Common menu bar links

Transparency

Info Source:
Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information 2013

Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information provides information about the functions, programs, activities and related information holdings of government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. It provides individuals and employees of the government (current and former) with relevant information to access personal information about themselves held by government institutions subject to the Privacy Act and to exercise their rights under the Privacy Act.

The Introduction to Info Source: Sources of Federal Government and Employee Information and an index of institutions subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act are available centrally.

The Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act assign overall responsibility to the President of Treasury Board (as the designated Minister) for the government-wide administration of the legislation.

Table of Contents

General Information

Background:

The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada grew out of the interplay of disparate elements of public opinion concerned with heritage preservation and government policy before the First World War. A growing heritage movement encouraged the government to preserve and develop sites with important historical associations. At the same time, the government was looking to extend its national parks system from the west into the east and the idea of creating historic parks around significant historic structures was conceived. The War delayed the introduction of a government program to identify and preserve Canadian heritage; however, in 1919, James B. Harkin, the Commissioner of Dominion Parks, suggested that "An Advisory Board for Historic Site Preservation" be established, and the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada was born.

The Board was given a statutory base for its operations through the Historic Sites and Monuments Act of 1953.

Responsibilities:

Under the Historic Sites and Monuments Act, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada has the statutory responsibility to advise the Minister of the Environment and, through him or her, Parks Canada on the commemoration of nationally significant aspects of Canada's past, including the designation of national historic sites, persons and events.
Under the Heritage Railway Stations Protection Act and the Heritage Lighthouse Protection Act, the Board also advises the Minister on the designation of heritage railway stations and heritage lighthouses respectively.

The Full Board meets twice a year to consider submissions related to potential subjects of national historic significance from the general public, heritage organizations, provincial and municipal governments. The various committees, which the Board has established to expedite its work, namely the Inscriptions Committee, the Status of Designations Committee and the Lighthouse Committee meet as required.

Institutional Functions, Programs and Activities

National Commemoration Programs

Description : Information on the commemoration and designation of places, sites, persons and events of national historic significance; the designation of heritage lighthouses and heritage railway stations; and, the National Program for the Grave Sites of Canadian Prime Ministers.

Document Types: Nomination files (including supporting documentation, photos and contact information), Board Minutes, reports, plaque inscriptions, heritage character statements, statement of significance, correspondence, criteria and guidelines, and manuals.

Record Number: HSM HSM 005

Manuals:

  • HSMBC Criteria and Guidelines
  • HSMBC Plaque Installation and Maintenance Manual

Additional Information

Please see the Introduction to the Info Source publication for information on formal access procedures under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.

To make a formal request, please visit Parks Canada Access to Information and Privacy website

For additional information about the programs and activities of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, please contact:

The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada Secretariat
25 Eddy Street, 5th Floor
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0M5

Telephone: 1-855-283-8730
Facsimile: 819- 934-1115
E-mail: hsmbc-clmhc@pc.gc.ca
Internet: www.pc.gc.ca/clmhc-hsmbc

Reading Room:

In accordance with the Access to Information Act, an area on the premises of this institution has been designated as a public reading room. The address is:

Parks Canada
Heritage Conservation and Commemoration Directorate
Room 89, 5th Floor
25 Eddy Street
Gatineau, Quebec K1A 0M5

Transparence

Info Source :
Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux 2013

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada

Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux fournit de l'information au sujet des fonctions, des programmes, des activités et des fonds de renseignements connexes des institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Il donne aux personnes et aux employés du gouvernement (actuels et anciens) des renseignements pertinents afin de leur donner accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant et qui sont détenus par les institutions gouvernementales visées par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, et à les aider à exercer leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Un accès central permet de consulter l'avant-propos d'Info Source : Sources de renseignements du gouvernement fédéral et sur les fonctionnaires fédéraux et une liste des organisations assujetties à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information et à Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels désignent les responsabilités générales du président du Conseil du Trésor (à titre de ministre responsable) pour ce qui est de l'administration pangouvernementale des lois.

Table des matières

Renseignements généraux

Historique:

La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada est née de l'action réciproque de divers segments de l'opinion publique préoccupés par la préservation du patrimoine et par la politique gouvernementale, avant la Première Guerre mondiale. La montée du mouvement pour la préservation du patrimoine incita le gouvernement à préserver et à aménager divers lieux ayant des associations historiques importantes. Le gouvernement chercha parallèlement à étendre son réseau de parcs nationaux vers l'est et conçut l'idée de créer des parcs historiques autour de structures historiques majeures. La guerre retarda l'introduction d'un programme gouvernemental visant à identifier et à préserver le patrimoine du Canada, mais en 1919, James B. Harkin, Commissaire des parcs du Dominion, suggéra la création d'un « Comité consultatif pour la préservation des lieux historiques ». La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada était née.

La Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques de 1953 constitue le fondement législatif de la Commission.

Responsibilités:

En vertu de la Loi sur les lieux et monuments historiques, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada est chargée de conseiller le ministre de l'Environnement et, par son entremise, Parcs Canada, sur la commémoration d'aspects du passé du Canada qui revêtent une importance nationale et notamment sur la désignation des lieux, personnages et événements historiques nationaux.

En vertu de la Loi sur la protection des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales et la Loi sur la protection des phares patrimoniaux, la Commission conseille également le ministre au sujet de la désignation des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales et des phares patrimoniaux respectivement.

En général, la Commission se réunit en plénière deux fois par an pour évaluer les demandes des membres du public, des organismes patrimoniaux, des administrations provinciales et municipales relativement aux sujets potentiels d'importance historiques nationaux. Afin d'accélérer le traitement des demandes, la Commission a créé divers comités qui se réunissent au besoin notamment le Comité des inscriptions, le Comité sur l'état des désignations et le Comité des phares.

Fonctions, programmes et activités de l'institution

Programmes nationaux de commémoration

Description : Renseignements sur la commémoration et désignation des lieux, événements et personnages d'importance historiques nationaux; la désignation des phares patrimoniaux et des gares ferroviaires patrimoniales; et le Programme national des lieux de sépulture des premiers ministres du Canada.
Types de documents : Dossiers de demandes (incluant la documentation justificative, photos et coordonnées), procès-verbaux de la Commission, rapports, inscriptions de plaques, énoncés d'intégrité commémorative, énoncé de la valeur patrimoniale, correspondance, agendas, critères et lignes directrices, manuels et procédures.
Numéro du dossier : HSM HSM 005

Manuels :

  • Critères et lignes directrices de la CLMHC
  • Le manuel sur l'installation et l'entretien des plaques de la CLMHC

Renseignements supplémentaires

Les formalités d'accès en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont expliquées dans l'Introduction de la publication d'Info Source.

Pour faire une demande, veuillez consulter le site Web de l'Accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels de Parcs Canada.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, ses programmes et ses activités, veuillez communiquer avec :
Secrétariat

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada
5e étage, (25-5-O)
25, rue Eddy
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0M5

Courriel : hsmbc-clmhc@pc.gc.ca
Téléphone sans frais :1-855-283-8730
Télécopieur : (819) 934-1115
Internet: www.pc.gc.ca/clmhc-hsmbc

Salle de lecture

En vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, l'institution a désigné un espace dans ses bureaux comme salle de lecture publique de consultation des documents. L'adresse est la suivante :

Parcs Canada
Direction générale de la conservation et commémoration du patrimoine
Salle 89, 5e étage
25, rue Eddy
Gatineau (Quebec) K1A 0M5