Common menu bar links

Parks Canada 2010 Arctic Surveys

HMS Investigator and McClure's Cache

The dual objectives of the 2010 Arctic archaeological survey are to locate the HMS Investigator wreck and to document and map the land sites associated with McClure's expedition and subsequent visitors to Mercy Bay. Both of these can be achieved using non-intrusive techniques and will result in a digital, three-dimensional picture of the sea and land components.

Seabotix LBV-150 remotely operated vehicle Seabotix LBV-150 remotely operated vehicle
© Ryan Harris / Parks Canada / 74M548EF

Prospecting for the HMS Investigator wreck will be conducted by Parks Canada's Underwater Archaeology Service and will employ side-scan sonar and remotely operated vehicles deployed from Zodiac watercraft. Simultaneously, the terrestrial archaeology team comprised of Parks Canada, Inuvialuit, and University of Western Ontario personnel will use digital photography, optical survey instruments, and high-grade GPS to map the depot and other remains. A magnetometer and metal-detector will also be used by the land team to search for subsurface features and metal artefacts left at the depot. Time permitting, the survey area on the land and water side will be extended to search for evidence of Inuit occupation in the area immediate to the provision depot. This initial research will determine what remains of HMS Investigator and its associated sites, and help to understand how this can be used for further studies of polar exploration and European/Inuit interaction during the 19th century.

Remote-sensing towfish: Klein 3000 side-scan sonar and Marine Magnetics Seaspy magnetometer. Remote-sensing towfish: Klein 3000 side-scan sonar and Marine Magnetics Seaspy magnetometer
© Jonathan Moore / Parks Canada / 73M626EF

Air transport of the archaeological teams to Mercy Bay is being provided by the Polar Continental Shelf Program administered by Natural Resources Canada. Parks Canada has engaged also the Inuvialuit Regional Corporation and Sachs Harbour Hunters and Trappers Committee to conduct community consultations and presentations. Permits have also been sought from the Inuvialuit Settlement Region's Environmental Impact Screening Committee, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency, the Government of the Northwest Territories' Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre, and the Parks Canada Research and Collection Permit System.

Expéditions 2010 dans l’Arctique

Expédition 2010 du HMS Investigator

L'étude archéologique de 2010 dans l'Arctique a comme double objectif d'abord de localiser l'épave du HMS Investigator et ensuite de documenter et cartographier les points de débarquement associés à l'expédition de McClure et aux visites subséquentes à la baie Mercy. Ces deux activités peuvent être réalisées à l'aide de techniques non intrusives et donneront lieu à un portrait numérique tridimensionnel des composantes de la mer et de la terre.

Le véhicule Seabotix LBV-150 actionné à distance
Le véhicule Seabotix LBV-150 actionné à distance
© Ryan Harris / Parcs Canada / 74M548EF

La recherche de l'épave du HMS Investigator sera menée par le Service archéologique subaquatique, qui utilisera un sonar latéral et des véhicules téléguidés à partir d'embarcations Zodiac. Par ailleurs, l'équipe archéologique terrestre comprenant du personnel de Parcs Canada, du peuple Inuvialuit et de l'université Western Ontario auront recours à la photographie numérique ainsi qu' à des instruments de détection optiques et des GPS de qualité supérieure pour cartographier le dépôt et les autres vestiges. L'équipe terrestre se servira également d'un magnétomètre et d'un détecteur de métal pour chercher des traits de subsurface et des artefacts de métal laissés au dépôt. Si le temps le permet, le secteur de recherche terrestre et hydrologique sera agrandi en vue de rechercher des éléments probants d'une occupation inuite dans la zone avoisinante au dépôt de provisions. Cette première recherche permettra de mieux évaluer ce qui reste du HMS Investigator et de ses lieux connexes. Les éléments ainsi recueillis pourront servir à approfondir les recherches sur l'exploration polaire et l'interaction des Européens et des Inuits au cours du 19e siècle.

Poisson pour la détection à distance
Poisson pour la détection à distance : Sonar latéral Klein 3000 et magnétomètre Seaspy de Marine Magnetics
© Jonathan Moore / Parcs Canada / 73M626EF

Le transport aérien des équipes archéologiques vers la baie Mercy est assuré par le Programme du plateau continental polaire relevant de Ressources naturelles Canada. D'autre part, Parcs Canada a retenu les services de la Société régionale inuvialuit et  du comité de chasseurs et de trappeurs de Sachs Harbour pour organiser des consultations et des présentations auprès de la communauté. Des demandes de permis ont également été adressées au comité d'étude des répercussions environnementales de la région désignée des Inuvialuit, à l'Agence canadienne d'évaluation environnementale,  au Centre du patrimoine septentrional du Prince de Galles du gouvernement des Territoires-du-Nord-Ouest et au Système de permis de recherche et de collecte de Parcs Canada.