Common menu bar links

War of 1812 - Artefact of the Week - August 24, 2012

View of Amherstburg, watercolour painting by Margaret Reynolds, 1813

This remarkable watercolour painting features a view of the Amherstburg Navy Yard, and depicts the construction of the HMS Detroit and various other Royal Navy vessels. The Detroit was one of many ships which participated in the defence of the Upper Great Lakes during the War of 1812, and was involved in the Battle of Lake Erie in September 1813. The Amherstburg Navy Yard was very important to British and Canadian efforts during the War of 1812 and served as one of the centres of British Naval presence on the Great Lakes.

The watercolour was painted by Margaret Reynolds in December 1813. It is rumoured that the figures in the foreground are British Major General Henry Procter and Shawnee Chief Tecumseh, both of whom were involved in the defence of that area.

To learn more about Fort Amherstburg (present-day Fort Malden) during the War of 1812, read The Invasion of Canada and Action at the Canard River! in the This Week in History archives. Visit the Parks Canada website for more information about Fort Malden National Historic Site of Canada.

View of Amherstburg, watercolour painting by Margaret Reynolds, 1813 View of Amherstburg, watercolour painting by Margaret Reynolds, 1813.
© Parks Canada

La guerre de 1812 - L’artéfact de la semaine – le vendredi 24 août 2012

View of Amherstburg, aquarelle de Margaret Reynolds, 1813

Cette aquarelle remarquable représente une vue du chantier naval d’Amherstburg, ainsi que de la construction du HMS Detroit et divers autres navires de la Marine royale. Le Detroit fut l’un des nombreux navires à participer à la défense du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs pendant la guerre de 1812, et prit part à la bataille du lac Érié en septembre 1813. Le chantier naval d’Amherstburg, qui fut très important pour les armées britannique et canadienne pendant la guerre de 1812, constitue l’un des centres de la présence navale britannique dans les Grands Lacs.

Margaret Reynolds a peint cette aquarelle en décembre 1813. On dit que les silhouettes figurant au premier plan seraient celles du major général britannique Henry Procter et du chef Tecumseh de la tribu des Shawnee, qui ont tous deux pris part à la défense de cette région.

Pour en savoir plus sur le fort Amherstburg (aujourd’hui le fort Malden) pendant la guerre de 1812, consultez L’invasion du Canada et de l’Affrontement à la rivière aux Canards dans les archives de Cette semaine en histoire. Consultez le site Web de Parcs Canada pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le lieu historique national du Canada du Fort Malden.

View of Amherstburg, aquarelle de Margaret Reynolds, 1813 View of Amherstburg, aquarelle de Margaret Reynolds, 1813.
© Parcs Canada