Common menu bar links

The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Past Expeditions

2011 Expedition - Results from the 2011 archaeological expeditions related to Franklin ships HMS Erebus and HMS Terror

On September 1, 2011, the Honourable Peter Kent, Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, today updated media on this summer’s two-phased Arctic archaeological surveys associated with the 19th-century pursuit of the Northwest Passage: the continuing search for Franklin’s HMS Erebus and HMS Terror and the closer examination of HMS Investigator and related land sites.

“Ruling out another 140 square kilometres in Canada’s vast Arctic waters, along with 25 kilometres of shoreline, the search for the elusive wrecks of the Franklin Expedition is further narrowed,” said Minister Kent. “The Harper Government applauds this team of experts who collectively made great strides in mapping these previously uncharted Arctic waters, in garnering new partnerships to support their efforts and in bringing Canada a step closer to uncovering the mystery of the lost Franklin Expedition.”

Ryan Harris measures the side-scan sonar towing configuration on the Kinglett Ryan Harris measures the side-scan sonar towing configuration on the Kinglett.
© Parks Canada
Hydrographer in Charge Andrew Leyzack, Ryan Harris, and Commanding Officer Stuart Aldridge during a survey logistics planning session on the bridge Hydrographer in Charge Andrew Leyzack, Ryan Harris, and Commanding Officer Stuart Aldridge during a survey logistics planning session on the bridge.
© Parks Canada

The 2011 search effort for Captain John Franklin’s vessels, HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, brought together the expertise of a nationwide team of Canadian researchers and partners including the Canadian Hydrographic Service, the Canadian Coast Guard, the Government of Nunavut, the Canadian Ice Service and the University of Victoria’s Ocean Technology Laboratory. As with past seasons, Parks Canada combined its search efforts with the operations of the Canadian Hydrographic Service, which is responsible for systematically mapping and charting Canada’s Arctic to help ensure safe, navigable waters, with the support of the Canadian Coast Guard.

The survey team also used LiDAR (Light Detection and Ranging), contracted by the Canadian Hydrographic Service, which collects bathymetric data from an aircraft and can cover a significantly larger area than survey methods deployed by watercraft. Primarily used for charting the seabed, this technology can also detect shipwrecks. The LiDAR survey data is not yet available for analysis, but will be carefully reviewed in the coming weeks and months to determine if it reveals any further clues with relation to the Franklin vessels.

Doug Stenton and Jonathan Moore at Cape Felix Doug Stenton and Jonathan Moore at Cape Felix
© Parks Canada / Howard Jones

The Government of Nunavut also took part in the research with shoreline surveys along the northeast portion of the Royal Geographical Islands, along with surveying of an area on the most northerly point of King William Island, known as Cape Felix, where Franklin had set up an observatory.

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Expéditions passées

Expétion 2011 - Résultats sur les expéditions archéologiques relatives aux navires de Franklin HMS Erebus et HMS Terror

Le 1er septembre 2011, l’honorable Peter Kent, ministre de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, a fait un compte rendu aux médias sur les reconnaissances archéologiques dans l’Arctique. Ces expéditions se sont déroulées en deux phases et étaient liées à la quête pour découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest au XIXe siècle, soit la poursuite de la recherche des navires HMS Erebus et HMS Terror de sir John Franklin.

« Nous pouvons maintenant exclure de nos recherches visant à découvrir les épaves insaisissables de l’expédition de Franklin une autre superficie de 140 km2 dans les vastes eaux arctiques canadiennes, en plus d’une distance de 25 km sur le littoral, a affirmé le ministre Kent. Le gouvernement Harper applaudit cette équipe de spécialistes qui a collectivement fait de grands progrès pour ce qui est de dresser la carte de ces eaux arctiques auparavant inexplorées, d’établir de nouveaux partenariats à l’appui de leurs efforts et d’aider le Canada à éclaircir le mystère entourant l’expédition perdue de Franklin. »

Ryan Harris mesure la configuration de remorquage du sonar à balayage latéral à bord du Kinglett Ryan Harris mesure la configuration de remorquage du sonar à balayage latéral à bord du Kinglett.
© Parcs Canada.
Andrew Layzack, hydrographe en chef, Ryan Harris et le commandant Stuart Aldridge durant une séance de planification logistique sur le pont Andrew Layzack, hydrographe en chef, Ryan Harris et le commandant Stuart Aldridge durant une séance de planification logistique sur le pont.
© Parcs Canada.

Les recherches réalisées en 2011 pour découvrir les navires du capitaine John Franklin, HMS Erebus et HMS Terror, ont rassemblé l’expertise d’une équipe nationale de chercheurs et de partenaires canadiens, dont le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC), la Garde côtière canadienne (GCC), le gouvernement du Nunavut, le Service canadien des glaces et le laboratoire des technologies océaniques de l’Université de Victoria. Comme par le passé, Parcs Canada a joint ses efforts de recherche aux activités du SHC, qui est chargé de dresser la carte et de procéder systématiquement au relèvement hydrographique de l’Arctique canadien afin d’assurer la sécurité des eaux navigables, tout en bénéficiant du soutien de la Garde côtière canadienne.

L’équipe responsable de la reconnaissance a également eu recours à la détection et télémétrie par ondes lumineuses (LiDAR), dans le cadre d’un contrat conclu avec les SHC, qui permet de recueillir des données bathymétriques depuis un aéronef et de vérifier une superficie considérablement plus grande que ne le permettent les méthodes de reconnaissance déployées depuis un navire. Essentiellement utilisée pour procéder au relèvement hydrographique du fond marin, cette technologie peut également aider à la découverte d’épaves. Les données de reconnaissance recueillies par la LiDAR ne sont pas encore prêtes aux fins d’analyse, mais seront examinées de près au cours des semaines et des mois à venir pour déterminer si elles révèlent d’autres indices en lien avec les navires de Franklin.

Doug Stenton enregistre une position GPS au site de Cape Felix Doug Stenton et Jonathan Moore au site de Cape Felix
© Parcs Canada / Howard Jones

Le gouvernement du Nunavut a également participé aux études du littoral de la zone nord­est de l’Île de la Royal Geographical Society, ainsi qu’à des travaux de recherche sur le point le plus au Nord de l’île du Roi­Guillaume, appelé Cape Felix, où Franklin avait aménagé un observatoire.