Common menu bar links

The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Introduction

Due to the importance of Sir John Franklin’s 1845 voyage to Canada’s history of Arctic navigation and exploration, the two lost ships, HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, are designated together as a national historic site of Canada – the only such “undiscovered” national historic site.

Locating these shipwrecks, or their contents, offers unprecedented information on the search for the Northwest Passage, the exploration of Canada’s North and the fate of Sir John Franklin. HMS Erebus, HMS Terror and their crew are also a testament to Canada and Great Britain’s shared history. HMS Erebus and HMS Terror also have historical and cultural significance for local Inuit who speak of the ships in their oral history. It is believed that Inuit oral history and research could hold the key to the ultimate discovery of the lost vessels.

Locating HMS Erebus and HMS Terror continues to prove very challenging due to the vastness of the Canadian Arctic and the harsh conditions frequently encountered in northern waters. It is also complicated by differing accounts of the fate of Franklin’s ships as preserved in Inuit traditional knowledge, and the many interpretations given to these accounts on the possible resting place of the wrecks. A number of attempts to locate HMS Erebus and HMS Terror have been unsuccessful to date, but an increasing area of the seafloor has been systematically ruled out, thus narrowing the search.

Sketch of the situation of the H.M.S. Terror at Sunrise, July 14, 1837 Sketch of the situation of the H.M.S. Terror at Sunrise, July 14, 1837
© Courtesy Library and Archives Canada / Mary Montagu Album / C-006125

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Introduction

En raison de l’importance de l’expédition de 1845 de sir John Franklin dans l’histoire canadienne de la navigation et de l’exploration de l’Arctique, les deux navires disparus, le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror, ont été désignés lieu historique national du Canada – le seul lieu historique national de la sorte « non découvert ».

La recherche de l’emplacement des HMS Erebus et HMS Terror continue d’être très difficile en raison de l’immensité de l’Arctique canadien et des conditions rigoureuses qu’on trouve fréquemment dans les eaux nordiques. La tâche est d’autant plus difficile qu’il existe différentes versions du sort de Franklin et de ses navires dans le savoir traditionnel inuit, ainsi que de nombreuses interprétations sur l’emplacement possible des épaves. Toutefois, même si un certain nombre de tentatives pour retrouver le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror se sont jusqu’à présent avérées infructueuses, elles ont permis d’exclure systématiquement des zones importantes du plancher océanique et de réduire le périmètre de recherche.

La découverte de l’emplacement de ces épaves ou de leur contenu fournira des renseignements sans précédent sur la recherche du passage du Nord Ouest, sur l’exploration du Nord canadien et sur le sort de sir John Franklin. Le HMS Erebus, le HMS Terror et leurs équipages sont des témoins de l’histoire commune du Canada et de la Grande Bretagne. Le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror ont également une importance historique et culturelle pour les Inuits locaux, dont la tradition orale fait référence à ces navires. On croit que la recherche et la tradition orale des Inuits pourraient être la clé qui ouvrira la voie à la découverte des navires disparus.

Dessin illustrant la position du HMS Terror au lever du soleil le 14 juillet 1837 Dessin illustrant la position du HMS Terror au lever du soleil le 14 juillet 1837
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Album de Mary Montagu / C-006125