Common menu bar links

Parks Canada 2010 Arctic Surveys

Parks Canada will lead two separate Arctic archaeological surveys this summer in search of three vessels associated with the historic quest for the North-West Passage – the ongoing search for Franklin's HMS Erebus and Terror and a new survey related to HMS Investigator and its associated land sites. The exploration of the North-West Passage has captured public imagination for more than 160 years and these surveys come with great anticipation.

Two British vessels, HMS Erebus and HMS Terror, were lost in the Arctic during Sir John Franklin's ill-fated 1845 voyage to discover a northwest passage. By 1847, fears that Sir John Franklin and his crew had met with tragedy prompted a flurry of rescue efforts from Britain and the United States, including an 1850 Royal Navy mission that deployed Captain Robert John LeMesurier McClure, of the 66-man strong HMS Investigator. Eventually locked in ice after wintering twice, McClure and his crew abandoned ship leaving behind a cache of equipment and provisions on the shore of what is now part of Aulavik National Park.

Much of Canada's human history is revealed through the work of Parks Canada archaeologists. Often the treasured resources they uncover are the only piece of evidence that exists to tell us the stories of Canada’s past. Through its work, Parks Canada is leading the way in the protection of Canada’s historical heritage. These surveys will provide important new information that will add to the body of the research on the early exploration of Canada’s North – a critical piece of our shared history. Join us as we embark on this journey of discovery into our Arctic past and allow us to inspire Canada’s present and future generations.

Les projets de recherche arctiques 2010 de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada sera à la tête de deux projets archéologiques distincts dans l'Arctique visant à en apprendre plus sur trois navires associés à l'exploration du passage du Nord-Ouest : la poursuite de la recherche des navires de Franklin HMS Erebus et HMS Terror et le nouveau projet d'étude du HMS Investigator et de ses sites terrestres associés. La quête illustre pour découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest a captivé l'imagination du public depuis plus de 160 ans et ces projets soulèvent donc beaucoup d'intérêt.

Deux navires britanniques, HMS Erebus et HMS Terror, furent perdus dans l'Arctique au cours du funeste voyage de Sir John Franklin en 1845 qui visait à découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest. En 1847, les craintes que Sir John Franklin et son équipage aient subi un sort tragique ont enclenché des efforts de secours de la part de l'Angleterre et des États-Unis, dont la tentative de 1850 de la Royal Navy qui envoya Robert John LeMesurier McClure et le HMS Investigator avec 66 hommes à son bord. Après avoir hiverné deux fois pour ensuite être prisonnier des glaces, McClure et son équipage abandonnèrent le navire en laissant une cache d'équipement et de provisions sur les rives de ce qui est aujourd'hui le parc national de Aulavik.

Une partie importante de l'histoire humaine du Canada nous est révélée par le travail des archéologues de Parcs Canada. Les trésors historiques qu'ils déterrent sont souvent les seuls témoins qui subsistent pour nous raconter le passé du Canada. Grâce à ce travail, Parcs Canada est un leader dans la protection du patrimoine historique du Canada. Ces projets de recherche révéleront des faits inédits qui augmenteront l'ensemble des connaissances sur les débuts de l'exploration du Nord canadien – un élément important de notre histoire commune. Embarquons-nous sur ce voyage de découverte de notre passé arctique, source d'inspiration pour le peuple canadien hier, aujourd'hui et demain.