Common menu bar links

War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - February 15th, 2013

Presentation Sword, Scabbard and Belt of Lieutenant-Colonel Francis Battersby

Parks Canada: X.71.261.1A-C

This spectacular presentation sword, scabbard and sword belt were given to Lieutenant-Colonel Francis Battersby of the Glengarry Light Infantry Fencible Regiment in 1816 by the Upper Canada Legislature. The sword is highly decorated with gold indented on the blued steel blade. The scabbard and hilt are gilt and the sword grip is of ivory. The sword belt is covered in gold bullion embroidery and has gilt lion-head fittings. Prominent on the blade is the dedication to Battersby. This sword is one of the most impressive military objects in our collection.

Presentation swords are very decorative, and were most often presented as gifts for impressive achievements, and were worn on special occasions. Incredibly ornate and made of the finest of materials, this “100 guinea sword” (a guinea was a British gold coin worth 1 pound 1 shilling) was, at the time, one of the highest honours that could be bestowed upon an individual. The sword was made in England and presented to Battersby after he had returned to his home in Ireland.

Battersby served with distinction during the War of 1812 as the commanding officer of the Glengarry Fencibles from the regiment’s founding in February 1812 until the unit’s disbanding in 1816. The Glengarries drew recruits from across British North America and fought at numerous battles during the war.

For more information, visit the Parks Canada Website.

Sword Hilt Sword Hilt
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 15 février 2013

Sabre d’honneur, fourreau et ceinturon du lieutenant-colonel Francis Battersby

Parcs Canada : X.71.261.1A-C

Ce superbe ensemble sabre d’honneur, fourreau et ceinturon de sabre a été remis au lieutenant-colonel Francis Battersby, du Glengarry Light Infantry Fencible Regiment (régiment d’infanterie légère Glengarry) par l’Assemblée législative du Haut-Canada en 1816. D’abondantes incrustations d’or décorent la lame d’acier bleui du sabre. Son fourreau et sa garde sont dorés, et sa poignée est en ivoire. Le ceinturon du sabre est recouvert d’une broderie d’or brut et s’ajuste à l’aide de boucles dorées en forme de tête de lion. La dédicace à Battersby occupe une place de choix sur la lame. Ce sabre est l’un des joyaux de notre collection d’objets militaires.

Les sabres d’honneur sont très décoratifs; ils étaient le plus souvent remis pour souligner de grands exploits et étaient portés lors d’occasions spéciales. Superbement orné et de qualité supérieure, ce « sabre de 100 guinées » (une guinée était une pièce d’or britannique valant une livre et un shilling) était, à l’époque, un des plus grands honneurs qu’une personne pouvait recevoir. Le sabre a été fabriqué en Angleterre et présenté à Battersby après son retour chez lui en Irlande.

Battersby a servi avec distinction à titre de commandant du régiment Glengarry pendant la guerre de 1812 (de la création du régiment en février 1812 jusqu’à son démantèlement en 1816). Le régiment, qui a combattu dans de nombreuses batailles pendant la guerre, a recruté ses membres à l’échelle de l’Amérique du Nord britannique.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Poignée Poignée
© Parcs Canada