Parks Canada 2010 Arctic Surveys

Parks Canada’s Publication on the Underwater Archaeology in Red Bay National Historic Site of Canada is Recognized with International Award 

In April 2008, Parks Canada launched The Underwater Archaeology of Red Bay, the final report on the underwater excavations of 16th century Basque whaling vessels. This five-volume publication, edited by Robert Grenier, Marc-André Bernier and Willis Stevens, reported on the archaeological work conducted in Red Bay by Parks Canada from 1978 to 1984 and on the two decades of research that was necessary to analyze the massive amount of data collected in some 14,000 hours of diving. While the innovative underwater archaeological excavation work in Red Bay had already been acknowledged as a model in this field, the associated research presented in this publication has now received formal international recognition through a prestigious award, the 2009 Keith Muckelroy Memorial Award.

The Underwater Archaeology of Red Bay
The Red Bay report on the underwater excavations that won the Keith Muckelroy 2009 award
© Parks Canada

This international award attributed by the Nautical Archaeology Society (United Kingdom) is offered to "a work published after January 1, 2006 which best reflects the interests, aspirations and high scholarly standards of Keith Muckelroy", a pioneer in the field of underwater archaeology. In their comments, the judging panel wrote: "Keith strongly recognized the importance of good fieldwork and reporting as the foundation for the theories that could be constructed upon them. [...] The Red Bay report is exemplary. The breath of material covered, and the quality of the research, is outstanding, demonstrating the highest standards of recording, survey, illustrations, and interpretation, and the setting of findings into wider contexts. This report provides a multidisciplinary model for future generations of maritime archaeologists, methodologically, and intellectually."

The Underwater Archaeology of Red Bay presents the history of the Basque whalers and the methods used by the archaeologists to excavate their wrecks. Not only can we also find in this publication the description of the objects lost by the Basques and the analysis of the ships they used, but we are presented with the global picture of the industrial complex that was Red Bay in the 16th century.

If this publication is first and foremost an archaeological report, it is in many ways accessible to a wider public. As Lawrence E. Babits from East Carolina University states in his review of the report, it is “a guide book for maritime archaeological research and should be readily accessible to students as well as professionals. [...] The archaeological and historical communities owe Parks Canada underwater archaeologists a debt of gratitude for not only doing the field work and analysis, but for getting it out to the public in such a readily available form." (Historical Archaeology, April 2009).

This award is a testimony of the high quality work of Parks Canada professionals including underwater archaeologists, conservators, material culture specialists and historians, to name but a few. It also underscores the efforts to deliver to all Canadians, and especially to specialists and students of various ages, a tool to help them develop a deeper understanding of the treasured historic place that is Red Bay.

To purchase your copy of this 5-volume report, visit; Publication Information - Government of Canada Publications

Expéditions 2010 dans l'Arctique

La publication de Parcs Canada sur l’archéologie subaquatique au lieu historique national du Canada de Red Bay reçoit un prix de reconnaissance internationale

En avril 2008, l’Agence Parcs Canada a procédé au lancement de L’archéologie subaquatique de Red Bay, le rapport final des fouilles archéologiques subaquatiques effectuées sur des navires baleiniers basques du XVIe siècle. Ce rapport de cinq volumes, édité par Robert Grenier, Marc-André Bernier et Willis Stevens, présente les travaux archéologiques menés par Parcs Canada à Red Bay, de 1978 à 1984, ainsi que les résultats de vingt années de recherche qui ont été nécessaires pour analyser la quantité massive de données rassemblées durant quelques 14 000 heures de plongée. Alors que le côté innovateur des fouilles archéologiques subaquatiques entreprises à Red Bay avait déjà été reconnu comme étant un modèle dans le domaine, les recherches associées présentées dans cette publication viennent d’être reconnues formellement à l’échelle internationale avec la remise d’un prix prestigieux, soit le Keith Muckelroy Memorial Award 2009.

L'archéologie subaquatique de Red Bay
Le rapport des fouilles archéologiques subaquatiques de Red Bay, qui a gagné le prix Keith Muckelroy 2009
© Parcs Canada

Ce prix international attribué par la Nautical Archaeology Society (Royaume-Uni) est remis pour souligner « un ouvrage publié après le 1er janvier 2006 qui reflète le mieux les intérêts, les aspirations et les normes d’érudition élevées de Keith Muckelroy », un pionnier dans le domaine de l’archéologie subaquatique. Dans ses commentaires, le comité des juges a souligné ceci : « Keith était profondément convaincu de l’importance d’un bon travail sur le terrain et de l’établissement d’un rapport comme étant la fondation sur laquelle des théories peuvent être échafaudées […] le rapport de Red Bay est exemplaire. L’ampleur du matériel couvert et la qualité de la recherche sont exceptionnels, démontrant les normes les plus élevées en matière d’enregistrement, de levé archéologique, d’illustrations et d’interprétation, ainsi que de présentation des résultats dans des contextes plus larges. Ce rapport est un modèle multidisciplinaire pour les générations futures d’archéologues subaquatiques sur les plans de la méthode et du point de vue intellectuel. »

L’archéologie subaquatique de Red Bay présente l’histoire des baleiniers basques de même que les méthodes utilisées par les archéologues pour fouiller les épaves. Nous trouvons dans cette publication non seulement la description des objets perdus par les Basques et l’analyse des bateaux qu’ils utilisaient, mais un portrait global du complexe industriel que constituait Red Bay au XVIe siècle.

Si cette publication est d’abord et avant tout un rapport archéologique, elle est de plusieurs façons accessible à un public plus large. Comme Lawrence E. Babits de la East Carolina University l’indique dans son examen du rapport, ceci « est un guide pour la recherche archéologique subaquatique et il devrait être facile d’accès tant aux étudiants qu’aux professionnels [...] les milieux archéologiques et historiques ont une dette de gratitude envers les archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada, non seulement pour leurs travaux sur le terrain et leur analyse, mais pour la diffusion des résultats au public dans un format convivial. » (Historical Archaeology, avril 2009).

Ce prix témoigne la qualité exceptionnelle du travail des professionnels de Parcs Canada, y compris des archéologues subaquatiques, des restaurateurs, des spécialistes en culture matérielle et des historiens, pour en nommer que quelques-uns. Il souligne également un souci de livrer à l’ensemble des Canadiens et Canadiennes, et particulièrement aux spécialistes et aux étudiants de différents âges, un outil afin qu’ils comprennent mieux l’essence même de ce trésor historique qu’est Red Bay.

Pour vous procurer une copie de ce rapport en cinq volumes, visitez le site; Renseignements sur la publication - Publications du gouvernement du Canada