Common menu bar links

War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - October 19, 2012

General Sir Gordon Drummond’s Presentation Sword

This incredibly detailed presentation sword belonged to General Sir Gordon Drummond. Drummond was responsible for the successful defence of Upper Canada from late 1813 until the end of the War of 1812.

Drummond fought against the most professional American army in the bloody campaign in the Niagara region in 1814. He commanded troops at the Battle of Lundy’s Lane (1814) and at the siege of Fort Erie (1814). A brave individual, he was wounded in the neck at Lundy’s Lane, and the family retain the musket ball that was removed from him at Queenston Heights. Drummond was the first Canadian born officer of general rank to serve in the British army.

Presentation swords are very decorative, and were most often presented as gifts for impressive achievements, and are worn on special occasions. This sword was presented by the Legislature of Upper Canada, and was most likely made and presented to him in Britain after the War ended. If you look closely, you can see that the hilt is inscribed with his name.

To learn more about the defence of Upper Canada during the War of 1812, read in Birth of Sir Isaac Brock, Shot Through the Heart, and The Battle of Beaver Dams in the This Week in History archives.

General Sir Gordon Drummond’s Presentation Sword General Sir Gordon Drummond’s Presentation Sword
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 19 octobre 2012

Épée d’honneur du général Sir Gordon Drummond

Cette épée d’honneur exquisement ouvragée a appartenu au général Sir Gordon Drummond. Drummond a réussi à défendre le Haut Canada de la fin de 1813 jusqu’à la conclusion de la guerre de 1812.

Drummond se battit contre l’unité militaire américaine la plus professionnelle lors de la campagne sanglante dans la région du Niagara en 1814. Il commanda des troupes lors de la bataille de Lundy’s Lane (1814) et au siège du Fort Erie (1814). Un homme courageux, il fut blessé au cou à Lundy’s Lane, et sa famille conserva la balle de mousquet qu’on lui retira à Queenston Heights. Drummond fut le premier officier né au Canada ayant le grade de général à servir dans l’armée britannique.

Les épées d’honneur sont très décoratives et étaient le plus souvent présentées comme cadeaux pour souligner des exploits impressionnants; elles étaient portées lors d’occasions spéciales. Cette épée fut présentée par l’Assemblée législative du Haut Canada et fut fort probablement fabriquée en Grande-Bretagne, où, vraisemblablement, on la remit au général Drummond une fois la guerre terminée. Si on examine l’épée de près, on remarque que le nom du général est gravé sur la garde.

Pour en savoir plus sur la défense du Haut Canada pendant la guerre de 1812, lisez « La naissance de sir Isaac Brock », « Droit au cœur » et « La bataille de Beaver Dams » dans les archives de Cette semaine en histoire.

Épée d’honneur du général Sir Gordon Drummond Épée d’honneur du général Sir Gordon Drummond
© Parcs Canada