Fathom Five National Marine Park of Canada

Facilities and Services

Information, Exhibits, Diver Registration and Administration at the Park Visitor Centre

Parking

There is two hour parking around Tobermory’s Little Tub Harbour, but it tends to get pretty crowded in the summer.

Where Head Street crosses Hwy. #6 at the tennis court, it becomes Hay Bay Road. About 100 metres (330 ft.) down Hay Bay Road, turn right onto Hatt Road. About 50 metres (165 ft.) along Hatt Road on the left is a large parking lot with no time limit. It’s an easy walk back to Little Tub from there.

Washrooms

There are several public toilets around Fathom Five at:

  • The ‘Tugs Site’ across from the Grandview Restaurant.
  • The Big Tub Lighthouse.
  • Flowerpot Island (Beachy Cove and at the Lightstation)
  • Park Visitor Centre

On Flowerpot Island, the toilets are located by the docks at Beachy Cove. Drinking water is not provided on Flowerpot.

Access for persons with Disabilities

Everyone should have opportunities to see national parks. Fathom Five National Marine Park has an access program which includes a TDD phone for the main park line [(519) 596-2233], and boardwalks, ramps, and a new accessible dock on Flowerpot Island.

At the Park Visitor Centre, there are wheelchair ramps, a wheelchair accessible trail to Georgian Bay, subtitled park film (played on request).

Local Community Services

Tobermory is the hub of the tourist area, providing medical services, stores, private campgrounds, lodgings and groceries. The natural harbour is one of the finest on Lake Huron, offering docking, launching and other facilities. Local captains operate a fleet of tour boats for charter and sightseeing cruises. The most popular trips are to Flowerpot Island and to view the shallower shipwrecks from glass-bottom boats.

For more information, visit the Tourism Links page on the Bruce Peninsula National Park website.

Parc marin national du Canada Fathom Five

Installations et services

Information, expositions, inscription des plongeurs et administration – au centre d’accueil du parc.

Stationnement

Il y a un stationnement limité à deux heures dans le havre Little Tub de Tobermory, mais il est très fréquenté en été.

Au croisement de la rue Head et de la route 6 près du court de tennis, la rue Head devient la route de la baie Hay. Environ 100 mètres (330 pi) plus loin sur cette route, tournez à droite sur le chemin Hatt. Environ cinquante mètres (165 pi) plus loin sur cette dernière, vous trouverez à gauche un grand terrain de stationnement sans limite de temps. Le parcours entre cet endroit et Little Tub se fait facilement à pied.

Toilettes

Il y a plusieurs toilettes publiques dans les environs de Fathom Five :

  • À « l’emplacement des remorqueurs » en face du restaurant Grandview
  • Au phare de Big Tub
  • Sur l’île Flowerpot (à l’anse Beachy et au phare)
  • Au centre d’accueil du parc

Il n’y a pas d’eau potable sur l’île Flowerpot.

Accessibilité pour les personnes ayant une déficience

Tous, handicapés ou non, devraient avoir la possibilité de visiter les parcs nationaux. Le parc marin national Fathom Five a un programme d’accès qui comprend un ATME permettant de joindre la ligne principale du parc [(519) 596-2233], ainsi que des promenades, des rampes d’accès et un nouveau débarcadère avec accès aménagé à l’île Flowerpot.

Au centre d’accueil du parc, il y a des rampes d’accès au bâtiment et un sentier accessible en fauteuil roulant qui mène à la baie Georgienne. On offre également une vidéo avec sous-titres (sur demande).

Services communautaires locaux

Tobermory est le coeur de la région touristique; on y trouve des services médicaux, des magasins, des terrains de camping privés, des lieux d’hébergement et des épiceries. Le havre naturel est l’un des plus beaux du lac Huron et est doté de quais, de rampes de mise à l’eau et d’autres installations. Les capitaines de l’endroit exploitent une flotte de bateaux d’excursion pour les visites nolisées et les croisières guidées. La vogue est aux excursions vers l’île Flowerpot et à l'observation des épaves les moins profondes en bateau à fond de verre.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la page des liens touristiques sur le site Web du parc national de la Péninsule-Bruce.