Parks Canada 2010 Arctic Surveys

Challenges of Working in an Arctic Climate

Working in an Arctic climate poses interesting challenges for Parks Canada’s survey teams. Climate, travel to distant locations, and lack of amenities in the Arctic must be carefully considered and certainly put Park Canada staff to the test as they conduct their day-to-day work. While McClure’s Cache site is located within Aulavik National Park, the vessel was thought to be lost in the waters of Mercy Bay, just outside the park boundaries.

Parks Canada Base Camp Setting up the Parks Canada base camp
© Parks Canada

Climate

The climate of Aulavik National Park is typically Arctic. The tundra is frozen and snow-covered from September until June. In the area where our team will be working, summers are brief and cool, with temperatures ranging from -2°C to 12°C with a daily average of 8°C, but it is not uncommon for it to snow even in July. While the sun does not set between mid May and late July, and there is never true darkness from late April until late August, Mercy Bay is prone to heavy fog and rain. Learn more about the climate of Aulavik National Park.

For the marine-based searches, Parks Canada continuously monitors the ice thickness in the Arctic regions where they plan to search by utilizing information and maps managed by the Canadian Ice Service (CIS) of Environment Canada. Without free-flowing water, these searches cannot be conducted.

Location, Travel and Amenities

The survey of McClure’s Cache and the search for HMS Investigator was conducted from Aulavik National Park, which is located on the northern Banks Island, the most westerly island in the Canadian Arctic Archipelago. Aulavik lies 250 kilometres northeast of the tiny community of Sachs Harbour and 750 kilometres northeast of the town of Inuvik.

Helicopter landing in Aulavik Helicopter landing in Aulavik National Park
© Parks Canada

Aulavik is an isolated wilderness park with no facilities, campgrounds, developed trails or road access. Chartering an aircraft equipped with tundra tires is presently the most common and practical means of accessing the park. Our survey teams reached the Mercy Bay base camp in two stages. First they boarded a de Havilland Twin Otter aircraft from Inuvik to Sachs Harbour, re-fuelled after this two-hour flight, then continued for another hour to Polar Bear Cabin, just east of Castel Bay. From there, the crew and equipment were ferried by Bell 206L helicopter for the half hour it takes to get from Polar Bear Cabin to the Mercy Bay base camp. Because Mercy Bay empties into the sea, the water there is not drinkable, so freshwater has to be acquired from a nearby pond or river, and then slung by helicopter to the base camp. After being dropped off in the park, our survey teams were on their own until the helicopter returned to pick them up to take them to Polar Bear Cabin, and from there to Inuvik via Twin Otter. Poor weather can easily prevent the helicopter or Twin Otter from returning on schedule, so extra supplies and a plan for at least two extra days in the park were necessary in case of a delayed flight.

Twin Otter Twin Otter in Aulavik National Park
© Parks Canada

Due to aircraft weight restrictions (1134 kg for a Twin Otter and up to 408 kg for helicopter sling), the team was limited in how much survey equipment, personal gear, and fresh food they could bring. Everyone had their own tent, but there were also communal tents for cooking and eating. Since the camp was in polar bear country, safe camp practices were strictly followed to lessen the risk of attracting bears. To maintain the park’s wilderness integrity, all food and human waste had to be shipped out at the end of the project, ideally leaving little evidence that the camp ever existed by the time the crew boarded their outgoing helicopter.

Expéditions 2010 dans l'Arctique

Les difficultés du travail dans un climat arctique

Le travail dans un climat arctique est source de défis intéressants pour les équipes de recherche de l'Agence Parcs Canada. Le climat, le déplacement vers des contrées éloignées et le manque d'équipement en Arctique doivent être sérieusement pris en considération; ils mettent certainement le personnel de l'Agence à l'épreuve en ce qui concerne le travail quotidien. Bien que l'emplacement de la cache de McClure soit à l'intérieur des limites du parc national de Aulavik, on pouvait penser que le navire avait été perdu dans les eaux de la baie Mercy, juste à l'extérieur du parc.

Camp de base de Parcs Canada Camp de base de Parcs Canada
© Parcs Canada

Le climat

Le climat du parc national de Aulavik est typiquement arctique. La toundra est gelée et recouverte de neige de septembre à juin. Dans la région où notre équipe travaillait, les étés sont courts et frais, la température variant entre -2 °C et 12 °C et la moyenne quotidienne étant de 8 °C : il n'y a rien d'extraordinaire à ce qu'il neige en juillet. La baie Mercy est sujette aux brouillards épais et à la pluie, le soleil ne s'y couche pas entre la mi-mai et la fin juillet et il n'y a pas vraiment de noirceur de la fin avril à la fin août. Suivre ce lien pour se renseigner sur le climat du parc national de Aulavik.

Parcs Canada surveille constamment l'épaisseur des glaces dans les régions arctiques où l'on prévoit faire des recherches en utilisant les renseignements et les cartes du Service canadien des glaces (SCG) d'Environnement Canada. Ces recherches sont impossibles sans eau libre.

L'emplacement, le déplacement et l'équipement

L'étude de la cache de McClure et la recherche du HMS Investigator ont été menées à partir du parc national de Aulavik. Ce dernier est situé au nord de l'île de Banks, l'île la plus occidentale de l'archipel canadien de l'Arctique. Aulavik est situé à 250 kilomètres au nord-est de la petite collectivité de Sachs Harbour et à 750 kilomètres au nord-est de la ville d'Inuvik.

Hélicoptère atterissant dans le parc Aulavik Hélicoptère atterissant dans le parc de Aulavik
© Parcs Canada

Aulavik est un parc isolé de nature sauvage sans équipement, ni camping, ni sentiers développés et on n'y a pas accès par la route. Actuellement, le moyen le plus commun et le plus pratique de s'y rendre est d'affréter un aéronef aux pneus adaptés à la toundra. Notre équipe d'enquêteurs s'est rendue au camp de base de la baie Mercy en deux stades. D'abord, elle a pris un avion de Havilland Twin Otter à Inuvik pour se rendre à Sachs Harbour; là, après ce vol de deux heures, on a fait le plein et poussé une heure de plus jusqu'à Polar Bear Cabin, juste à l'est de la baie Castel. Ensuite, l'équipe et l'équipement ont été transportés par hélicoptère 206L de Bell, pendant une demi-heure de plus, pour se rendre de Polar Bear Cabin au camp de base de la baie Mercy. Étant donné que la baie Mercy se jette dans la mer, l'eau n'y est pas potable, alors il fallait se procurer de l'eau à un étang ou à une rivière avoisinants et la transporter par élingue d'hélicoptère jusqu'au camp de base. Notre équipe a été livrée à ses propres moyens jusqu'à ce que l'hélicoptère retourne la chercher pour la ramener à Polar Bear Cabin, d'où elle devait retourner à Inuvik en Twin Otter. Le mauvais temps peut facilement empêcher l'hélicoptère ou le Twin Otter de revenir à temps, alors il fallait des approvisionnements supplémentaires et planifier un séjour dans le parc d'au moins deux jours de plus.

Twin Otter On prépare le départ en Twin Otter
© Parcs Canada

Étant donné que les aéronefs ne peuvent transporter qu’un certain poids au maximum (1 134 kg dans le cas d’un Twin Otter et jusqu’à 408 kg dans le cas d’une élingue d’hélicoptère), l’équipe ne pouvait apporter qu’une quantité limitée de matériel, d’équipement personnel et de nourriture. Chaque personne avait sa propre tente, et il y avait aussi des tentes communes pour préparer les repas et pour les prendre. Étant donné que le camp était situé dans le pays des ours blancs, il fallait adopter des pratiques sécuritaires pour ne pas attirer les ours. Tous les déchets humains et les restes de nourriture devaient être rapportés à la fin du projet et, idéalement, quand l’équipe est montée dans l’hélicoptère pour le retour, il ne devait rester que bien peu d’indices de l’existence du camp.