Common menu bar links

Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

General Guidelines

2. General Guidelines

Considerations for designation of national historic significance are made on a case-by-case basis, in accordance with the above criteria and in the context of the wide spectrum of Canada's human history.

An exceptional achievement or outstanding contribution clearly stands above other achievements or contributions in terms of importance and/or excellence of quality. A representative example may warrant a designation of national historic significance because it eminently typifies a nationally important aspect of Canadian history.

An explicit and meaningful association is direct and understandable, and is relevant to the reasons associated with the national significance of the associated person or event.

Uniqueness or rarity are not, in themselves, evidence of national historic significance, but may be considered in connection with the above criteria for national historic significance.

Firsts, per se, are not considered for national historic significance.

In general, only one commemoration will be made for each place, person, or event of national historic significance.

Places

Buildings, ensembles of buildings, and sites completed by 1975 may be considered for designation of national historic significance.

A place must be in a condition that respects the integrity of its design, materials, workmanship, function and/or setting to be considered for designation of national historic significance, insofar as any of these elements are essential to understand its significance.

The boundaries of a place must be clearly defined for it to be considered for designation as a national historic site.

Large-scale movable heritage properties that would not normally be considered suitable for museum display may be considered for designation of national historic significance.

Persons

    

Persons deceased for at least twenty-five years may be considered for designation of national historic significance, with the exception of Prime Ministers, who are eligible for commemoration immediately upon death.

Events (2002)

Events that occurred at least 40 years ago may be considered for designation of national historic significance. Historic events that continue into the more recent past will be evaluated on the basis of what occurred at least 40 years ago.

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada

Lignes directrices générales

2. Lignes directrices générales

Les demandes concernant la désignation d'un lieu, d'une personne ou d'un événement comme sujet d'importance historique nationale sont examinées au cas par cas en fonction des critères énumérés ci-dessus et en tenant compte de tous les aspects de l'histoire du pays.

Une réalisation exceptionnelle ou une contribution remarquable est une réalisation ou une contribution dont l'importance, voire l'excellence, surpasse celle des autres. Un exemple représentatif peut être désigné d'importance historique nationale parce qu'il illustre parfaitement un aspect d'importance nationale de l'histoire du Canada.

Une association évidente et significative est une association directe et compréhensible en rapport avec la raison expliquant l'importance nationale de la personne ou de l'événement correspondant.

L'unicité et la rareté ne sont pas des qualités suffisantes pour attribuer à un sujet une importance historique nationale; mais on peut en tenir compte quand on examine une demande en fonction des critères susmentionnés.

Les « premières » ne sont pas, en soi, des faits d'importance historique nationale.

En général, chaque lieu, chaque personne ou chaque événement d'importance historique nationale ne sera commémoré qu'une seule fois.

LIEUX

On peut demander de désigner d'importance historique nationale les bâtiments, groupes de bâtiments et lieux complétés avant 1975.

Un lieu ne peut être désigné d'importance historique nationale que si l'intégrité de sa conception, de ses matériaux et de son exécution, de sa fonction ou de son cadre a été maintenue, dans la mesure où ces aspects sont essentiels pour comprendre son importance historique.

Quand on demande qu'un lieu soit désigné d'importance historique nationale, on doit en déterminer clairement les limites.

Les biens mobiliers patrimoniaux de grandes dimensions qu'on ne présenterait pas normalement dans un musée peuvent faire l'objet d'une demande visant à les désigner d'importance historique nationale.

PERSONNES

Pour être commémorées, les personnes doivent être décédées depuis au moins vingt-cinq ans. Cette règle souffre une exception : les premiers ministres du Canada deviennent éligibles à une commémoration immédiatement suivant leur décès.

Événements (2002)

Les événements pouvant faire l'objet d'une demande de désignation se limiteront à ceux qui se sont produits il y a au moins 40 ans. Quant aux événements historiques qui se sont prolongés jusqu'à un passé récent, ils seront évalués en fonction de ce qui s'est passé il y a au moins 40 ans.