Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

National Program of Historical Commemoration

Overview of the Program

Since 1919, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada has been mandated to provide advice to the Canadian government on the designation of places, persons and events that have marked and shaped Canada. Every year, new subjects are added to the list of designations. The nominated subject must have a historical significance from a national perspective and not only from a local or regional standpoint.

The Prince of Wales Hotel National Historic Site The Prince of Wales Hotel National Historic Site
© Parks Canada

The participation of Canadians in the identification of places, persons and events of national historic significance and in their commemoration is a key element of the program. In fact, 95% of applications for designation presented to the Board are submitted by Canadian individuals and groups.

Role of Parks Canada Agency

Parks Canada provides professional and administrative services to support the Board's work, including the conduct of historical and archaeological research needed for evaluating applications and the handling of all administrative issues. It also carries out the ministerial decisions following the Board’s recommendations by organizing plaque unveiling ceremonies, installing and maintaining the commemorative plaques.

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada

Programme national de commémoration historique

Survol du programme

Depuis 1919, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada a pour mandat de conseiller le gouvernement du Canada sur la commémoration de lieux, de personnes ou d’événements qui ont marqué et façonné le Canada. Chaque année, de nouveaux sujets s’ajoutent à la liste des désignations. Ces sujets doivent revêtir un intérêt national et non seulement local ou régional.

Le lieu historique national de l’hôtel Prince of Wales Le lieu historique national de l’hôtel Prince of Wales
© Parcs Canada

La participation du public à l’identification des lieux, des personnes et des événements qui représentent un chapitre important de la riche histoire du pays et à la commémoration de ceux-ci demeure un élément clé de ce programme. En effet, 95 % des demandes de désignation présentées à la Commission proviennent d'individus et de groupes canadiens.

Le rôle de l’Agence Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada fournit des services professionnels et administratifs pour appuyer les travaux de la Commission. L’Agence effectue les recherches historiques et archéologiques nécessaires à l'évaluation des dossiers, s'occupe des questions administratives et met en œuvre les décisions du ministre suivant les avis de la Commission, notamment, l'organisation de cérémonies, l’installation de plaques commémoratives et leur entretien.