Explore Canada's natural and historic treasures with Street View for Google Maps

View of Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site
Courtesy of Google Canada

In 2013 Parks Canada and Google began a two-year collaboration to document many of Canada's most iconic national heritage places through the unique panoramic lens of Google Street View.

Dauphin Gate
One of Google's Street View operators passes through the Dauphin Gate at the Fortress of Louisbourg while collecting imagery with the Trekker Street View backpack.
© Parks Canada

The first year's field season began in May at the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site in NS and concluded at Pacific Rim National Park Reserve in BC in September. Google teams hiked along trails and through campgrounds, drove park roads, explored historic sites and even went inside notable buildings, all while photographing them as 360 degree panoramas destined for publication within Google Street View.

Now, after a very productive summer of work, both Parks Canada and Google are pleased to announce that you can go explore them for yourself!

About Street View

Street View allows Google maps users to visually explore and navigate a neighbourhood through panoramic street-level photographs. To access the images, zoom into the lowest level on Google Maps or you can drag the orange "Pegman" icon on the left-hand side of the map onto a street outlined in blue. You can move up and down streets, or look around in 360 degree panoramas. You can see where Street View is available here: www.google.ca/streetview

2013 marks the first year Google's new "Trekker" Street View backpack was used in Canada. Capable of going anywhere a person can hike, the Trekker is the work-horse of the Parks Canada-Google collaboration, allowing Google to document a wide range of features within Canada's national heritage places including back country hikes, front country day use trails, campgrounds, the many nooks and crannies of historic properties, and even along the fortification walls of historic battlements.

To take a Street View tour of a Parks Canada location:

  1. zoom in closer to the location's marker;
  2. drag the “Pegman” over the map to reveal the blue-coloured Street View trajectories ready for you to explore.

What's next?

Next year Google and Parks Canada will continue to work together to document additional national heritage places across Canada, and to return to ones already visited to fill in missing pieces.

Bringing Street View to Parks Canada locations gives Canadians and people around the world a chance to virtually explore national heritage places from across Canada. From planning a summer vacation to augmenting classroom lesson plans, the partnership between Parks Canada and Google will better connect Canadians to the amazing places and geography that defines this country.

For more information on Google and Street View, please visit
www.googlecanada.blogspot.ca/
www.google.ca/streetview

View of Lake Louise
Courtesy of Google Canada
View of Gulf Islands National Park Reserve
Courtesy of Google Canada

Explorer les trésors naturels et historiques du Canada avec l'application Street View de Google Maps

Vue du lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg
Courtoisie de Google Canada

En 2013, Parcs Canada et Google ont entamé une collaboration biennale afin de documenter de nombreux emplacements du patrimoine national les plus symboliques du Canada grâce à l'objectif panoramique tout à fait unique qu'offre l'application Street View de Google.

Dauphin Gate
L'un des opérateurs du système de prise de vues Street View Trekker de Google franchit la porte Dauphin à la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg tout en recueillant des images avec le système, qui tient dans un sac à dos.
© Parcs Canada

La campagne sur le terrain de la première année a débuté en mai au Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg en Nouvelle-Écosse et s'est achevée à la Réserve de parc national Pacific Rim en Colombie-Britannique en septembre. Les équipes de Google ont parcouru les sentiers et les terrains de camping et les routes de parcs, exploré les lieux historiques et même pénétré à l'intérieur des bâtiments importants, tout en les photographiant en panoramas à 360 degrés aux fins de publication dans l'application Street View de Google.

Maintenant, après un été de travail très productif, Parcs Canada et Google sont heureux d'annoncer que vous pouvez les explorer vous-même.

À propos de l'application Street View

L'application Street View permet aux utilisateurs de Google Maps d'explorer visuellement et de parcourir un quartier à l'aide de photographies panoramiques des rues. Pour avoir accès aux images, faites un zoom au niveau le plus bas sur Google Maps ou vous pouvez tirer l'icône « Pegman » en orange située au côté gauche de la carte sur une rue dont le contour est en bleu. Vous pouvez remonter et descendre les rues, ou faire un panorama à 360 degrés. Vous pouvez voir à quels endroits l'application Street View est disponible, au lien suivant : www.google.ca/streetview.

L'année 2013 souligne la première année d'utilisation du nouveau système de prise de vues Street View Trekker de Google au Canada. Capable d'aller à tout endroit où une personne peut marcher, le système Trekker est la bête de somme et fruit de la collaboration de Parcs Canada et Google, permettant à Google de documenter une vaste gamme de caractéristiques des lieux du patrimoine national du Canada, notamment les sentiers de randonnée dans l'arrière-pays, les sentiers d'utilisation diurne de l'avant-pays, les terrains de camping, les nombreux coins et recoins des propriétés historiques et même le long des murs de fortification des remparts historiques.

Pour faire la visite d’un site de Parcs Canada à l’aide de l’application Street View :

  1. faire le zoom pour vous rapprocher du marqueur du site;
  2. faire glisser l’icône « Pegman » sur la carte pour faire apparaître les trajectoires de couleur bleue de l’application Street View que vous pouvez maintenant explorer.

Quelle est la suite?

L'année prochaine, Google et Parcs Canada continueront à travailler ensemble afin de documenter d'autres lieux du patrimoine national du Canada, et les opérateurs reviendront sur les lieux qu'ils ont déjà visités pour combler les pièces manquantes.

L'intégration de l'application Street View pour les sites de Parcs Canada offre aux Canadiens et aux gens de toute la planète la chance d'explorer virtuellement les lieux du patrimoine national du Canada. De la planification de vacances estivales à l'enrichissement des plans de leçons en classe, le partenariat entre Parcs Canada et Google permettra de relier davantage les Canadiens à des endroits exceptionnels et une géographique remarquable qui délimite ce pays.

Pour en savoir davantage sur Google et Street View, visitez :
http://googlecanada-fr.blogspot.ca/
www.google.ca/streetview

Vue du Lac Louise
Courtoisie de Google Canada
Vue de la Réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf
Courtoisie de Google Canada