Common menu bar links

War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - November 30th, 2012

41st Regiment of Foot Drummer’s Belt Plate

This is a brass sword belt plate for a drummer of the 41st Regiment of Foot. Drummers carried a shortened version of the 1796 pattern infantry sergeant's sword, with a 60.96 cm (24-inch) blade. Drummers were of all ages, some of them being grown men. “Drummers” could actually be fifers, buglers or drummers, and were collectively referred to as “field music,” since their main role was to perform the duty calls in garrison, on the march, and in battle.

Drummers wore “reversed faced” coats with a distinctive lace or wool tape. Their colourful and distinctive uniforms would make them highly visible in battle. This would make it easy for officers to locate them on the battle field so that a limited range of orders could be played on the drum or bugle in circumstances where the human voice would have been overwhelmed by the noise.

The 41st Regiment of Foot was the only complete regular army battalion present in Upper Canada at the beginning of the War of 1812. It fought at numerous battles in the province during the war including the Capture of Fort Detroit in 1812; Siege of Fort Meigs, the Battle of Lake Erie (where the regiment’s soldiers acted as marines on the British ships) and the Battle of the Thames, all in 1813.

For more information, visit Fort George National Historic Site and Fort Malden National Historic Site on the Parks Canada Website.

41st Regiment of Foot Drummer’s Belt Plate 41st Regiment of Foot Drummer’s Belt Plate
© Parks Canada
41st Regiment of Foot Drummer’s Belt Plate 41st Regiment of Foot Drummer’s Belt Plate
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 30 novembre 2012

Boucle de ceinturon du tambour du 41e Régiment de fantassins

Cette boucle de ceinturon d’épée en laiton était portée par les tambours du 41e Régiment de fantassins. Les tambours portaient une version écourtée de l’épée arborée par les sergents des régiments de fantassins (modèle de 1796) dotée d’une lame de 60,96 cm (24 pouces). Les tambours pouvaient être de tous âges et étaient parfois même des hommes adultes. Joueurs de tambour, de fifre ou de clairon, les « tambours » jouaient ce qu’on appelait communément de la « musique militaire » puisque leur rôle principal consistait à faire les appels au sein de la garnison ainsi que lors de la marche et des batailles.

Les tambours portaient une tunique rehaussée de dentelle ou d’appliques de laine de couleurs contrastantes. Cet uniforme coloré et distinctif permettait aux tambours d’être très visibles lors des combats. Ils pouvaient ainsi être facilement localisés sur le champ de bataille par les officiers et un certain nombre d’ordres pouvaient être lancés à l’aide du tambour ou du clairon lorsque la voix humaine ne pouvait porter en raison du bruit ambiant.

Le 41e Régiment de fantassins était le seul bataillon de l’armée complet et régulier présent au Haut­Canada au début de la guerre de 1812. Le Régiment a combattu lors de nombreuses batailles dans la province pendant la guerre, notamment lors de la prise du fort Détroit en 1812 et du siège de Fort Meigs, de la bataille du lac Érié (au cours de laquelle les soldats du Régiment ont agi à titre de marins à bord des navires de la flotte anglaise) et de la bataille de la rivière Thames qui ont eu lieu en 1813.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, consultez les pages consacrées au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort­ George et au lieu historique national du Canada du Fort ­Malden sur le site Web de Parcs Canada.

Boucle de ceinturon du tambour du 41e Régiment de fantassins Boucle de ceinturon du tambour du 41e Régiment de fantassins
© Parcs Canada
Boucle de ceinturon du tambour du 41e Régiment de fantassins Boucle de ceinturon du tambour du 41e Régiment de fantassins
© Parcs Canada