tenus pour acquis.

Les images satellites de l'Arctique canadien récoltées au cours des quelques dernières décennies ne se sont pas avérées qu'avantageuses sur le plan opérationnel; elles ont aussi permis la création de précieuses archives qui servent aujourd'hui à analyser l'historique de l'état des glaces dans une région donnée. L'état des glaces varie d'année en année, mais cette variabilité se manifeste à l'intérieur d'un territoire bien défini, et il arrive souvent que, dans un endroit donné, les glaces suivent le même parcours chaque année. Les glaces marines sont dynamiques, mais de nombreuses études ont montré que leur mouvement n'est pas aléatoire.

Un examen détaillé des images satellites recueillies au fil des ans appuie actuellement les efforts de recherche des HMS Erebus et Terror. Ces images favorisent la compréhension des conditions qui prévalent dans la région où les navires se sont heurtés à des difficultés. Par exemple, en examinant chaque année l'état des glaces au début de l'automne, il est possible de déterminer comment les navires s'en sont retrouvés prisonniers en 1846. Plus important encore, les images satellites permettent d'établir les parcours de dérive généraux de la région et d'en cerner les principaux aspects, du gel des glaces en hiver jusqu'à la débâcle du printemps. Cela contribue à déterminer la direction qu'auraient prise les navires après avoir été abandonnés, en avril 1848, près de la rive nord-ouest de l'île du Roi-Guillaume.

La majeure partie de ce que l'on sait sur l'engloutissement subséquent des navires provient de preuves historiques. Malheureusement, certaines de ces preuves ne sont pas claires et sont parfois même contradictoires. Nous espérons que l'utilisation de l'imagerie satellitaire nous permettra d'associer des probabilités aux différents scénarios et endroits à l'étude et de lever ainsi une partie de l'incertitude. Utilisée conjointement avec les preuves archéologiques et l'inestimable histoire orale des Inuits, l'imagerie satellitaire du parcours des glaces devient un atout important dans la reconstitution de l'histoire de Franklin.

Ces deux images montrent la débâcle et le dégagement enregistrés dans l'est de la baie de la Reine-Maud en juillet 2010. La zone de glace fixée, qui apparaît sur l'image du 14 juillet, s'est fracturée le 18 juillet.
Capteur satellitaire : MODIS
Source : NASA

Photo de l'Île O’Reilly, 14 juillet 2010 14 juilliet 2010, Île O’Reilly

Photo de l'Île O’Reilly, 18 juillet 2010 18 juilliet 2010, Île O’Reilly