Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

Terrace Bay Lighthouse lookout tower
© Rick Main

Cool & Virtual
By Sylvio “Hoss” Pelletier

"COOL" and "VIRTUAL" are the best words to describe two new attractions coming this summer to the coastline of the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area. Take a drive on scenic Highway 17 and experience the magnificent views of Lake Superior, as well as many community events.

Summer is a busy time of year with fishing trips, barbecues and family vacations. In between all the regular activities, take some time to visit your community neighbours along the top of Lake Superior. Community volunteers work hard planning a variety of special events throughout the spring and summer. Whether it is watching birds at the Dorion Bird Festival, dancing at one of the many powwows or the festivities of another special event, there is bound to be fun for all ages. Community websites are a great place to start planning your visit.

This summer there are two exciting new attractions you will not want to miss. The new Red Rock marina facility is preparing to open with a world class ice age exhibit. This will be an incredible experience for the whole family right here in Northwestern Ontario. You will definitely want to check out the woolly mammoth.

A unique, fun and interactive exhibit is also coming to Terrace Bay’s landmark lighthouse located along Simcoe Plaza and Highway 17. Visitors get an opportunity to enjoy a virtual experience, as if you were in the actual lighthouse located on the Slate Islands.

It is exciting to see communities along Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area prepare to diversify their local economies with attractions to retain visitors, increase community appeal to future residents, and attract new business ventures.

Please have a safe enjoyable summer and when you see the Lake Superior NMCA staff at the various community events say “hello.” We are glad to be part of our region’s new growth.

Back to shoreLINES


Red Rock Marina Facility Concept Design
© Form Architecture Engineering

Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du Lac-Supérieur

Au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Tour d’observation au phare de Terrace Bay
© Rick Main

Cool et Virtuel
Par Sylvio “Hoss” Pelletier

« COOL » et « VIRTUEL » sont les meilleurs mots pour décrire les deux nouvelles attractions à la ligne de côte de l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur! Promenez-vous en voiture sur la route panoramique 17 et imprégnez-vous des vues magnifiques qui donnent sur le lac Supérieur ou participez aux nombreuses activités communautaires

L’été est une période de l’année fort occupée, avec des sorties de pêche, des barbecues et des vacances en famille. Entre les activités régulières, prenez un moment pour visiter vos voisins communautaires le long de la côte nord du lac Supérieur. Les bénévoles communautaires travaillent très fort pour planifier une variété d’événements spéciaux tout au long du printemps et de l’été. Que ce soit l’ornithologie amateur lors du festival de la plume Dorion (Dorion Bird Festival), la danse à l’un des nombreux pow-wow ou la participation aux festivités d’un autre événement spécial, nous garantissons du plaisir pour tous les âges. Veuillez consulter les sites Web communautaires, un excellent point de départ pour la planification de votre visite.

Cet été, il y a deux nouvelles attractions passionnantes que vous ne voudrez certainement pas manquer. La nouvelle installation portuaire de la marina Red Rock se prépare à ouvrir ses portes avec une exposition sur la période glaciaire de renommée internationale. Ce sera une expérience incroyable pour toute la famille, ici même, dans le nord de l’Ontario. Vous voudrez certainement voir le mammouth laineux!

Une exposition unique, amusante et interactive sera présentée au phare historique de Terrace Bay situé le long de Simcoe Plaza et de la route 17. Les visiteurs auront l’occasion de vivre une expérience virtuelle, comme s’ils étaient dans le phare actuel, situé sur les îles Slate.

C’est très stimulant de voir les communautés le long de l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur se préparant à diversifier leurs économies locales avec des attractions pour retenir la clientèle touristique, augmenter l’attrait des collectivités pour les futurs résidents, et attirer de nouvelles entreprises commerciales.

Nous vous souhaitons un été agréable en toute sécurité et lorsque vous voyez un membre de l’équipe de l’AMNC du Lac-Supérieur à l’un des événements spéciaux communautaires, venez nous saluer! Nous sommes fiers de contribuer à la nouvelle croissance de notre région.

au fil de L'EAU


Concept de design de la nouvelle installation portuaire de la marina Red Rock
© Form Architecture Engineering