The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Updates

August 21, 2013 - Prime Minister Stephen Harper and Minister Leona Aglukkaq meet with members of the Parks Canada's Franklin expedition team.

The 2013 Parks Canada Franklin Expedition team was pleased to receive the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada, and the Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Minister of the Environment, Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency, and the Arctic Council, and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, aboard the Canadian Coast Guard Ship Sir Wilfrid Laurier on Wednesday, August 21, 2013.

Ryan Harris, Parks Canada’s Senior Underwater Archaeologist and Project Director for the Franklin Search, along with Captain Stuart Aldridge, Commanding Officer of the Sir Wilfrid Laurier, and Dr. Doug Stenton, Director of the Heritage Division for Nunavut’s Department of Culture and Heritage, had the opportunity to provide a briefing on the particulars of the search efforts for Franklin’s lost vessels, HMS Erebus and HMS Terror. The briefing was followed by a tour of the ship and a photo opportunity on the flight deck with all the Sir Wilfrid Laurier’s company assembled.

Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Royal Canadian Geographical Society CEO John Geiger and Parks Canada's Ryan Harris discuss the search for the wrecks of the Franklin expedition. The meeting was held onboard the Sir Wilfrid Laurier coast guard ship, August 21, 2013. PMO Photo by Jason Ransom Prime Minister Stephen Harper, Royal Canadian Geographical Society CEO John Geiger and Parks Canada's Ryan Harris discuss the search for the wrecks of the Franklin expedition. The meeting was held onboard the Sir Wilfrid Laurier coast guard ship, August 21, 2013. PMO Photo by Jason Ransom
© Parks Canada

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Mises à jour

Le 21 août, 2013 - Le premier ministre Stephen Harper et la ministre Leona Aglukkaq rencontrent les membres de l'expédition de recherche des navires de Franklin de Parcs Canada.

L’équipe de l’expédition de recherche des navires de Franklin 2013 de Parcs Canada a eu le plaisir d’accueillir le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada, et l’honorable Leona Aglukkaq, ministre de l’Environnement, de l’ Agence canadienne de développement économique du Nord et du Conseil de l’Arctique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada à bord du navire de la Garde côtière canadienne, le Sir Wilfrid Laurier, le mercredi 21 août 2013.

Ryan Harris, archéologue subaquatique principal de Parcs Canada et chef du projet de recherche des navires de Franklin, ainsi que le capitaine Stuart Aldridge, commandant du Sir Wilfrid Laurier, et M. Doug Stenton, directeur de la Division du patrimoine du ministère de la Culture et du Patrimoine du Nunavut, ont eu l’occasion de donner des précisions sur les particularités des recherches des navires perdus de Franklin les HMS Erebus et HMS Terror.Cet exposé a été suivi d’une visite du navire et d’une séance de photo sur le pont d’envol en compagnie de tout l’équipage du Sir Wilfrid Laurier.

Le premier ministre Stephen Harper, le président de la Société géographique royale du Canada John Geiger et Ryan Harris de Parcs Canada discutent de la recherche des épaves des navires de l’expédition de Franklin. Cette rencontre a eu lieu à bord du navire de la garde côtière, le Sir Wilfrid Laurier, le 21 août 2013. Photo pour le CPM par Jason Ransom Le premier ministre Stephen Harper, le président de la Société géographique royale du Canada John Geiger et Ryan Harris de Parcs Canada discutent de la recherche des épaves des navires de l’expédition de Franklin. Cette rencontre a eu lieu à bord du navire de la garde côtière, le Sir Wilfrid Laurier, le 21 août 2013. Photo pour le CPM par Jason Ransom
© Parcs Canada