Common menu bar links

Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area of Canada

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

Lake Superior NMCA Staff
By Sylvio "Hoss" Pelletier

Thought you might like to know more about the team in the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area (LSNMCA) office.

A year ago, Eveline Maedel joined Parks Canada as the Finance and Administration Officer. It is her job to keep us in line and on budget. Eveline, a life-long resident of Nipigon, previously worked many years with the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources. She can be reached at eveline.maedel@pc.gc.ca or 807-887-5467.

Erin Joudrey is the Promotion Officer. She grew up along the Eastern Shore of Nova Scotia—Canada’s Ocean Playground. Erin holds a degree in Business Administration and certificates in Marketing and Human Resource Management. It’s Erin’s job to spread the word to those who have never heard of LSNMCA and the region before. Erin can be reached at 807-887-5669 or erin.joudrey@pc.gc.ca.

Sylvio Pelletier, also known as Hoss, is Lake Superior NMCA’s Product Development Officer. Hoss is a long time resident of Nipigon and the North Shore of Lake Superior. A member of the Red Rock Indian Band, Hoss has worked for the band, as well as, Aboriginal Affairs Canada and spent many years in the retail and forest sector. Hoss enjoys working with community groups on potential projects where the Lake Superior NMCA story can be told. He can be reached at sylvio.pelletier@pc.gc.ca or 807-887-5535.

Visitor Experience Manager, Greg Stroud, joined the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area family after working in various national parks on Canada’s east coast, as well as, Pukaskwa National Park. Greg's expertise in creating a positive experience for visitors will be a tremendous benefit for the region as he works with his team on initiatives preparing for the formal establishment of LSNMCA. He can be reached at 807-887-5537 or greg.stroud@pc.gc.ca.

Manager of the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area is Ray Boudreau. Also a life-long resident of Northern Ontario, Ray is very knowledgeable of the communities of the North Shore. Prior to joining Parks Canada, Ray worked with the Pic River Development Corporation. Today, Ray’s priorities are: 1) Interim Management Plan, 2) First Nation Protocol Agreement, and 3) resolving outstanding items with the Federal /Provincial agreement. Ray looks forward to the release of the Interim Management Plan, which guides Parks Canada in its management of the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area. You can reach Ray at 807-887-5468 or ray.boudreau@pc.gc.ca.

Over the summer months, our staff complement also includes students stationed at tourist information centers in Thunder Bay, Nipigon, Rossport, Schreiber and Terrace Bay. These students inform visitors about Parks Canada and participate in special events in the Superior North region. Students are hired through the Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP). Follow this link for information on summer jobs with Parks Canada.


Lake Superior NMCA staff (left to right: Hoss Pelletier, Erin Joudrey, Ray Boudreau, Eveline Maedel, Greg Stroud
© Parks Canada

Back to shoreLINES

Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du Lac-Supérieur

Au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Employés de l’AMNC du Lac-Supérieur
Par Sylvio “Hoss” Pelletier

J’ai pensé que vous aimeriez connaître l’équipe du bureau de l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac Supérieur (AMNCLS).

L’année dernière, Eveline Maedel a joint les rangs de l’équipe de Parcs Canada en tant qu’agente des finances et de l’administration. Elle nous permet de rester concentrés sur nos objectifs et de respecter notre budget. Eveline habite Nipigon depuis toujours et a travaillé pendant de nombreuses année au ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario. Vous pouvez la joindre à eveline.maedel@pc.gc.ca ou au 1-807-887-5467.

Erin Joudrey est l’agent de promotion. Elle a grandit sur la côte est de la Nouvelle-Écosse – le paradis maritime du Canada. Erin détient un grade en administration des affaires et un certificat en marketing et en gestion des ressources humaines. Sa responsabilité : faire connaître l’AMNC et la région à ceux qui n’en ont jamais entendu parler. Vous pouvez la joindre au 1-807-887-5669 ou à erin.joudrey@pc.gc.ca.

Sylvio Pelletier, aussi connu sous le nom de Hoss, est l’agent d’élaboration de produits de l’AMNC. Il a vécu pendant de nombreuses années à Nipigon et sur la rive nord du lac Supérieur. Il est membre de la bande de Red Rock, pour laquelle il a travaillé. Il a aussi travaillé à Affaires autochtones Canada ainsi que dans les secteurs forestier et du commerce de détail. Hoss aime beaucoup travailler avec les groupes communautaires pour des projets qui permettent de raconter l’histoire de l’AMNC du Lac Supérieur. Vous pouvez le joindre à sylvio.pelletier@pc.gc.ca ou au 1-807-887-5535.

Greg Stroud, gestionnaire de l’Expérience du visiteur, s’est joint à l’équipe de l’AMNC du Lac-Supérieur après avoir travaillé dans divers parcs nationaux de la côte est du Canada et au parc national Pukaskwa. L’expertise de Greg à créer une expérience positive pour les visiteurs apportera une grande contribution à la région. Il travaille avec son équipe à l’élaboration d’initiatives visant la préparation de l’établissement officiel de l’AMNC du Lac-Supérieur. Vous pouvez le joindre au 1-807-887-5537 ou à greg.stroud@pc.gc.ca.

Le gestionnaire de l’AMNC du Lac-Supérieur est Ray Boudreau. Lui aussi habite depuis toujours le nord de l’Ontario et connaît très bien les collectivités de la rive-nord du lac Supérieur. Avant de se joindre à l’équipe de Parcs Canada, Ray a travaillé à la Pic River Development Corporation. Actuellement, les priorités de Ray sont les suivantes : 1) plan directeur provisoire, 2) protocole d’entente avec les Premières Nations et 3) règlement des points en suspend concernant l’entente fédérale-provinciale. Ray se réjouit à l’idée de publier le plan directeur provisoire, qui oriente Parcs Canada dans sa gestion de l’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur. Vous pouvez le joindre au 1-807-887-5468 ou à ray.boudreau@pc.gc.ca .

Au cours de l’été, notre effectif compte aussi des étudiants qui travaillent aux centres d’information touristique de Thunder Bay, de Nipigon, de Rossport, de Schreiber et de Terrace Bay. Ils renseignent les visiteurs sur l’Agence Parcs Canada et participent à des activités spéciales dans la région nord du lac Supérieur. Ces étudiants sont recrutés dans le cadre du Programme fédéral d’expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE). Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les emplois d’été à Parcs Canada.


Employés de l’AMNC du Lac-Supérieur (de gauche à droite : Hoss Pelletier, Erin Joudrey, Ray Boudreau, Eveline Maedel, Greg Stroud)
© Parcs Canada

au fil de L'EAU