Common menu bar links

War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - January 25th, 2013

Sword of US Brigadier General James Winchester

Parks Canada: FF.75.8.4

The owner of this sword was Brigadier General James Winchester, commander of American forces at the Battle of the River Raisin during the War of 1812. The curved steel blade has ornate designs etched upon it. On one side there is an eagle and E Pluribus Unum (From Many, One) a motto in Latin from the Great Seal of the United States. The grip is made of ivory and the hilt of silver.

After the August 1812 loss of Detroit, Michigan, the Americans devised a plan to advance north and retake the town. Learning of the dangerous threat to their security, British Major-General Henry Procter and a force of about 600 men, including British regulars, Canadian militia, and First Nations allies departed Fort Amherstburg, crossed the frozen Detroit River and attacked an American detachment at the village of Frenchtown in southeast Michigan on January 22, 1813.

At the Battle of the River Raisin (also referred to as the Battle of Frenchtown) the Americans were caught off guard and in less than thirty minutes, a large number of their force of 934 men had surrendered or taken flight. In the confusion, Winchester was captured as were his sword and his two pistols (one of which was featured on Artefact of the Week for 5 October 2012). The American commander was imprisoned at Quebec until April 1814 when he was exchanged for a captured British officer.

For more information about Fort Malden National Historic Site, visit the Parks Canada Website.

Sword of US Brigadier General James Winchester Sword of US Brigadier General James Winchester
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 25 janvier 2013

Épée du brigadier-général James Winchester des forces américaines

Parcs Canada : FF.75.8.4

Cette épée appartenait au brigadier-général James Winchester, commandant des forces américaines lors de la bataille de la rivière Raisin pendant la guerre de 1812. La lame d’acier courbée est gravée de motifs élégants. D’un côté se trouvent un aigle et la devise latine E Pluribus Unum (« l’unité née de la multitude ») tirée du grand sceau des États-Unis. La poignée est faite d’ivoire et la garde d’argent.

Après la prise de Detroit (Michigan) en août 1812, les Américains ont conçu un plan pour avancer vers le nord et reprendre la ville. En apprenant cette grande menace, le major général britannique Henry Proctor a rassemblé une force composée d’environ 600 hommes, dont des soldats de l’Armée régulière britannique, des miliciens canadiens et des guerriers des Premières Nations alliées, puis a quitté le fort Amherstburg, a traversé la rivière Detroit gelée et s’est rendu attaquer, le 22 janvier 1813, un détachement militaire américain au village de Frenchtown.

Lors de la bataille de la rivière Raisin (également appelée « bataille de Frenchtown »), les Américains ont été pris par surprise, et en moins de 30 minutes, une grande partie des 934 soldats américains s’étaient rendus ou avaient pris la fuite. Dans la confusion qui régnait, Winchester a été fait prisonnier, et son épée et ses deux pistolets (dont un a été présenté comme artéfact de la semaine le 5 octobre 2012) ont été saisis. Il a été emprisonné à Québec jusqu’en avril 1814, lorsqu’il a été échangé contre un officier britannique capturé.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Malden, visitez le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Épée du brigadier-général James Winchester des forces américaines Épée du brigadier-général James Winchester des forces américaines
© Parcs Canada