Common menu bar links

Fathom Five National Marine Park of Canada

Cultural Heritage

Marine History

Tall Ship
Tall Ship
© Parks Canada

Shipping around Tobermory began in earnest during the 1850s. Traffic entering Georgian Bay was comprised of schooners from the lower lakes bringing supplies to the developing lumber towns around the Bay. Outbound schooners carried lumber to the growing urban centres of Canada and the United States.

Big Tub Lighthouse
Big Tub Lighthouse
© Parks Canada

The development of improved navigation aids was spurred on by the increasing number of shipwrecks. Three lighthouses were erected in the area: Cove Island in 1858, Big Tub in 1885, and Flowerpot in 1897. As a result of these navigational improvements, and the first complete survey of Georgian Bay completed by Capt. J.G. Boulton in 1888, the frequency of shipwrecks declined.

Cove Island Lighthouse
Cove Island Lighthouse
© Parks Canada

The typical Great Lakes schooner of the 19th century was two- or three-masted and rigged in either a topsail or fore-and-aft configuration. Most were equipped with a large centreboard that reduced drift, added stability and, when raised, allowed entry into shallow harbours. The Canadian-built schooners were usually shorter than the American vessels to enable them to pass through the Welland Canal, which had a maximum lock length of 140 feet (42 m).

By 1890, propeller-driven steamers were rapidly replacing the old schooners. Lumber was still an important commodity, but many of the steamers were coasters, carrying passengers and general wares to the towns and hamlets around Georgian Bay.

For more information about the historic shipwrecks in Fathom Five, see the shipwrecks section of Dive Sites.

Chi Cheemaun
Chi Cheemaun
© Parks Canada

The present-day ferry service evolved from those earlier 'package freighters' visiting small ports around the Bay in the days when travel overland was slow and difficult. Early vessels like the Kagawong and Hibou pioneered the service which evolved over the years until today, with the Chi-Cheemaun, the largest vessel of its kind on the Great Lakes. The first ship to run this route for what later became Ontario Northland was the Kagawong, which was only 90 feet (27 m) long, just one-quarter the length of the Chi-Cheemaun. The Chi-Cheemaun, 365 feet (110 m) long, is driven by twin 16-cylinder diesel engines developing 7000 hp which turn two 5-bladed variable pitch propellers which are almost 2.72 metres (9 feet) in diameter.

Parc marin national du Canada Fathom Five

Patrimoine Culturel

Histoire maritime

Grand voilier
Grand voilier
© Parcs Canada

La navigation aux alentours de Tobermory a véritablement commencé au cours des années 1850. Les navires qui entraient dans la baie Georgienne étaient des goélettes en provenance des lacs plus bas, qui venaient ravitailler les villes riveraines en plein essor qui vivaient de l’industrie forestière. Au retour, les goélettes ramenaient du bois de charpente destiné aux villes en développement du Canada et des États-Unis.

Phare Big Tub
Phare Big Tub
© Parcs Canada

Le nombre croissant de naufrages a favorisé le développement d’aides améliorées à la navigation. Trois phares furent érigés dans la région : île Cove en 1858, Big Tub en 1885, et Flowerpot en 1897. À la suite de ces améliorations et une fois terminé le premier relevé complet de la baie Georgienne réalisé par le capitaine J.G. Boulton en 1888, le nombre de naufrages diminua.

Phare de Cove Island
Phare de Cove Island
© Parcs Canada

La goélette type des Grands Lacs au XIXe siècle avait deux ou trois mâts et était gréée d’un hunier ou d’une voile à l’avant et à l’arrière. La plupart étaient dotées d’une grosse dérive amovible qui réduisait la dérivation, ajoutait à la stabilité et, lorsqu’elle était levée, permettait d’entrer dans des ports aux eaux peu profondes. Les goélettes construites au Canada étaient habituellement plus courtes que les navires américains de façon qu’elles puissent traverser le canal Welland, dont les écluses faisait tout au plus 42 mètres (140 pi) de long.

Vers 1890, les navires à vapeur à hélices remplacèrent rapidement les vieilles goélettes. Le bois de charpente était encore un produit important, mais de nombreux vapeurs étaient des navires côtiers qui transportaient des passagers et de la marchandise générale entre les villes et les villages de la baie Georgienne.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur les épaves historiques de Fathom Five, voir la section sur le sujet à la rubrique Sites de plongée.

Chi Cheemaun
Chi Cheemaun
© Parcs Canada

L’actuel service de traversier est une variante des premiers navires de charge qui s’arrêtaient dans les petits ports de la baie à l’époque où les déplacements sur la terre ferme étaient lents et difficiles. D’anciens navires, comme le Kagawong et le Hibou ont été les premiers à assurer le service qui a évolué au fil des ans; aujourd’hui, le Chi-Cheemaun, plus grand navire du genre sur les Grands Lacs, a pris la relève. Le premier navire à parcourir cette route pour le compte de ce qui est devenu plus tard la Ontario Northland fut le Kagawong, qui ne faisait que 27 mètres (90 pieds), soit le quart de la longueur du Chi-Cheemaun. Ce dernier, qui mesure 110 mètres (365 pieds), est mû par deux moteurs diesel de 16 cylindres développant 7000 ch qui actionnent deux hélices à cinq pales et à pas variable mesurant pratiquement 2,72 mètres (9 pieds) de diamètre.