Common menu bar links

The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Past Expeditions

August 2012 Search Expedition to find Franklin’s ships HMS Erebus and HMS Terror

The 2012 expedition is a continuation of Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Service (UAS) surveys conducted in 2008, 2010 and 2011. Partners included Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Canadian Hydrographic Service and the Canadian Coast Guard, as well as the Government of Nunavut, the community of Gjoa Haven and the Inuit Heritage Trust. The project garnered new partners for the 2011 field season, including the University of Victoria’s Ocean Technology Laboratory and Environment Canada’s Canadian Ice Service. Consultations were held regularly with the British High Commission. This project contributed significantly to the research and surveying for the vessels in various ways, while surveying approximately 350 square kilometres of previously uncharted Arctic waters.

In the final season of the project, Parks Canada secured the support of new partners, the Arctic Research Foundation and Canadian Space Agency, who expressed their interest in, and support for, continuing the search. This new support, along with the continued support of existing partners, has allowed Parks Canada to continue the archaeological expedition in search of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror.

This Canadian-led research team, composed of research and technical experts, brings a multi-disciplinary approach that will share resources and use innovative technologies to achieve a number of complementary objectives for each respective organization including the Arctic Charting and Mapping Pilot Project, led by the Canadian Hydrographic Service.

Canadian Coast Guard Icebreaker Sir Wilfrid Laurier Canadian Coast Guard Icebreaker Sir Wilfrid Laurier.
© Parks Canada.
Research Vessel Martin Bergmann Research Vessel Martin Bergmann.
© Arctic Research Foundation

The Canadian Coast Guard ship, CCGS Sir Wilfrid Laurier, will provide surveying support to the archeologists and hydrographic staff for a two-week period with the team deploying from Gjoa Haven, Nunavut, on August 23. In addition, the Arctic Research Foundation, in consultation with Parks Canada, is conducting final preparations for the research vessel Martin Bergmann, for use by the underwater archaeology team in the search efforts. This 65-foot, former Newfoundland fishing vessel, has been refitted specifically for this archaeological expedition and will significantly extend the survey time, with a dedicated approximate four week program through the month of September.

Past partners will again provide support and research technology to the team, including side-scan sonar, single-beam bathymetry and multi-beam bathymetry. Airborne survey data will be overseen by the Canadian Hydrographic Service for the collection of additional bathymetric and shallow-water data acquisition. An archaeologist from the Government of Nunavut will be joining the survey team to search for any indication of possible shore remains in the area that may be related to the Franklin expedition.

Parks Canada will be working closely with the University of Victoria to employ their autonomous underwater vehicle (AUV) in the search efforts. The AUV uses a newly developed, high-resolution side-scan sonar and swath bathymetry sensor package that will help extend the survey area. The team is also using research information gathered and analyzed by the Canadian Ice Service, as well as satellite-based, remote-sensing data supplied by the Canadian Space Agency to chart shoreline and shoal features.

Weather and ice conditions permitting, the search areas will include both the O’Reilly Island area, west of the Adelaide peninsula and where Inuit oral tradition places one of the shipwrecks, and further north to Victoria Strait and Alexandra Strait, where the other vessel is believed to be located.

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Expéditions passées

Expédition de recherche d’août 2011 pour localiser les navires de Franklin, le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror

L’expédition de 2012 est le deuxième projet triennal de cette nature. Le Service d’archéologie subaquatique (SAS) de Parcs Canada a achevé le premier projet triennal en effectuant des activités de reconnaissance en 2008, 2010 et 2011. Au nombre des partenaires figuraient Pêches et Océans Canada, le Service hydrographique du Canada, la Garde côtière canadienne, le gouvernement du Nunavut, la collectivité de Gjoa Haven et la Fiducie du patrimoine inuit. En 2011, ce projet a attiré de nouveaux partenaires pour les recherches sur le terrain, notamment le laboratoire de technologies océaniques de l’Université de Victoria et le Service canadien des glaces d’Environnement Canada. Il y a eu de fréquentes consultations avec le haut-commissariat de Grande-Bretagne. Ce projet triennal a permis de contribuer fortement aux recherches et à la reconnaissance des navires de diverses manières, tout en effectuant la reconnaissance d’environ 350 kilomètres carrés des eaux arctiques auparavant inexplorées.

Au cours de la dernière saison du projet, Parcs Canada a obtenu le soutien de nouveaux partenaires, l’Arctic Research Foundation et l’Agence spatiale canadienne, qui ont manifesté leur intérêt et leur appui envers la poursuite des recherches. Grâce au soutien de ces nouveaux partenaires, en plus de l’appui continu des autres collaborateurs, Parcs Canada a pu lancer une deuxième expédition archéologique triennale à la recherche du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror.

Les membres de cette équipe de recherche dirigée par des Canadiens, laquelle est composée de spécialistes de la recherche et d’experts techniques, adopteront une approche multidisciplinaire, mettront en commun leurs ressources et utiliseront des technologies novatrices en vue d’atteindre nombre d’objectifs complémentaires pour chacune des organisations, notamment le projet pilote de relèvement hydrographique et de cartographie de l’Arctique, dirigé par le Service hydrographique du Canada.

Le brise-glace de la Garde côtière Sir Wilfrid Laurier Le brise-glace de la Garde côtière Sir Wilfrid Laurier.
© Parcs Canada.
Le navire de recherche Martin Bergmann Le navire de recherche Martin Bergmann.
© Arctic Research Foundation

Le navire de la Garde côtière canadienne, le NGCC Sir Wilfrid Laurier, offrira pendant deux semaines du soutien en matière de reconnaissance aux archéologues et aux hydrographes par l’entremise de l’équipe déployée depuis Gjoa Haven, au Nunavut, le 23 août. De plus, l’Arctic Research Foundation, en collaboration avec Parcs Canada, termine les derniers préparatifs pour le navire de recherche Martin Bergmann, aux fins d’utilisation par l’équipe d’archéologie sous-marine dans le cadre des recherches. Cet ancien navire de pêche de Terre-Neuve et Labrador de 19,81 mètres (65 pieds) a été remis en état expressément pour cette expédition archéologique et permettra de prolonger considérablement la durée de la reconnaissance, qui comprendra un programme spécialisé d’environ quatre semaines mené pendant le mois de septembre.

Les anciens partenaires offriront de nouveau leur soutien et leurs technologies de recherche à l’équipe, notamment le sonar à balayage latéral, la bathymétrie à faisceau unique et la bathymétrie multifaisceaux. L’acquisition de données de reconnaissance aéroportées sera supervisée par le Service hydrographique du Canada dans le cadre de la collecte de données supplémentaires bathymétriques et en eaux peu profondes. Un archéologue du gouvernement du Nunavut se joindra à l’équipe de reconnaissance pour repérer toute indication de vestiges potentiels sur les côtes de la région qui pourraient être liés à l’expédition de Franklin.

Parcs Canada collaborera étroitement avec l’Université de Victoria pour utiliser son véhicule sous-marin autonome dans les recherches. Ce véhicule possède un nouveau sonar à balayage latéral haute résolution ainsi que des capteurs de bathymétrie par secteurs qui aideront à augmenter la superficie de reconnaissance. De même, l’équipe utilise des données de recherche recueillies et analysées par le Service canadien des glaces, ainsi que les données de télédétection par satellite fournies par l’Agence spatiale canadienne en vue de dresser la carte des caractéristiques du littoral et des hauts-fonds.

Si les conditions météorologiques et l’état des glaces le permettent, les zones de recherche engloberont le secteur de l’île O’Reilly, à l’ouest de la presqu’île Adelaide, endroit où l’une des épaves se trouverait selon la tradition orale des Inuits, et plus au nord vers le détroit de Victoria et le détroit d’Alexandra, là où l’on croit que l’autre navire gît.