War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - January 18th, 2013

Sword and Scabbard of Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry

Parks Canada: BRQ.742.3a-b

Constructed in a style inspired by the British 1796 pattern light cavalry sword, this steel sabre and scabbard were carried by Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel De Salaberry, the victor of the Battle of Chateauguay. The rugged plain steel scabbard and unadorned blade were ideal for the rigors of field service. The sword has a steel hilt with a brass pommel.

The Battle of the Châteauguay, fought on October 26, 1813, was an important battle. Charles de Salaberry led a force of about 1,630 British regulars, Canadian militia, and First Nations warriors which repelled an American invasion of about 4,000 troops. The Americans sought to capture Montreal, and this British victory was one of the two battles (the other being Crysler’s Farm fought on 11 November) that caused the Americans to abandon their major strategic effort in autumn 1813.

To learn more about this decisive victory, read Salaberry Blocks American Thrust Against Montreal in the This Week in History archives. For more information about the Battle of the Châteauguay, visit The Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site on the Parks Canada Website.

Sword and Scabbard of Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry Sword and Scabbard of Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 18 janvier 2013

Sabre et fourreau du lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry

Parcs Canada : BRQ.742.3a-b

Fabriquée dans un style inspiré du sabre léger de cavalerie du modèle 1796 britannique, ce sabre et son fourreau faisaient partie de l’équipement du lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry, qui a mené ses troupes à la victoire lors de la bataille de la Châteauguay. Le fourreau robuste et la lame simple d’acier noir convenaient parfaitement aux conditions difficiles du champ de bataille. Le sabre est muni d’une poignée d’acier assortie d’un pommeau en laiton.

La bataille de la Châteauguay, qui a eu lieu le 26 octobre 1813, a eu une grande importance. Charles de Salaberry dirigeait environ 1 630 hommes, dont des soldats de l’Armée régulière britannique, des miliciens canadiens et des guerriers des Premières Nations, qui ont repoussé une offensive américaine à laquelle participaient environ 4 000 soldats. Les Américains cherchaient à prendre Montréal et cette victoire britannique a été l’une des deux victoires (l’autre étant survenue à Crysler’s Farm le 11 novembre de la même année) qui ont forcé les Américains à abandonner cet effort stratégique majeur à l’automne 1813.

Afin d’en apprendre davantage sur cette victoire décisive, lisez Salaberry bloque l’avance des Américains sur Montréal dans les archives de Cette semaine en histoire. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la bataille de la Châteauguay, visitez la page consacrée au lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay dans le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Sabre et fourreau du lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry Sabre et fourreau du lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry
© Parcs Canada