Common menu bar links

Parks Canada 2010 Arctic Surveys

The Franklin Expedition

The Franklin expedition holds great interest and mystery. For more than 160 years, numerous expeditions have set out to find the lost vessels and hopeful answers regarding the fate of their crew. The remains of the ship have yet to be found.

Sir John Franklin
Sir John Franklin
Library and Archives Canada/R9266-3037 Peter Winkworth Collection of Canadiana

British ships HMS Erebus and HMS Terror set sail on the 19th of May 1845. In overall command of the expedition, Sir John Franklin sailed in HMS Erebus, while HMS Terror was under the command of Francis Crozier. The expedition was ordered to conduct zoological, botanical, magnetic and geological surveys in the Canadian Arctic and to complete a crossing of the North-West Passage and discovery of a reliable route from Europe to the Orient. Although entrances to the passage had already been charted in both the east and west, the middle section was unknown to Europeans.

Outfitted with 20-hp steam engines, they were built of wood with iron sheathing at the bow. The expedition was to last three years and the vessels were provisioned as such.

The last Europeans to have contact with HMS Erebus and HMS Terror were the crews of two whaling ships, the Enterprise and Prince of Wales. Conversation during this chance meeting in August 1845 between the expedition leaders and the Captains of the whaling ships indicated that Franklin was waiting for an opportunity to cross Baffin Bay to Lancaster Sound. Except for encounters with Inuit people, the crews of the vessels were never seen alive again.

The disappearance of the Franklin expedition set off a massive search effort in the Arctic and the broad circumstances of the expedition's fate was not revealed until Lt. William Hobson of HMS Fox found a message in a cairn on Victory Point, King William Island, in 1859.

The message revealed that both ships had been icebound for approximately one and half years. It confirmed that Franklin died on board Erebus on June 11th 1847 and an additional 23 crew members had perished aboard the ships. On April 22nd 1848, the 105 remaining survivors abandoned the ships and indicated their attempt to march to Back's Fish River–none of them made it alive. The entire crews of both ships died and HMS Erebus and HMS Terror were lost to the ice. The message revealed the location of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror at the time of abandonment, although no trace of either ship has ever been found.

In 1992, the Government of Canada declared the wrecks to be a national historic site of Canada. This designation came as a result of their association with Franklin's last expedition; namely its role in the history of exploration of Canada's north and the development of Canada as a nation.

A memorandum of understanding (MOU) was signed in August 1997, between Great Britain, as owners of the vessels, and Canada, as the nation whose water they were lost. If and when the shipwrecks are found, the MOU assigns control over site investigation, excavation or recovery of either wrecks or their contents to Canada. Mandated to protect and present subjects of national significance, Parks Canada has been identified as the federal agency responsible for the search and subsequent preservation of the vessels.

Expéditions 2010 dans l'Arctique

L'expédition de Franklin

L'expédition de Franklin entourée de mystère suscite beaucoup d'intérêt. Depuis plus de 160 ans, de nombreuses expéditions sont parties à la recherche des navires perdus, en espérant obtenir des réponses au sujet du destin de leur équipage. Les épaves n'ont jamais été retrouvées.

Sir John Franklin
Sir John Franklin
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/ R9266-3037 Collection de Canadiana Peter Winkworth

Les navires britanniques HMS Erebus et HMS Terror ont pris la mer le 19 mai 1845. Commandant de l'expédition, sir John Franklin voyageait à bord du HMS Erebus, tandis que le HMS Terror était sous le commandement de Francis Crozier. L'expédition devait effectuer des levés zoologiques, botaniques, magnétiques et géologiques dans l'Arctique canadien et franchir le passage du Nord-Ouest afin de découvrir une route sécuritaire de l'Europe vers l'Orient. Les entrées du passage à l'est et à l'ouest avaient déjà été cartographiées, mais le milieu du passage restait une zone inconnue des Européens.

Équipés de moteurs à vapeur de 20 chevaux-puissance, les navires avaient une coque en bois renforcée de plaques de fer à la proue. L'expédition devait durer trois ans et les navires étaient pourvus de vivres en conséquence.

Les derniers Européens à avoir eu un contact avec les HMS Erebus et HMS Terror ont été les équipages des baleiniers Prince of Wales et Enterprise. L'échange au cours de cette rencontre fortuite en août 1845 entre les chefs d'expédition et les capitaines des bateaux de pêche indiqua que Franklin attendait de bonnes conditions pour traverser la baie de Baffin jusqu'au détroit de Lancaster. À l'exception de quelques rencontres avec les Inuits, les équipages des navires n'ont jamais été revus vivants.

La disparition de l'expédition de Franklin a déclenché d'importantes recherches dans l'Arctique. Toutefois, les circonstances générales entourant le sort de l'expédition n'ont pu être élucidées avant que le lieutenant William Hobson du HMS Fox ne fasse la découverte d'un message dans un cairn à pointe Victory, dans l'île King William, en 1859.

Le message révélait que les deux navires avaient été pris au piège dans les glaces pendant environ un an et demi. Il confirmait que Franklin était décédé à bord du HMS Erebus le 11 juin 1847 et que 23 autres membres de l'équipage avaient péri à bord des navires. Le 22 avril 1848, les 105 derniers survivants avaient abandonné les navires et tenté de joindre à la marche la rivière Back; aucun n'a survécu. Tous les membres d'équipage des deux navires sont décédés et les HMS Erebus et HMS Terror ont été perdus dans les glaces. Le message signalait l'emplacement des HMS Erebus et HMS Terror au moment de l'abandon. Or, on n'a jamais retrouvé aucune trace de ces navires.

En 1992, le gouvernement du Canada a déclaré les épaves comme lieu historique national du Canada. Cette désignation est le fait de leur association avec la dernière expédition de Franklin, par son rôle dans l'histoire de l'exploration du nord canadien et du développement du Canada en tant que nation.

Un protocole d'entente (PE) a été signé en août 1997 entre la Grande-Bretagne, en tant que propriétaire des navires, et le Canada, en tant que nation dans les eaux de laquelle les navires ont fait naufrage. Si on les découvre, le PE attribue au Canada le contrôle de l'enquête sur le terrain, de l'excavation ou de la récupération des deux épaves ou de leur contenu. Mandaté pour protéger et mettre en valeur les sujets déclarés d'importance nationale, Parcs Canada a été désigné en tant qu'organisme fédéral responsable de la recherche et de la conservation subséquente des navires.