Common menu bar links

The Underwater Archaeology Search for Franklin's Lost Vessels: HMS Erebus and HMS Terror National Historic Site

Past Expeditions

2010 Expedition - Results

The shipwreck search area around O'Reilly Island The shipwreck search area around O'Reilly Island (middle left) captured by Jonathan Moore from 24,000 feet during a flight from Gjoa Haven (Nunavut) to Yellowknife (Northwest Territories)
© Parks Canada

Parks Canada’s Underwater Archaeology Service (UAS) began this year’s survey in search of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror on August 18, 2010, working collaboratively with the Canadian Coast Guard and Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS). The overall search area of interest included zones southeast and northeast of O’Reilly Island, located just west of the Adelaide Peninsula in the Queen Maud Gulf. For the 2010 survey season, the search team began with and completed the southeast zone; some surveying was completed in the zone northeast of the island.

Much of Canada’s Arctic waters remain uncharted, affecting safe navigation for small and large vessels alike. Indeed, during the 2008 survey season, CHS and UAS efforts were focused on charting a navigable approach corridor to the O’Reilly Island search area; the joint UAS and CHS team successfully surveyed a 65-kilometre long approach corridor through previously uncharted waters. This paid dividends in 2010 as the Sir Wilfrid Laurier was able to transport the team close to the search area and to remain on station nearby during survey day.

In 2010 two CHS survey launches, Gannet and Kinglett, deployed single-beam echo-sounders and towed side-scan sonar systems. Using the launches the team was able to complete six full days of surveying in the search area. Weather conditions were generally very cooperative for the duration of the survey, permitting approximately 12 hours of survey time on the first day, and 16 hours for each of the remaining five days. The total survey time throughout the six days for each launch thus amounted to approximately 92 hours, or about 184 hours combined. No sea ice whatsoever was observed in the search area in the course of the survey.

Given the favourable weather and survey conditions, the team has determined that it is unlikely that either of the Franklin vessels is to be found in the surveyed area southeast of O’Reilly Island. That being said, a careful review of the collected sonar data is currently underway to ensure that no subtle targets were missed. Once the southeastern area had been completed, the team directed its efforts northeast of O’Reilly Island and devoted the remaining one and a half days of survey time to this zone. No targets were identified during this short period.

The combined shipwreck search and bathymetric survey concluded on August 23, 2010 and resulted in the collection of approximately 400,000 seafloor soundings around O’Reilly Island. In aggregate, the two launches followed nearly 1,000 km of survey lines, scanning in excess of 150 square kilometres of sea-floor in the process.

Parks Canada is pleased with the results of this 2010 survey, given that such a sizeable survey area was covered in such a short period of time In addition to ruling out the zone southeast of O’Reilly Island as a likely resting place for either of the Franklin vessels, the team was able to survey previously uncharted waters and gathered a substantial amount of information on the underwater topography of the Queen Maud Gulf.

Working with the crew of the Sir Wilfrid Laurier and the CHS team was a distinct pleasure for UAS team members Ryan Harris and Jonathan Moore. Without exception, these cheerful individuals were dedicated, professional, and always at the ready with a helping hand. The Coast Guard crew, led by Captain Bill Noon and Chief Officer Richard Marriott were instrumental in ensuring that the survey team was able to make the most of the scheduled opportunity. A special note of thanks is due to the Coast Guard coxswains who spent hour after hour navigating meticuolously straight survey lines aboard the Gannet and Kinglett. Many thanks are also due to Hydrographer-in-Charge Andrew Leyzack (CHS) who oversaw much of the logistical preparation prior to deployment and who remains a vital partner in the cooperative shipwreck search effort. Lastly, the UAS is grateful to Parks Canada’s Keri Spink for her tireless work coordinating the project website and media requests.

Although no targets of interest were located, each area of the Arctic seafloor that is comprehensively surveyed brings us closer to determining the final resting place of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror. To this end, the 2010 expedition made a significant contribution to longstanding efforts to understand what happened to these two storied vessels.

Following each field season, the UAS evaluates the delivery and success of its research projects in order to help define the course of future fieldwork. In preparation for a slated third field season, Parks Canada will consult with existing and potential partners to determine the schedule and approach for the continued search for Franklin’s lost vessels. Parks Canada looks forward to sharing future plans regarding the search for HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, as more details are finalized.

La recherche archéologique subaquatique des navire perdus de Franklin : le lieu historique national du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror

Expéditions passées

Expédition 2010 - Résultats de l'expédition

L'aire de recherche des épaves autour de l'île O'Reilly L'aire de recherche des épaves autour de l'île O'Reilly (au milieu, à gauche) prise par Jonathan Moore à 24 000 pieds d'altitude, pendant un vol de Gjoa Haven (Nunavut) à Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord Ouest)
© Parcs Canada

Le 18 août 2010, le Service d’archéologie subaquatique de Parcs Canada (SAS), en collaboration avec la Garde côtière canadienne et le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC), a mené des recherches dans le but de localiser le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror. L’aire générale de recherche comprenait les zones sud-est et nord-est de l’île O’Reilly, située à l’ouest de la péninsule Adelaide dans le golfe de la Reine-Maud. Durant la saison de recherche 2010, l’équipe a couvert l’ensemble de la zone sud-est; quelques recherches ont aussi été effectuées dans la zone nord-est de l’île.

Une grande partie des eaux de l'Arctique canadien n’ont pas encore été cartographiées, ce qui met en péril les petites et les grandes embarcations. Pour cette raison, durant la saison de recherche 2008, les travaux du SHC et du SAS se sont concentrés sur l’établissement de cartes marines d’un corridor d’approche jusqu’à la zone de recherche de l’île O’Reilly; l’équipe conjointe a réussi à faire des levés d’un corridor d’approche de 65 kilomètre dans des eaux jusqu’alors non cartographiées. Le travail a porté fruit : en 2010, le Sir Wilfrid Laurier a été en mesure de transporter une équipe près de la zone de recherche et de demeurer tout près durant la journée des recherches.

En 2010, deux vedettes hydrographiques du SHC, le Gannetet et le Kinglett, ont déployé des échosondeurs à faisceau unique et remorqué des sonars à balayage latéral. À l’aide des vedettes, l’équipe a pu réaliser des levés dans la zone de recherche pendant six jours. En général, les conditions météorologiques et de travail ont été favorables pendant toute la durée des travaux, soit environ 12 heures le premier jour et 16 heures les cinq jours suivants. Au total, environ 184 heures ont été consacrées à la réalisation de levés, soit environ 92 heures par vedette. Pendant cette période, aucune de glace de mer n’a été observée dans la zone de recherche.

Vu les conditions météorologiques favorables, l’équipe a établi qu’il est improbable que l’un ou l’autre des navires de Franklin se trouve dans la zone de recherche située au sud-est de l’île O’Reilly. Cela dit, on a entrepris l’examen minutieux des données sonar afin de s’assurer qu’aucun aspect subtil n’a été raté. Après avoir entièrement couvert la zone sud-est, l’équipe a tourné ses efforts vers le nord-est de l’île O’Reilly et consacré la dernière journée et demie de recherche à cette zone. Aucune cible n’a été identifiée durant cette courte période.

La recherche des épaves et le levé bathymétrique, qui ont pris fin le 23 août 2010, ont permis de recueillir environ 400 000 sondages du fond marin près de l’île O’Reilly. Au total, les deux vedettes ont suivi près de 1 000 km de lignes de levé, balayant ainsi plus de 150 kilomètres carrés de fond marin.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est heureuse des résultats de l’expédition de 2010, compte tenu que l’importante zone de recherche a été couverte en aussi peu de temps. En plus d’écarter la zone sud-est de l’île O’Reilly comme emplacement possible des épaves des navires de Franklin, l’équipe a été en mesure de faire le levé d’eaux jusqu’alors non cartographiées et de recueillir beaucoup d’information sur la topographie du golfe de la Reine-Maud.

Pour les membres de l’équipe du SAS, Ryan Harris et Jonathan Moore, travailler avec l’équipage du Sir Wilfrid Laurier et l’équipe du SHC a été un réel plaisir. Ces personnes joyeuses et dévouées ont fait preuve de professionnalisme et étaient toujours prêtes à rendre service. Grâce à l’équipage de la Garde côtière, dirigé par le capitaine Bill Noon et le capitaine en second Richard Marriott, l’équipe de recherche a pu profiter pleinement du temps à sa disposition. Un grand merci aux patrons d’embarcation de la Garde côtière qui, durant de longues heures à bord du Gannet et du Kinglett, ont tracé de façon méticuleuse des lignes de levé bien droites. Merci également à l’hydrographe en chef Andrew Leyzack, du SHC, qui s’est occupé d’une grande partie des préparatifs logistiques et qui demeure un partenaire essentiel dans la recherche conjointe des épaves. Enfin, le SAS est reconnaissant envers Keri Spink, de Parcs Canada, qui a travaillé sans relâche à la coordination du projet du site Web et des demandes d’information des médias.

Même si aucun élément important n’a été relevé, le fait de cartographier minutieusement de nouvelles zones du fond marin de l’Arctique nous rapproche de notre but, soit la découverte du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror. À cette fin, l’expédition de 2010 a contribué de façon importante aux efforts de longue date visant à en apprendre plus sur le sort de ces navires à deux étages.

Après chaque saison de travail sur le terrain, le SAS évalue le déroulement et les résultats de ses projets de recherche en vue d’établir un plan d’action concernant ses futurs travaux sur le terrain. En prévision d’une troisième expédition, Parcs Canada consultera ses partenaires actuels et éventuels afin d’établir l’horaire et le déroulement de la suite de la recherche des navires perdus de Franklin. L’Agence se réjouit à la perspective de faire connaître ses projets futurs concernant la recherche du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror au fur et à mesure que les détails seront établis.