The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Multimedia - Maps

Search Area for HMS Erebus and HMS Terror

The search for HMS Erebus and HMS Terror has been compared to searching for a needle in a haystack -- Or two needles, in this case. Each ship was just over 30 metres (100 feet) long, about the length of two school buses laid end to end. But, how big is the haystack?

One end of a very large area in which the vessels could be found is marked by the location at which the ships were abandoned on 22 April, 1848, after they had been frozen in ice for 19 months. This spot was off the northwestern tip of King William Island. From that point the icepack drifts slowly south, so this is likely the northernmost point at which the ships could be found. Indeed, there is nineteenth-century Inuit oral history testimony that one of the ships was wrecked off the west side of King William Island.

Inuit oral history testimony also described one of the ships having been frozen into the ice off the west side of the Adelaide Peninsula, in the vicinity of O'Reilly Island and Grant Point. This evidence suggests the southern limit of where the ships could be, and O'Reilly Island was the core search area for Parks Canada and its partners in 2008 and 2010.

All together, the area from the King William Island point of abandonment to O'Reilly Island is about the same size as Prince Edward Island, Canada's smallest province.

HMS Erebus and HMS Terror Search Area Search Area for HMS Erebus and HMS Terror
© Parks Canada

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Multimédia - Cartes

L'aire de recherche du HMS Erebus and HMS Terror

Certains prétendent que la quête des HMS Erebus et Terror équivaut à chercher une aiguille dans une botte de foin, ou plutôt deux aiguilles. Chacun des navires mesurait un peu plus de 30 mètres (100 pieds), soit environ la longueur de deux autobus scolaires placés bout à bout. Mais quelle est la taille de la botte de foin?

L’une des extrémités du très grand périmètre à l’intérieur duquel pourraient se trouver les navires est marquée par l’endroit où les navires ont été abandonnés le 22 avril 1848, après être restés pris dans les glaces pendant 19 mois. Cet emplacement se situe près de la pointe nord-ouest de l’île du Roi-Guillaume. Étant donné qu’à cet endroit, les glaces dérivent lentement vers le sud, il s’agit probablement du point le plus au nord où peuvent avoir sombré les navires. D’ailleurs, il existe, dans l’histoire orale inuite, un témoignage datant du XIXe siècle selon lequel l’un des navires a fait naufrage près de la rive ouest de l’île du Roi-Guillaume.

Toujours selon l’histoire orale inuite, l’un des navires serait resté prisonnier des glaces près de la rive ouest de la presqu’île Adelaide, à proximité de l’île O'Reilly et de Grant Point. Ce témoignage trace la limite sud de l’endroit où pourraient se trouver les épaves. Parcs Canada et ses partenaires ont concentré leurs recherches dans le secteur de l’île O'Reilly en 2008 et en 2010.

La distance qui sépare les points à proximité de l’île du Roi-Guillaume et de l’île O'Reilly, où les navires pourraient avoir été abandonnés, correspond environ à la taille de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la plus petite province du Canada.

L'aire de recherche du HMS Erebus and HMS Terror L'aire de recherche du HMS Erebus and HMS Terror
© Parcs Canada