Common menu bar links

Commemorating the War of 1812

Message from Minister Aglukkaq

Leona Aglukkaq The Honourable Leona Aglukkaq, Environment Minister and Minister responsible for Parks Canada
© Government of Canada

The Parks Canada team is welcoming Canadians of all ages and interests to personally relive the events of the War of 1812 in their evocative landscapes, forts and buildings.  Visitors will appreciate authentic, not to-be-missed events, including experiencing the lifestyle of 1812 at home and on the battle front, fireworks, concerts of modern and period music, tall ship visits, grand encampments and military re-enactments.

Part of Parks Canada's mandate is to protect and present nationally significant examples of Canada's historical heritage and foster public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure their commemorative integrity for present and future generations of Canadians.

The Parks Canada Agency manages over 20 national historic sites where significant events of the War of 1812 took place. It is the leading presenter of historic experiences from an era that marked North American history.

From Signal Hill in Newfoundland to Fort St. Joseph in the Algoma region of Ontario, these powerful places tell the most moving and inspiring stories from this time of conflict and courage, stories that help us connect with our roots and values as a nation. 

As Minister responsible for Parks Canada, I invite you to include these outstanding destinations in your travels and vacations for the coming years. We can all be proud of our country's national treasures and national historic sites which are vibrant centres of community life and engaging history.

Commémoration de la guerre de 1812

Message de la ministre Aglukkaq

Leona Aglukkaq L'honorable Leona Aglukkaq, Ministre de l’Environnement et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada
© Gouvernement du Canada

L'équipe de Parcs Canada souhaite la bienvenue aux Canadiens et Canadiennes, quels que soient leur âge et leurs centres d'intérêt, et les invite à revivre eux-mêmes les événements dramatiques de la guerre de 1812, au milieu de paysages, de forts et de bâtiments évocateurs.  Les visiteurs feront l'expérience d'événements authentiques à ne pas manquer, y compris l'expérience de la vie en 1812, à la maison et sur le champ de bataille, des feux d'artifice, des concerts de musique moderne et d'époque, des visites des grands voiliers, de grands rassemblements et des reconstitutions militaires.

Le mandat de Parcs Canada consiste, entre autres, à protéger et à mettre en valeur des exemples d'importance nationale du patrimoine historique du Canada et à en favoriser chez le public la compréhension, l'appréciation et la jouissance, de manière à en assurer l'intégrité commémorative pour les générations d'aujourd'hui et de demain.

L'Agence Parcs Canada gère plus de 20 lieux historiques nationaux où des événements importants de la guerre de 1812 ont eu lieu.  Elle joue un rôle de premier plan en contribuant à faire revivre cette époque qui a marqué l'histoire de l'Amérique du Nord.

De Signal Hill à Terre-Neuve au fort St. Joseph dans la région d'Algoma en Ontario, ces lieux saisissants nous racontent les histoires les plus émouvantes et inspirantes de cette époque de conflit et de bravoure, des histoires qui nous aident à renouer avec nos racines et nos valeurs en tant que nation.

En tant que ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, je vous invite à inclure ces destinations remarquables dans vos projets de voyage et de vacances des années à venir.  Nous pouvons tous être fiers des trésors nationaux de notre pays et des lieux historiques nationaux qui sont des centres dynamiques de la vie communautaire et d'une histoire captivante.