Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area

shoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

shoreLINES

Getting down and dirty
Getting down and dirty
© Parks Canada / Erin Joudrey

TRAIL RECIPE
by Erin Joudrey


Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area partnered with the International Mountain Bicycling Association of Canada Trail Care Crew, Trans Canada Trail, Land of the Nipigon Waterways Development Association, and Nipigon's Annual Hike for Health Committee to deliver a free trail building workshop in Nipigon.

The workshop which was open to the public attracted over 30 ambitious participants who wanted to learn more about the techniques required for building sustainable, multi-use recreational trails. Locals from Pays Plat, Nipigon, Red Rock, Hurkett, Dorion and Thunder Bay attended a classroom workshop before hitting the trail. The workshop provided a balance between the physical aspects of trail development and the importance of managing users, fostering volunteer clubs, and building & maintaining partnerships.

The Trail Care Crew Workshop was facilitated by Chad and Deanne Lazaruk from the International Mountain Bicycling Association of Canada's Trail Care Crew. Chad and Deanne are traveling across the country offering free workshops on the importance of developing community trail infrastructure and how to better design, build and maintain trails in a sustainable way.

Who would have thought building a trail could be so much fun?
Who would have thought building a trail could be so much fun? 
© Parks Canada / Erin Joudrey

On a sunny September afternoon, the trail experts on hand led participants through a hands-on learning experience at the Nipigon Marina near Clearwater Creek. Each participant gained valuable knowledge of what tools to use and how to best use them. Equally important was the experience gained in the methods of trail marking, ground preparation; including addressing drainage issues and finally how to make the trail look as natural as possible.

During that September afternoon volunteers created 150 meters of new trail . Imagine what a community of volunteers could do in one summer. Check out this new trail the next time you're in Nipigon.

Happy Trails!

Back to shoreLINES

Aire marine nationale de conservation du Canada du Lac-Supérieur

au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

au fil de L'EAU: Récits de nos guides et gardiens

Il ne faut pas avoir peur de se salir les mains!
Il ne faut pas avoir peur de se salir les mains!
© Parcs Canada / Erin Joudrey

LA RECETTE D’UN SENTIER
par Erin Joudrey

L’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur a collaboré avec l’équipe de gestion des sentiers de l’International Mountain Bicycling Association of Canada, le Sentier transcanadien, la Land of the Nipigon Waterways Development Association et le Nipigon's Annual Hike for Health Committee afin d’offrir un atelier gratuit portant sur la construction de sentiers à Nipigon.

Cet atelier ouvert au public a attiré plus de 30 participants ambitieux et désireux d’en apprendre davantage sur les techniques nécessaires à la construction de sentiers récréatifs polyvalents et durables. Des résidents de Pays Plat, Nipigon, Red Rock, Hurkett, Dorion et Thunder Bay ont assisté à l’atelier qui débutait en classe et se poursuivait dans les sentiers. L’atelier traitait autant de l’aspect concret de la construction de sentiers que de l’importance de la gestion des utilisateurs, du soutien aux associations de bénévoles et de l’établissement et du maintien de partenariats.

Ce sont Chad et Deanne Lazaruk, de l’équipe de gestion des sentiers de l’International Mountain Bicycling Association of Canada, qui se sont chargés d’animer l’atelier. Ceux ci se promènent aux quatre coins du pays pour donner des ateliers gratuits sur l’importance que revêt la création d’une infrastructure de sentiers communautaires et sur la meilleure façon de concevoir, de construire et d’entretenir des sentiers durables.

Qui aurait cru que construire un sentier pouvait être si amusant?
Qui aurait cru que construire un sentier pouvait être si amusant?
© Parcs Canada / Erin Joudrey

Par un bel après midi ensoleillé de septembre, à la marina de Nipigon, près du ruisseau Clearwater, les spécialistes des sentiers ont fait vivre aux participants une expérience éducative pratique. Ainsi, tous les participants ont acquis des connaissances précieuses sur les outils à privilégier et sur la façon idéale d’en tirer profit, sans compter qu’ils ont acquis de l’expérience quant aux méthodes de balisage des sentiers et de préparation du sol. Ils ont notamment appris comment régler les problèmes de drainage et comment faire en sorte de donner à un sentier un aspect des plus naturels.

À la fin de cet après-midi de septembre, les bénévoles avaient créé les 150 premiers mètres d’un nouveau sentier. Imaginez à quels résultats pourrait arriver un groupe de bénévoles en un seul été... Si vous passez par Nipigon, n’oubliez pas d’aller jeter un coup d’œil à ce nouveau sentier.

Bonne randonnée à tous!

au fil de L'EAU