Common menu bar links

War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - December 28th, 2012

Coatee of Colonel Matthew Elliott

Parks Canada: FF.75.8.2

Colonel Matthew Elliot was the owner of this circa 1800-1813 scarlet military coatee. Tailored of a fine woollen material with white piping, the coatee has dark blue facings, collar and cuffs. The turnbacks on the tails of the garment are of white cloth. The flat, gilt buttons are plain.

Originally from Ireland, Matthew Elliott immigrated to Pennsylvania in 1761 and became a successful trader with First Nations. He sided with the British during the American War of Independence and after the war relocated to Essex County in Upper Canada. There he built a prosperous estate, and developed his commercial and political interests. His influence with First Nations and fluency in several of their languages helped him to become Superintendent of the Indian Department in Amherstburg in the 1790s and during the War of 1812. He was also a senior officer in the Essex County Militia during these periods.

During the war Elliott coordinated First Nations warriors and their British allies at the Capture of Detroit in 1812. He continued in this role in 1813 at the battles of Frenchtown and Moraviantown, and the sieges of Forts Meigs and Stephenson.

For more information about Fort Malden National Historic Site, visit the Parks Canada Website.

Coatee of Colonel Matthew Elliott Coatee of Colonel Matthew Elliott
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 28 décembre 2012

Veste du Colonel Matthew Elliott

Parcs Canada : FF.75.8.2

Cette veste militaire écarlate datant du début des années 1800 (1800 à 1813 environ) appartenait au Colonel Matthew Elliot. Fabriquée d’un tissu de laine de grande qualité avec passepoil blanc, la veste a des garnitures, un collet et des manchettes bleu foncé. Les bordures sur les queues du vêtement sont faites de tissu blanc. Les boutons dorés sont plats et n’arborent aucun motif.

Natif de l’Irlande, Matthew Elliott a immigré en Pennsylvanie en 1761 et est devenu un excellent négociant auprès des Premières Nations. Il s’est allié aux Britanniques pendant la guerre d’indépendance américaine, puis, une fois la guerre terminée, s’est réinstallé dans le comté d’Essex au Haut-Canada. Il y a construit un imposant domaine, et a fait avancer ses intérêts commerciaux et politiques. Son influence auprès des Premières Nations et sa maîtrise de plusieurs de leurs langues l’ont aidé à devenir surintendant du Département des Indiens à Amherstburg dans les années 1790 ainsi que pendant la guerre de 1812. Il a également été officier supérieur au sein de la milice du comté d’Essex pendant ces périodes.

Pendant la guerre, Elliott a coordonné les efforts des guerriers des Premières Nations et de leurs alliés britanniques lors de la prise de Détroit en 1812. Il a continué d’exercer ce rôle en 1813, soit lors des batailles de Frenchtown et de Moraviantown, de même que des sièges des forts Meigs et Stephenson.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort-Malden, visitez le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Veste du Colonel Matthew Elliott Veste du Colonel Matthew Elliott
© Parcs Canada