The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

2013 Search Expedition for Franklin’s Ships, HMS Erebus And HMS Terror

The Government of Canada is pleased to again embark on an Arctic expedition of international significance to search for the lost vessels HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, from the ill-fated Sir John Franklin voyage. The 2013 expedition is a continuation of Parks Canada's Underwater Archaeology Service (UAS) surveys conducted in 2008, 2010, 2011, and 2012.

For the fifth field season Parks Canada's Underwater Archaeology Service will participate with existing partners; Arctic Research Foundation, Government of Nunavut, Canadian Coast Guard (DFO), Canadian Hydrographic Service (DFO), Canadian Ice Service (EC) and Canadian Space Agency (CSA). As with past years, this work will be conducted with the support of the Gjoa Haven Community and the Inuit Heritage Trust, as well as the Government of Great Britain. This season, the Canadian-led research team, will again bring a multi-disciplinary approach that will share resources and data, contributing to the safe navigation and environmental knowledge of the Canadian Arctic

This year, Parks Canada is pleased to have garnered the support of new partners, Defence Research & Development Canada (DRDC) and the Royal Canadian Navy (RCN). Personnel from the RCN and DRDC will provide technical assistance with some of Parks Canada's newly acquired remote-sensing technologies, during the five and a half week survey aboard the Research Vessel Martin Bergmann. DRDC has also provided Parks Canada with an additional military-grade, side-scan sonar system that will allow significantly more area to be covered on any given survey day.

The search for HMS Erebus and HMS Terror is anticipated to take place from August 10 – September 19.. Weather and ice conditions permitting, the search areas will again include both the southern search area near O'Reilly Island, west of the Adelaide peninsula and where Inuit oral tradition places one of the shipwrecks, and further north to Victoria Strait and Alexandra Strait, where the other vessel is believed to be located.

The Arctic Research Foundation's Martin Bergmann is expected to deploy on August 10, 2013 from Cambridge Bay, Nunavut, and begin surveying in the southern search area. The Canadian Coast Guard Ship Sir Wilfrid Laurier, will provide surveying support to the archaeologists for seven days, from August 22- 28, rendezvousing with the Martin Bergmann in the northern search area.

Canadian Coast Guard Icebreaker Sir Wilfrid Laurier Canadian Coast Guard Icebreaker Sir Wilfrid Laurier.
© Parks Canada.
Research Vessel Martin Bergmann Research Vessel Martin Bergmann.
© Arctic Research Foundation

Survey technology for this year will include towed side-scan sonar, equipped with single-beam echo-sounder for the collection of bathymetry, from the Martin Bergmann. In addition, Parks Canada's UAS has acquired a new Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV), equipped with high-resolution side-scan sonar and a new remotely-operated vehicle (ROV), equipped with high-definition video camera and sector-scanning sonar system, which will play a critical role in authenticating any seafloor anomalies, such as a shipwreck or its detached debris. The DRDC additional side-scan sonar system will be towed behind the UAS Research Vessel Investigator, which will be deployed from the Sir Wilfrid Laurier during the 7-day survey targeting Victoria Strait.

As part of this collaborative effort, in 2012 the Government of Canada and the Government of Nunavut signed a Memorandum of Understanding establishing a framework for the ongoing cooperation and coordination for the research, search and preservation activities regarding HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, along with associated submerged archaeological resources. The Government of Nunavut is the permitting authority for all archaeology research conducted in Nunavut, and will again participate in the Franklin survey conducting a land-based archaeological search. The terrestrial archaeology team will accompany the expedition aboard the Sir Wilfrid Laurier and focus their land survey in the Erebus Bay region.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed in August 1997 between Great Britain, as owner of the vessels, and Canada, as the nation in whose water they were lost. If found, the MOU assigns control over site investigation, excavation or recovery of either wrecks or their contents to Canada. Mandated to protect and present subjects of national significance, Parks Canada is the responsible federal agency for the search and subsequent preservation of the vessels.

Sir John Franklin's two lost ships, HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, are designated together as a national historic site of Canada – the only such 'undiscovered' national historic site – due to the importance of Franklin's voyage and his ships to the history of Arctic navigation and exploration. The discovery of either or both wrecks, or their contents, will offer unprecedented information on the search for the Northwest Passage, the exploration of Canada's North, early Inuit-European contact and the fate of Sir John Franklin. HMS Erebus, HMS Terror and their crew are also a testament to the history shared between Canada and Great Britain.

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Expédition de recherche de 2013 pour trouver les navires de Franklin, le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror

Le gouvernement du Canada est heureux d'entreprendre une nouvelle expédition d'envergure internationale dans l'Arctique à la recherche des épaves des navires du voyage de l'infortuné Sir John Franklin, le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror. L'expédition de 2013 permettra de poursuivre les levés effectués par le Service d'archéologie subaquatique (SAS) de Parcs Canada en 2008, 2010, 2011 et 2012.

À l'occasion de cette cinquième expédition sur le terrain, le SAS travaillera avec ses partenaires existants : l'Arctic Research Foundation, le gouvernement du Nunavut, la Garde côtière canadienne (ministère des Pêches et des Océans), le Service hydrographique du Canada (ministère des Pêches et des Océans), le Service canadien des glaces (Environnement Canada) et l'Agence spatiale canadienne. Comme pour les années précédentes, les travaux seront réalisés avec le soutien de la collectivité de Gjoa Haven, de la Fiducie du patrimoine inuit et du gouvernement de la Grande-Bretagne. Cette saison, l'équipe de recherche dirigée par le Canada utilisera à nouveau une approche multidisciplinaire qui permettra de mettre en commun les ressources et les données, contribuant ainsi à la sûreté de la navigation dans l'Arctique et à la connaissance de l'environnement dans l'Arctique canadien.

Cette année, Parcs Canada pourra compter sur deux nouveaux partenaires : Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC) et la Marine royale canadienne (MRC). Le personnel de RDDC et de la MRC fournira un soutien technique à l'égard des technologies de télédétection nouvellement acquises par Parcs Canada au cours des cinq semaines et demie que dureront les travaux de levés qui seront menés à bord du navire de recherche Martin Bergmann. RDDC a également fourni à Parcs Canada un système sonar à balayage latéral supplémentaire de calibre militaire qui permettra de couvrir beaucoup plus de terrain chaque jour de la période de levés.

Les recherches en vue de trouver le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror devraient se dérouler du 10 août au 19 septembre. Si les conditions météorologiques et l'état des glaces le permettent, les travaux seront de nouveau concentrés à la fois dans la zone de recherche sud près de l'île O'Reilly, à l'ouest de la péninsule Adelaide, où se trouverait l'une des épaves selon la tradition orale inuite, et plus au nord jusqu'aux détroits de Victoria et d'Alexandra, où l'on croit que se trouverait l'autre navire.

Le navire de recherche Martin Bergmann de l'Arctic Research Foundation devrait quitter Cambridge Bay, au Nunavut, le 10 août 2013 et commencer à fouiller la zone de recherche sud. Le navire de la Garde côtière canadienne Sir Wilfrid Laurier aidera les archéologues à effectuer les travaux de levés pendant sept jours, soit du 22 au 28 août, et ira à la rencontre du Martin Bergmann dans la zone de recherche nord.

Le brise-glace de la Garde côtière Sir Wilfrid Laurier Le brise-glace de la Garde côtière Sir Wilfrid Laurier.
© Parcs Canada.
Le navire de recherche Martin Bergmann Le navire de recherche Martin Bergmann.
© Arctic Research Foundation

Le matériel de levés pour cette année comprendra un sonar remorqué à balayage latéral muni d'un échosondeur à faisceau unique pour la collecte de données bathymétriques à partir du Martin Bergmann. En outre, le SAS de Parcs Canada a fait l'acquisition d'un nouveau véhicule sous-marin autonome doté d'un sonar à balayage latéral haute résolution et d'un nouveau véhicule téléguidé équipé d'une caméra à haute définition ainsi que d'un système sonar à balayage sectoriel qui seront très utiles pour authentifier toute anomalie des fonds marins, comme une épave ou des débris qui s'en seraient détachés. Le sonar à balayage latéral supplémentaire de RDDC sera remorqué derrière le navire de recherche Investigator du SAS, qui sera déployé à partir du Sir Wilfrid Laurier au cours de la période de sept jours consacrée aux levés dans le détroit de Victoria.

En 2012, dans le cadre de ce projet collectif, le gouvernement du Canada et celui du Nunavut ont signé un protocole d'entente pour définir un cadre permanent de coopération et de coordination des travaux de recherche et de préservation des navires HMS Erebus et HMS Terror, ainsi que les ressources archéologiques submergées connexes. Le gouvernement du Nunavut est l'autorité compétente pour tous les travaux archéologiques menés au Nunavut, et il participera de nouveau aux levés relatifs à l'expédition Franklin en effectuant des recherches archéologiques à terre. L'équipe d'archéologues terrestres accompagnera l'expédition à bord du Sir Wilfrid Laurier et concentrera ses levés terrestres sur la région de la baie Erebus.

En août 1997, un protocole d'entente a été signé entre la Grande-Bretagne, propriétaire des navires, et le Canada, nation dans les eaux de laquelle les navires ont été perdus. En vertu de ce protocole, si l'on vient à découvrir l'emplacement des navires, c'est au Canada qu'il reviendra de contrôler les fouilles sur le terrain, l'excavation ou la récupération des deux épaves ou de leur contenu. Parcs Canada, dont le mandat est de protéger et de mettre en valeur des objets d'importance nationale, est l'organisme fédéral responsable désigné pour la recherche et la conservation subséquente des navires.

Les deux navires perdus de sir John Franklin, le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror, ont été désignés lieu historique national du Canada – le seul lieu historique national « non découvert » – en raison de l'importance de l'expédition de Franklin et de ses navires dans l'histoire de la navigation et de l'exploration de l'Arctique. La découverte de l'une de ces épaves, des deux épaves ou de leur contenu fournirait des renseignements sans précédent sur la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest, sur l'exploration du Nord canadien, sur les premiers contacts entre Inuits et Européens, et sur le sort de Sir John Franklin. Le HMS Erebus, le HMS Terror et leurs équipages sont également des témoins de l'histoire commune du Canada et de la Grande-Bretagne.