Common menu bar links

War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - February 1, 2013

Watercolour Map of Fort George, circa 1800

Parks Canada: FX.1999.5.1

This watercolour and ink on paper map was acquired from the Sir David William Smith collection. Smith served as Surveyor-General of Upper Canada, 1793-1804. The map shows Fort George as it would have appeared prior to the War of 1812. The defences of the fort consisted of six earthen bastions, in which cannons were mounted, linked with wooden palisades. Inside this defensive perimeter were blockhouses for stores and soldiers, a powder magazine, kitchens, guard house and officers’ quarters.

The plan names the bastions for various dignitaries including one Governor of British North America: Robert Prescott; two Lieutenant-Governors of Upper Canada: John Graves Simcoe and Peter Hunter; one Royal Engineer: Gother Mann (the designer of the fort) and St. George, the patron saint of England.

Fort George, located on the west bank of the Niagara River near where it flows into Lake Ontario, was the headquarters of the Centre Division of the British army in Upper Canada and the scene of the Battle of Fort George on 27 May 1813.

For more information, visit Fort George National Historic Site and the Battlefield of Fort George National Historic Site on the Parks Canada Website.

Watercolour Map of Fort George, circa 1800 Watercolour Map of Fort George, circa 1800
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 1er février 2013

Plan du fort George vers 1800, peint à l’aquarelle

Parcs Canada : FX.1999.5.1

Ce plan, peint à l’aquarelle et à l’encre sur du papier, provient de la collection de Sir David William Smith. Smith a servi à titre d’arpenteur général du Haut-Canada de 1793 à 1804. Le plan illustre le fort George tel qu’il était avant la guerre de 1812. Les défenses du fort se composaient de six bastions en terre dans lesquels étaient installés des canons et qui étaient reliés par des palissades de bois. À l’intérieur de ce périmètre défensif se trouvaient des blockhaus servant d’entrepôt et de casernes, une poudrière, des cuisines, un poste de garde et les quartiers des officiers.

Sur le plan, les bastions sont nommés en l’honneur de divers dignitaires, dont un gouverneur de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, Robert Prescott; deux lieutenants-gouverneurs du Haut Canada, John Graves Simcoe et Peter Hunter; un envoyé du génie royal, Gother Mann (concepteur du fort); et Saint George, saint patron de l’Angleterre.

Le fort George, situé sur la rive ouest de la rivière Niagara près de l’embouchure du lac Ontario, était le quartier général de la division centrale de l’Armée britannique au Haut-Canada. Le 27 mai 1813, il a été le théâtre de la bataille du fort George.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, visitez les pages consacrées au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-George et au lieu historique national du Canada du Champ-de-Bataille-du-Fort-George dans le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Plan du fort George vers 1800, peint à l’aquarelle Plan du fort George vers 1800, peint à l’aquarelle
© Parcs Canada