Conferences of 1864

Province House National Historic Site, the location of the Charlottetown conference in September 1864.
© Parks Canada

In the fall of 1864, the political leaders of British North America attended meetings in Charlottetown and Québec during which they laid out the fundamental principles that led to the creation of the new country of Canada on July 1, 1867.

In the mid-1800s, British North America contained five provinces: Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the Province of Canada (Canada East and Canada West). Each had a separate legislature and governor and reported to the British Government with little interaction between the provinces. The Charlottetown Conference (September 1-9, 1864) was originally intended as a regional meeting for Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick representatives to discuss a Maritime union. However, Canada's representatives requested to be included and on the first day in Charlottetown convinced the others to consider a confederation of all British North America. The 23 delegates spent the next days focused on such weighty matters as government structure, division of power, and financial relations. The evenings were filled with banquets and balls, which provided the opportunity to discuss business in a more relaxed and friendly setting. At the end of the Charlottetown Conference, representatives had agreed that union should be pursued and decided to reconvene in a few weeks.

This second meeting, the Québec Conference (October 10-27), was attended by 33 delegates representing the original participating provinces plus two delegates from Newfoundland. As in Charlottetown, serious political debate was balanced by glamorous social events. The representatives expanded on the Charlottetown discussions, forming their conclusions into a series of resolutions known as The Québec Resolutions or the 72 Resolutions. These principles continue to define Canada today: a federal government system, an appointed upper chamber (Senate), an elected lower chamber, elected by proportional representation (House of Commons), and continuing ties to the British monarchy.

Deligates of the legislature, October 27 1864 Delegates of the legislature of Canada, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland, October 27 1864.
© Public Domain, from the Library and Archives Canada / Jules I. Livernois.C-006350

The last resolution stated that delegates must receive support from their own governments before the unification process could continue. Politicians and citizens debated the resolutions, which were not welcomed equally across the colonies. Ultimately, only the legislatures of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and the Province of Canada approved of union. Their representatives travelled to England in December 1866 for the final stage, the London Conference, where they finalized the details of confederation which included picking the country's new name: the "Dominion of Canada". All the work the delegates had done in Charlottetown and Québec was rewarded when, on 29 March 1867, Queen Victoria signed the British North America Act. The 36 men who attended any one of the three conferences are known today as the "Fathers of Confederation". Perhaps two of the most famous were the co-premiers of the Province of Canada, Sir John A. Macdonald and Sir George-Étienne Cartier; Macdonald became Canada's first Prime Minister.

Québec Conference of 1864: Toward Confederation

From October 10 to 27, 1864, Québec—the capital city of United Canada (now Quebec and Ontario)—hosted a constitutional conference that marked a major turning point in the country's history. In the Old Parliament Building, located in what is now Montmorency Park National Historic Site in the heart of Old Québec, 33 delegates from United Canada, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Newfoundland met to devise a new federation.

More specifically, this second meeting was aimed at putting down in writing the federation project that came out of the first conference in Charlottetown on September 9, 1864. Held in Prince Edward Island's legislative building (Province House, now a national historic site), the first conference brought together 23 delegates from United Canada, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and Prince Edward Island. The first two conferences were followed by a third, which was held in London from December 1866 to March 1867 and led to the adoption of the definitive version of the Quebec Resolutions and the creation of a new country through the adoption of a law of British Parliament. The British North America Act, approved by Queen Victoria on March 29, 1867, and creating the Dominion of Canada, would take effect on July 1 of the same year.

The idea of grouping together the British colonies in North America dates back to the 1760s, shortly after New France was ceded to Great Britain under the Treaty of Paris (1763). In the next century about a dozen projects—of varying ambition—emerged, but none came to fruition. In the mid-19th century, increasingly urgent political and economic factors brought this idea to the forefront. Economically, the United States was growing more protectionist and did not wish to renew the Reciprocity Treaty, a type of free trade agreement with British North America set to expire in 1864. Merchants, industrialists, and many politicians/businessmen in the British colonies were looking to create an east-west market by promoting trade between the provinces. Meanwhile, the reformists in Canada West (Ontario) wanted to annex the western territory of the Hudson's Bay Company (called "Rupert's Land") because all the good, affordable land in their province was already occupied. Ultimately, plans to build an intercolonial railway and the need to build up financial resources prompted many politicians to call for a new political federation.

On the political scene, a number of British parliamentarians believed that governing and defending the North American colonies was a heavy financial burden for their country. Colonial leaders and part of the population feared an American invasion in reprisal for English interference in the Confederate (Southern) States during the Civil War (1861-1865). They also hoped to thwart the "Fenians" at the borders. These Irish revolutionaries took advantage of the U.S. Civil War to build military strength on American soil and sought to seize Canada and demand Irish liberation in return.

The need to find a solution to the chronic instability of United Canada, where four governments followed in rapid succession between 1861 and 1864, also led provincial ministers to leverage all their political weight to make the federation a reality. One of them was George-Étienne Cartier, a lawyer, businessman, and politician as well as member for Montreal East and attorney general of Canada East (Quebec).

  The Parliament Buildings, Quebec, the official residence of the Prince of Wales during his stay in Quebec 1860
© By T.H.W. In "The Illustrated London News". Aug. 25, 1860, p. 183 mikan 2934622

The Lion of Quebec

In addition to taking part in each conference, Cartier was the most influential French-speaking politician in the United Canadian parliament. He was part of the coalition government (or "Great Coalition") formed in June 1864 at the initiative of George Brown. This reformist member for Toronto and his party demanded representation proportional to the population, something they hoped to achieve with the new federation.

While he played a lesser role than John A. Macdonald, who was one of the most influential delegates during the Québec Conference, Cartier opposed Macdonald's idea of grouping the provinces into a legislative union (with a single assembly) that would centralize almost all powers. Like the Maritimes delegates, he defended the interests and distinct features of the provinces, particularly those of Canada East. An anglophile, monarchist, and political conservative, Cartier—who took part in the Lower Canada Rebellion of 1837—feared annexation to the United States, whose republican ideas he rejected. Cartier was later recognized as a "Father of the Confederation" together with other participants in the constitutional conferences, and historians believe that he did more than any other francophone delegate to gain French Canada's support for Confederation.

Social aspects of the Conference

Arriving in Québec on the steamer Queen Victoria,speciallydispatched by the Government of United Canada, or via the Grand Trunk Railway, the Maritimes delegates stayed at Hôtel Saint-Louis (on Rue Saint-Louis), one of the city's most luxurious accommodations. As in Charlottetown, the Québec Conference gave rise to a series of banquets, receptions, and balls to which members of the city's elite were invited. Sir Charles Stanley Monck, Governor General of United Canada, welcomed delegates to an official ceremony (a "levee") at the Parliament Building the evening of October 11. He also entertained guests at Spencerwood, his official residence in Bois-de-Coulonge park. Edward B. Chandler and John M. Johnson, of New Brunswick, joined the governor's table in the company of other guests, including two British journalists covering the conference.

On October 13, the Canadian ministers hosted the delegates from the Maritime provinces at Club Stadacona, a private club on Rue d'Auteuil. The evening of October 15, the Québec Board of Trade served a sumptuous banquet at Hôtel Russell on Côte du Palais. The most grandiose event was undoubtedly the ball hosted by the Executive Council in the halls of the Parliament Building and attended by almost 850 members of the Canadian elite, plus the delegates and their wives. A week later the "bachelors" ball was held at the same venue for delegates and their wives and eligible daughters, as well as some 500 other guests.

During their stay in Québec, the delegates visited a number of tourist attractions in their free time (Montmorency Falls, the fortifications, memorials, etc.) and enjoyed guided tours of historic sites and major institutions like the citadel, the Seminary chapel, the Catholic cathedral, the Sisters of Charity convent, and Université Laval.

Spencer Wood, near Quebec, residence of the Governor General.
© No MIKAN 3574580

Delegate work sessions

Despite a busy social program, the delegates toiled every day, taking breaks only on Sundays. Étienne-Paschal Taché, joint premier of United Canada with J.A. Macdonald, chaired the work sessions. They took place in the Parliament Building, in the legislative council library on the ground floor. Sitting at the centre of a long table as at a "French-style dinner", Taché was surrounded by Canadian ministers, with Alexander T. Galt and Cartier to his left and Macdonald, Alexander Campbell, and Thomas d'Arcy McGee to his right. George Brown sat directly across from Taché and was flanked by the other Canadian cabinet members: William McDougall and James Cockburn on one side and Oliver Mowat, Hector Langevin, and Jean-Charles Chapais on the other. New Brunswick premier Samuel L. Tilley sat at one end of the table, with Prince Edward Island premier John H. Gray at the other. The other delegates from New Brunswick and Nova Scotia sat on either side of Tilley. Ambrose Shea and F.B.T. Carter—the two observers from Newfoundland—and the Prince Edward Island delegates were seated near Gray.

Official work sessions initially ran from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. and were later extended from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. followed by another session from 7:30 p.m. to midnight. The delegates took 15 minutes for breakfast in a small adjoining room. They used the afternoon break to negotiate amongst each other, work in committees, and draw up the initial drafts of the resolutions.

Historic significance of the Conference

In addition to the social activities and anecdotal details that punctuated the delegates' stay that cold and rainy autumn, the Québec Conference is historically significant in that it was there that the Fathers of the Confederation drafted the first constitution of Canada. Continuing their discussions in Montreal on October 28 and 29 after the Québec Conference was officially adjourned, they put the finishing touches on the 72 Resolutions (also called "the Québec Resolutions"). These dealt in particular with the distribution of powers between a new federal government and the provinces. One resolution divided United Canada into two provinces (Quebec and Ontario), and another designated Québec and Toronto as their respective capitals. The resolutions also established the financial structure of the new government and required the new federation to build an intercolonial railway. While the Newfoundland and Prince Edward Island representatives withdrew from the project, those from the three other colonies agreed to submit the resolutions to their assemblies for approval.

To a large extent, the resolutions drawn up in Québec 150 years ago continue to define Canada today with its federal and provincial governments, upper house (Senate) whose members are appointed, and lower house (House of Commons) whose members are elected by proportional representation. One of these resolutions also maintains the tie between Canada and the British monarchy.

Conférence de 1864

Le Lieu historique national du Canada Province House où a eu lieu la Conférence de Charlottetown en septembre 1864.
© Parcs Canada

À l’automne 1864, les dirigeants politiques de l’Amérique du Nord britannique ont pris part à des rencontres à Charlottetown et au Québec pendant lesquelles ils ont établi les principes fondamentaux qui ont donné naissance au Canada, le 1er juillet 1867.

Au milieu du XIXe siècle, l'Amérique du Nord britannique comportait cinq provinces : Terre-Neuve, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, la Nouvelle-Écosse, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la province du Canada (Haut-Canada et Bas-Canada). Chaque province possédait sa propre législature et son propre gouverneur. De plus, chacune d'entre elles relevait du gouvernement britannique et avait très peu de liens avec les autres. À l'origine, la Conférence de Charlottetown (du 1er au 9 septembre 1864) se voulait une rencontre régionale pour les représentants de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick pour discuter d'une union maritime. Cependant, les représentants du Canada ont demandé à prendre part à la Conférence et, dès la première journée, ils ont convaincu les autres d'envisager la possibilité de créer une confédération de toute l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Les jours suivants, les 23 délégués ont délibéré sur des sujets importants, tels que la structure gouvernementale, la répartition des pouvoirs et les relations financières. Des bals et des banquets avaient souvent lieu. Ces soirées représentaient l'occasion idéale pour discuter d'affaires dans un cadre beaucoup plus détendu et convivial. À la fin de la Conférence de Charlottetown, les représentants se sont mis d'accord sur une union et ont convenu de se réunir à nouveau quelques semaines plus tard.

Deligates of the legislature, October 27 1864 Délégués des assemblées législatives du Canada, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve, le 27 octobre 1864.
© Domaine public, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Jules I. Livernois.C-006350

En plus de deux délégués provenant de Terre-Neuve, trente-trois délégués représentant les provinces participantes originelles ont pris part à cette deuxième rencontre, appelée Conférence de Québec (qui s'est tenue du 10 au 27 octobre). Comme à Charlottetown, des activités mondaines ont servi de toile de fond à de sérieux débats politiques. Les représentants ont approfondi les discussions entamées à Charlottetown. Ils ont adopté une série de résolutions, connues sous le nom de Résolutions de la Conférence de Québec ou encore les 72 Résolutions, après avoir formulé leurs conclusions. Ces principes continuent à définir le Canada aujourd'hui : un gouvernement fédéral, une chambre haute dont les membres sont nommés (le Sénat), une chambre basse dont les membres sont élus par représentation proportionnelle (La Chambre des communes) et des liens durables avec la monarchie britannique.

La dernière résolution stipulait que les délégués devaient recevoir le soutien de leur gouvernement respectif avant que le processus d'unification puisse aller de l'avant. Les politiciens et les citoyens ont débattu sur les résolutions, qui n'ont pas été accueillies avec le même enthousiasme dans toutes les colonies. En définitive, seules les législatures de la Nouvelle-Écosse, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la province du Canada ont approuvé l'union. En décembre 1866, leurs représentants se sont rendus en Angleterre pour l'étape finale, soit la Conférence de Londres. Ils ont alors mis la dernière main au projet de confédération et ont notamment choisi le nouveau nom du pays : le Dominion du Canada. Les efforts déployés par les délégués à Charlottetown et au Québec ont finalement été récompensés le 29 mars 1867 quand la reine Victoria a signé l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique. Les trente-six hommes qui ont assisté à une des trois conférences sont surnommés aujourd'hui les « Pères de la Fédération ». Parmi eux, les plus connus sont les deux premiers ministres qui ont dirigé à la même époque la Province du Canada, Sir George-Étienne Cartier et Sir John A. Macdonald. Ce dernier est devenu le premier premier ministre du Canada.

La conférence de Québec de 1864 : en route vers la Confédération

Du 10 octobre au 27 octobre 1864, la ville de Québec, capitale du Canada-Uni (aujourd'hui Québec et Ontario), est l'hôte d'une conférence constitutionnelle qui marque un tournant décisif dans l'histoire du pays. En effet, c'est dans l'édifice du Parlement, alors situé dans l'actuel lieu historique national du Parc-Montmorency, au cœur du Vieux-Québec, que 33 délégués provenant du Canada-Uni, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et de Terre-Neuve se sont donné rendez-vous. Leur objectif: concevoir une nouvelle fédération.

Plus concrètement, cette deuxième rencontre vise à mettre par écrit le projet de fédération sur lequel s'est conclue une première conférence à Charlottetown le 9 septembre 1864. S'étant déroulée dans l'édifice de l'Assemblée législative de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (ou « Province House », aujourd'hui lieu historique national), la première conférence rassembla 23 délégués du Canada-Uni, du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Les deux premières conférences seront suivies d'une troisième à Londres qui se déroulera de décembre 1866 à mars 1867. Celle-ci aboutira à l'adoption de la version définitive des Résolutions de Québec et à la création d'un nouveau pays par l'adoption d'une loi du Parlement de Londres. L'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique, sanctionné par la reine Victoria le 29 mars 1867 et créant le Dominion du Canada, allait prendre effet le 1er juillet de la même année.

L'idée de regrouper les colonies britanniques d'Amérique du Nord remonte aux années 1760, soit peu de temps après la Cession de la Nouvelle-France à la Grande-Bretagne par le Traité de Paris (1763). Pendant le prochain siècle, une douzaine de projets, plus ou moins élaborés, émergeront sans jamais aboutir. Au milieu du 19e siècle, des raisons d'ordre politique et économique de plus en plus pressantes ramènent cette idée à l'avant-plan. Sur le plan économique, les États-Unis se font de plus en plus protectionnistes et ne souhaitent pas renouveler le traité de Réciprocité, une forme de libre-échange conclue avec l'Amérique du Nord britannique et qui arrive à échéance en 1864. Commerçants, industriels et bon nombre de politiciens-hommes d'affaires des colonies britanniques envisagent alors de créer un marché est-ouest en favorisant le commerce entre les provinces. De leur côté, les députés réformistes du Canada-Ouest (Ontario) voudraient annexer le territoire de l'Ouest de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson (appelé Terre de Rupert) car les bonnes terres de leur province, à prix abordables, sont déjà occupées. Mais ultimement, c'est le projet de construire un chemin de fer intercolonial et la capacité de s'en donner les moyens financiers qui motivera bon nombre de politiciens à favoriser la création d'une fédération politique.

Sur le plan politique, plusieurs parlementaires de Grande-Bretagne estiment que l'administration et la défense des colonies d'Amérique du Nord constituent un fardeau financier lourd à porter pour leur pays. De leur côté, les dirigeants coloniaux et une partie de la population redoutent une invasion américaine en représailles de l'ingérence anglaise du côté des états confédérés (sudistes) durant la Guerre civile (1861-1865). On souhaite également contrer l'action des « Fenians » sur les frontières. Profitant de la guerre de Sécession pour se développer militairement en sol américain, cette société irlandaise révolutionnaire vise en effet à s'emparer du Canada et à marchander en retour la libération de l'Irlande.

La nécessité de trouver une solution à l'instabilité chronique du Canada-Uni, où quatre gouvernements se succèdent entre 1861 et 1864, incite également des ministres de cette province à user de tout leur poids politique pour faire aboutir la fédération. L'un d'entre eux est George-Étienne Cartier, avocat-homme d'affaire-politicien, député du comté de Montréal-Est et procureur général du Canada-Est (Québec).

Le Parlement de Québec, la résidence officielle du Prince de Galles pendant son séjour à Québec en 1860
© T.H.W. 'The IIlustrated London News', 25 août 1860, p. 183. Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, no mikan 2934622

« Le lion de Québec »

En plus de participer à chaque conférence, Cartier est alors l'homme politique le plus influent du parlement du Canada-Uni parmi la députation francophone. Il fait partie du gouvernement de coalition (ou « Grande coalition ») formée en juin 1864 à l'instigation de George Brown. Ce député réformiste de Toronto et son parti réclament une représentation proportionnelle à la population, ce qu'ils souhaitent obtenir dans la nouvelle fédération.

S'il joue un rôle plus effacé par rapport à John A. Macdonald qui s'impose auprès des autres délégués durant la conférence de Québec, Cartier s'oppose à son idée de regrouper les provinces dans une union législative (une seule assemblée) qui centraliserait presque tous les pouvoirs. Comme les délégués des Maritimes, il défend les intérêts et les particularismes des provinces, notamment ceux du Canada-Est. Anglophile, monarchiste et conservateur sur le plan des idées politiques, Cartier, cet ancien « rebelle » de 1837, redoute l'annexion aux États-Unis dont il rejette les idées républicaines. Reconnu plus tard comme l'un des « Pères de la Confédération », à l'instar des autres participants des conférences constitutionnelles, les historiens considèrent que Cartier, plus que tout autre francophone, a amené le Canada français à la Confédération.

Les aspects mondains de la conférence

Transportés à Québec par le vapeur Queen Victoria,dépêché expressément par le gouvernement du Canada-Uni, ou par le chemin de fer du Grand Tronc, les délégués des provinces maritimes sont logés à l'Hôtel Saint-Louis (rue Saint-Louis), l'un des plus luxueux de Québec. Comme à Charlottetown, la conférence de Québec donne lieu à une série de banquets, de réceptions et de bals auxquels sont conviés les membres de l'élite de Québec. Pour sa part, sir Charles Stanley Monck, gouverneur général du Canada-Uni, accueille les délégués au cours d'une cérémonie protocolaire (levée vice-royale) qui se déroule dans l'édifice du Parlement dans la soirée du 11 octobre. Il en reçoit aussi à dîner dans sa résidence officielle de Spencer Wood (Bois du Coulonge). Ainsi, Edward B. Chandler et John M. Johnson, du Nouveau-Brunswick, prennent-ils part à un souper à la table du gouverneur compagnie d'autres convives, dont deux journalistes anglais qui couvrent la conférence.

Le 13 octobre, les ministres canadiens offrent aux délégués des provinces maritimes un dîner au Club Stadacona (un club privé) sis sur rue d'Auteuil. Dans la soirée du 15 octobre, c'est au tour du Bureau de commerce de Québec de leur servir un somptueux repas à l'Hôtel Russell, situé dans la côte du Palais. L'événement le plus grandiose est sans doute le bal donné par le Conseil exécutif dans les salles du Parlement qui accueille pour l'occasion près de 850 personnes de l'élite canadienne ainsi que les conjointes des délégués. Une semaine plus tard se tient au même endroit le bal des « célibataires » auquel les délégués accompagnés de leur épouse et de leur fille « à marier » sont conviés, de même que quelque 500 autres invités.

Pendant leur séjour à Québec, les délégués visitent plusieurs attraits touristiques dans leurs temps libres (chute Montmorency, fortifications, monuments commémoratifs, etc.) tandis que s'ajoutent des visites organisées de lieux historiques et de grandes institutions telles la Citadelle, la chapelle du Séminaire, la cathédrale catholique, le couvent des Sœurs de la Charité et l'Université Laval.

Spencer Wood, près de Québec, la résidence du Gouverneur-général.
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, no mikan 3574580 (un item)

Les séances de travail des délégués

Malgré un programme mondain chargé, les délégués besognent tous les jours, ne prenant congé que les dimanches. Étienne-Paschal Taché, co-premier ministre du Canada-Uni avec J.A. Macdonald, préside les séances de travail. Elles se déroulent dans l'édifice du Parlement, dans la bibliothèque du conseil législatif située au niveau du rez-de-chaussée. Assis au centre d'une longue table, à la manière d'un dîner à la française, Taché est entouré par les ministres canadiens: Alexander T. Galt et Cartier à sa gauche, Macdonald, Alexander Campbell et Thomas d'Arcy McGee à sa droite. Directement en face de Taché prend place George Brown flanqué par les autres membres du cabinet canadien, William McDougall et James Cockburn d'un côté, et Oliver Mowat, Hector Langevin et Jean-Charles Chapais de l'autre. Samuel L. Tilley, premier ministre du Nouveau-Brunswick, est assis au bout de la table, et John H. Gray, premier ministre de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à l'autre extrémité. Les autres délégués du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse entourent Tilley. Ambrose Shea et F.B.T. Carter, les deux observateurs de Terre-Neuve, tout comme les délégués de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard sont assis près de Gray.

Les séances officielles de travail se déroulent de 11 h à 14 h, puis se prolongent de 10 h à 14 h suivies d'une autre séance de 19h30 à minuit. Les déléguées s'accordent un répit de quinze minutes pour prendre leur déjeuner dans une petite salle voisine. Ils consacrent la pause de l'après-midi à négocier entre eux, à travailler en comité et à rédiger les premières versions des résolutions.

L'importance historique de la conférence

Au-delà des activités mondaines et des détails anecdotiques qui ponctuent le séjour des délégués, un séjour marqué par un temps froid et pluvieux d'automne, l'importance historique de la conférence de Québec tient au fait que c'est à ce moment que les Pères de la Confédération ont rédigé l'ébauche de la première constitution du Canada. Poursuivant leurs discussions à Montréal les 28 et 29 octobre, date à laquelle la conférence de Québec ajourne officiellement, ils mettent le point final aux 72 Résolutions (appelées aussi Résolutions de Québec). Celles-ci portent notamment sur le partage des pouvoirs entre un nouveau gouvernement fédéral et les provinces. Une résolution sépare le Canada-Uni en deux provinces (Québec et Ontario) et une autre précise que Québec et Toronto seront leur capitale respective. Elles fixent aussi la structure financière du nouvel État et engagent la nouvelle fédération à construire un chemin de fer intercolonial. Alors que les représentants de Terre-Neuve et de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard se retirent du projet, ceux des trois autres colonies conviennent que le texte des résolutions sera soumis à l'approbation de leur assemblée.

Dans une large mesure, les résolutions élaborées à Québec il y a 150 ans continuent à définir le Canada d'aujourd'hui avec son gouvernement fédéral et ses gouvernements provinciaux, sa chambre haute (le Sénat) dont les membres sont nommés et sa chambre basse (la Chambre des communes) dont les membres sont élus par représentation proportionnelle. C'est également par l'une de ces résolutions que le maintien du lien entre le Canada et la monarchie britannique est institué.