Launch of the book Lost Beneath the Ice

Lost Beneath the Ice, an awe-inspiring new book on the sensational story of the discovery of HMS Investigator.

Image shows a Parks Canada underwater archaeologist diving over the wreck of the HMS Investigator. Lost Beneath the Ice The Story of HMS Investigator
Text by Andrew Cohen
Images Selected by Parks Canada

In 1850, HMS Investigator was sent to search for the lost Franklin ships. They failed, becoming trapped in the ice, but completed Franklin's quest for the Northwest Passage. This book recounts the voyage and Parks Canada's discovery of the wreck.



A compelling story of the long-awaited find of HMS Investigator grounded on the sea floor of the icy waters of Banks Island, just outside Aulavik National Park.

The book offers a beautiful rendition of images of the crew from HMS Investigator with stunning photos of Parks Canada underwater archaeologists exploring the historic wreck. The text, by Andrew Cohen, tells the story of HMS Investigator and its significance to early arctic exploration – a unique account to be treasured by Canadians and shared the world over.

A piece of Canadian history

When Sir John Franklin disappeared in the Arctic in the 1840s, the British Admiralty launched the largest rescue mission in its history. Among the search vessels was HMS Investigator, which left England in 1850 under the command of Captain Robert McClure. While the ambitious McClure never found Franklin, he and his crew were eventually credited with discovering the fabled Northwest Passage.

Like Franklin’s ships, though, HMS Investigator disappeared in the most remote, bleak and unknown place on Earth. For three winters, its 66 souls were trapped in the unforgiving ice of Mercy Bay. They suffered cold, darkness, starvation, scurvy, boredom, depression and madness. When they were rescued in 1853, HMS Investigator was abandoned.

Parks Canada’s search for the historic shipwreck was a formidable undertaking. Despite the challenges they faced, Marc-André Bernier, Chief Underwater Archaeology Services, and his team were successful in their pursuit, locating the missing vessel off the shores of Banks Island in the Northwest Territories, just outside Aulavik National Park.

The book is an important piece of Canadian history. Parks Canada wanted to share this historic find by showcasing the shipwreck in its final resting place, giving Canadians a candid look at what the underwater archeologists saw when they first laid eyes on the ship.

Parks Canada’s project on Banks Island

M-A Berner Marc-André Bernier, Chief Underwater Archaeology Services
© Parks Canada

In July 2010, Parks Canada led a project in Aulavik National Park (NP) on Banks Island, Northwest Territories, which included both terrestrial and marine archaeological surveys. The work resulted in locating HMS Investigator in Mercy Bay offshore from the park boundary, as well as the graves of three crew members onshore. McClure’s Cache and related land sites were also documented. The terrestrial team also briefly studied a nearby archaeological site south of McClure’s Cache that was determined to be larger and older than first estimated, dating back to the Paleoeskimo period and likely between 2400-2700 years old.

Aulavik National Park was created in 1992 and provided for in the 1984 Western Arctic Inuvialuit comprehensive land claim agreement. Parks Canada and the Inuvialuit cooperatively manage the national park to protect and present its Arctic lowlands ecosystems and 3500-year old cultural heritage. As the closest community to the park, Sachs Harbour is also the only community on Banks Island.

“We were jubilant,” said Mr. Bernier. “Not only was finding the wreckage an incredibly exciting moment, but to find it in better condition than expected, sitting upright, made one feel as if it had been mysteriously waiting for us, all this time. It was surreal.”

For the complete story, visit the Parks Canada 2010 Arctic Surveys section.

To learn more about Aulavik National Park, visit: http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/nt/aulavik/index.aspx.

About HMS Investigator

The discovery of HMS Investigator promises unprecedented information on the early exploration of Canada’s North and the search for the Northwest Passage – a critical piece of our history. This ship is the first to have sailed the last leg of the Northwest Passage.

HMS Investigator was one of many vessels sent to find the lost Franklin expedition, but Captain McClure also used the 1850-1853 expedition to search for the final link of the Northwest Passage. By 1851, the ship was trapped in ice at Mercy Bay. After 2 years, the crew was saved by a Royal Navy sledge team from HMS Resolute. McClure was officially credited with the discovery of the Northwest Passage and, as a result, designated in 1972 as a person of national historic significance by the Government of Canada.

For the complete story of HMS Investigator and its successful discovery visit the Parks Canada 2010 Arctic Surveys section.

About the Author

Andrew Cohen is a best-selling author and award-winning journalist. Among his books are While Canada Slept, a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award, The Unfinished Canadian and Extraordinary Canadians: Lester B. Pearson. He writes a nationally syndicated column for The Ottawa Citizen and comments regularly on CTV. A professor of journalism and international affairs at Carleton University, he is founding president of the Historica-Dominion Institute. He has twice received Queen’s Jubilee Medals.

On the shelves

Published by Dundurn Press, Lost Beneath the Ice will be available in English in November 2013, and early 2014 in French.

It is being produced in print and e-book editions in both official languages.

The book can be purchased online through Amazon: http://www.amazon.ca/Lost-Beneath-Ice-Story-Investigator/dp/1459719492.

The book can also be purchased in bookstores across the country.

Message to booksellers

Booksellers and other merchants should order English or French copies of Lost Beneath the Ice through their Dundurn Press sales representative.

An e-book edition will be available at the same time as the print editions.

Dundurn Press, Lost Beneath the Ice; $29.99 in Canada
English: ISBN: Harback: 978-1-45971-949-1 / eBook: 978-1-45971-951-4
French: ISBN:

Lancement du livre Perdu sous la banquise

Perdu sous la banquise, un formidable nouveau livre portant sur la découverte sensationnelle du HMS Investigator.

L’image montre un archéologue subaquatique de Parcs Canada plongeant au-dessus de l’épave du HSM Investigator. Perdu sous la banquise
L’histoire du HMS Investigator
Texte d'Andrew Cohen
Images choisies par Parcs Canada
Traduit par Dominique Fortier

En 1850, le HMS Investigator fut envoyé à la recherche des navires perdus de Franklin. L’équipage a échoué, devenant prisonnier de la glace, mais a tout de même réussi à découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest, à la conquête duquel Franklin s’était lancé. Ce livre raconte le voyage et la découverte par Parcs Canada de l’épave du HMS Investigator.



L’histoire captivante de la découverte tant attendue du HMS Investigator qui repose au fond de la mer dans les eaux glacées de l’île Banks, juste à l’extérieur du parc national Aulavik.

Ce livre contient de magnifiques images de l’équipage du HMS Investigator ainsi que des photos saisissantes de l’exploration de cette épave d’une importance historique par les archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada. Le texte d’Andrew Cohen raconte l’histoire du HMS Investigator et explique son importance pour les débuts de l’exploration de l’Arctique – un récit sans pareil que tous les Canadiens peuvent chérir et partager avec le monde entier.

Un témoignage de l’histoire du Canada

Lorsque Sir John Franklin a disparu dans l’Arctique dans les années 1840, l’Amirauté britannique a lancé la plus grande mission de sauvetage de son histoire. L’un des navires de recherche était le HMS Investigator, qui a quitté l’Angleterre en 1850 sous le commandement du capitaine Robert McClure. Bien que l’ambitieux McClure n’ait jamais retrouvé Franklin, c’est à lui et à son équipage qu’on a éventuellement attribué la découverte du légendaire passage du Nord-Ouest.

Le HMS Investigator a cependant disparu comme les navires de Franklin dans la région la plus éloignée, désolée et inconnue du globe. Pendant trois hivers, ses 66 membres d’équipage ont été piégés dans l’environnement glacé impitoyable de la baie Mercy. Ils ont souffert du froid, de l’obscurité, de la famine, du scorbut, de l’ennui, de la dépression et de la folie. Lorsqu’ils ont été secourus en 1853, le HMS Investigator a été abandonné.

La recherche par Parcs Canada de cette épave d’importance historique a été une entreprise formidable. En dépit des difficultés auxquelles ils ont été confrontés, Marc-André Bernier, chef du service d’archéologie subaquatique, et son équipe ont réussi à localiser le navire manquant au large des côtes de l’île Banks dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, juste à l’extérieur du parc national Aulavik.

Ce livre est un important témoignage de l’histoire du Canada. Parcs Canada voulait faire connaître cette découverte historique aux Canadiens en leur présentant l’épave là où elle repose maintenant, leur donnant ainsi un aperçu de ce que les archéologues subaquatiques ont vu lorsqu’ils ont posé les yeux sur le navire pour la première fois.

Le projet de Parcs Canada sur l’île Banks

Marc-André Bernier, chef du service d’archéologie subaquatique Marc-André Bernier, chef du service d’archéologie subaquatique
© Parcs Canada

En juillet 2010, au parc national (PN) Aulavik sur l’île Banks dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, Parcs Canada a dirigé un projet qui comprenait des travaux de reconnaissance archéologique dans les milieux terrestre et marin. Ces travaux ont permis de localiser le HMS Investigator dans la baie Mercy, au large de la frontière du parc, ainsi que les tombes de trois des membres de son équipage sur le rivage. La cache de McClure et les sites terrestres associés ont également été étudiés. L’équipe terrestre a également étudié brièvement, au sud de la cache de McClure, un site archéologique voisin qui s’est révélé plus grand et plus vieux que l’on ne l’avait d’abord estimé. Il remontait au Paléoesquimau et avait vraisemblablement entre 2 400 et 2 700 ans.

Le parc national Aulavik a été créé en 1992, comme le prévoyait l’entente de règlement de la revendication territoriale globale des Inuvialuit dans l’ouest de l’Arctique de 1984. Parcs Canada et les Inuvialuit gèrent le parc national ensemble pour protéger et présenter ses écosystèmes des basses-terres de l’Arctique et son patrimoine culturel vieux de 3 500 ans. La collectivité la plus proche du parc, Sachs Harbour, est aussi la seule collectivité de l’île Banks.


« Nous jubilions, » s’est exclamé monsieur Bernier. Non seulement la découverte de l’épave a-t-elle été un moment incroyablement excitant, mais le fait de la trouver en meilleure condition que nous l’espérions, à la verticale, nous a donné l’impression qu’elle nous attendait mystérieusement depuis toutes ces années. Ce fut surréaliste. »

Pour lire la version complète de l’histoire, visitez la section sur les projets de recherche arctiques 2010 de Parcs Canada.

Pour en savoir davantage sur le parc national Aulavik, visitez le site : http://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/nt/aulavik/index.aspx.

À propos du HMS Investigator

La découverte du HMS Investigator promet de révéler des informations inédites sur les débuts de l’exploration du Nord canadien et la recherche du passage du Nord-Ouest – une partie essentielle de notre histoire. Ce navire est le premier à avoir parcouru le dernier tronçon du passage du Nord-Ouest.

Le HMS Investigator a été l’un des nombreux navires envoyés à la recherche de l’expédition perdue de Franklin, mais le capitaine McClure a également profité de l’expédition de 1850-1853 pour rechercher le dernier tronçon du passage du Nord-Ouest. En 1851, le navire s’est retrouvé prisonnier des glaces à la baie Mercy. Après deux ans, l’équipage a été secouru par une équipe de traîneaux de la Royal Navy du HMS Resolute. McClure a été reconnu officiellement comme étant le découvreur du passage du Nord-Ouest, ce qui lui a valu d’être désigné personnage d'importance historique nationale en 1972 par le gouvernement du Canada.

Pour lire la version complète de l’histoire du HMS Investigator et de sa découverte, visitez la section sur les projets de recherche arctiques 2010 de Parcs Canada

À propos de l’auteur

Andrew Cohen est un auteur à succès et un journaliste qui a remporté des prix. Il a écrit, entre autres, While Canada Slept, un des finalistes mis en nomination pour les Prix littéraires du Gouverneur général, The Unfinished Canadian et Extraordinary Canadians: Lester B. Pearson. Il rédige une chronique souscrite à l’échelle nationale pour The Ottawa Citizen et commente régulièrement l’actualité sur CTV. Professeur de journalisme et d’affaires internationales à l’Université Carleton, il est le président fondateur de l’Institut Historica-Dominion. Il a reçu deux fois la médaille du jubilé de la Reine.

En magasin

Publié par Dundurn Press, Perdu sous la banquise sera disponible en anglais en novembre 2013 et en français au début de 2014.

Il est produit sous forme de livre imprimé et de livre électronique dans les deux langues officielles.

Ce livre peut être acheté en ligne par l’entremise d’Amazon : http://www.amazon.ca/gp/switch-language/product/145971962X/ref=topnav_switchLang?ie=UTF8&language=fr_CA&qid=1384269798&s=books&sr=1-6.

Il peut également être acheté dans les librairies de tout le pays.

Message aux libraires

Les libraires et les autres marchands devraient commander leurs exemplaires en français ou en anglais de Perdu sous la banquise par l’entremise de leur représentant de commerce de Dundurn Press.

Une édition électronique sera disponible au même moment que les versions imprimées.

Dundurn Press, Perdu sous la banquise; 29,99 $ au Canada
Anglais : ISBN : Livre relié : 978-1-45971-949-1 / Livre électronique : 978-1-45971-951-4
Français : ISBN :