Common menu bar links

Parks Canada’s Gift to the Earth

Parks Canada Receives the Gift to the Earth Award

World Wildlife Fund Logo


A Gift to the Earth award is WWF-International’s highest accolade for conservation work of outstanding global merit. It is a recognition of inspiring leadership and conservation achievement that contributes to protecting the living planet.

On behalf of all Canadians, Parks Canada is honoured to receive this award in recognition of efforts to create new protected areas and to reintroduce species at risk into their natural habitat. In protecting new areas and through our species recovery efforts, we are also facilitating new and exciting opportunities for Canadians to enjoy, appreciate and connect with their natural heritage. This work could not have been successful without our collaboration with Aboriginal peoples and our many partners, and the remarkable support of Canadians across the country.

This booklet tells the stories of those special marine and terrestrial areas that have contributed to Canada receiving the WWF Gift to the Earth award.

These places are Canada’s gift to the world.

Alan Latourelle

CEO of Parks Canada

On behalf of all Canadians, it is a privilege to accept the Gift to the Earth award from WWF-International. Canadians can be proud of the outstanding conservation work and species recovery efforts that have earned Parks Canada this prestigious award. This important work protects what is fragile but vital: the unique, unrivalled and irreplaceable places where Canadians can connect to their heritage and the wildlife, landscapes and waters which represent the very essence of Canada.
Inspired by early visionaries, and in working with many partners, Parks Canada has created the finest network of protected areas in the world. The achievements recognized by WWF-International have been over a century in the making – a century of dedication, shared leadership and passion for Canada at its best. As we are honoured with the Gift to the Earth award, we are reminded of our responsibility to continue our efforts to protect and share Canada’s natural treasures with the world, for
the benefit of our precious planet.

James Leape

Director General of WWF-International

Canada is blessed with some of the last, large wild places on Earth – from its forests and tundra, to its lakes, rivers, and oceans.

Nowhere in the world do so few people enjoy such an enormous natural heritage as in Canada. Canadians have a global responsibility to steward it. This legacy was inherited from those who lived on this land for centuries and must be secured for generations to come.

WWF is pleased to recognize Parks Canada for exemplifying this level of stewardship. In its first century, it has done an outstanding job of creating and managing the nation’s parks, which are truly Gifts to the Earth. They have also exemplified a high standard of practice and performance for parks agencies everywhere. We look forward to a second century of progress toward completing the parks system – so vital to conserving the wild places that all life depends on to survive and thrive.

Un Don à la Terre de Parcs Canada

Parcs Canada reçoit le prix Don à la Terre

Logo du World Wildlife Fund


Le prix Don à la Terre est la plus haute distinction décernée par le WWF-International. Il souligne la valeur d’un projet de conservation particulièrement méritoire. Il récompense un leadership exceptionnel qui contribue à la protection de la planète.

Au nom de la population canadienne, l’Agence Parcs Canada est fi ère de recevoir cette marque de reconnaissance des efforts qu’elle a déployés pour créer de nouvelles aires protégées et réintroduire des espèces en péril dans leur habitat naturel. En protégeant de nouvelles aires et grâce à nos mesures de rétablissement, nous offrons à la population canadienne des occasions nouvelles et stimulantes de profiter et de se rapprocher de leur patrimoine naturel. Ce travail n’aurait pu être couronné de succès sans la collaboration des peuples autochtones et de nos nombreux partenaires ou sans le soutien exceptionnel des collectivités de partout au pays.

Cette brochure trace le portrait des aires marines et terrestres spéciales qui ont valu au Canada le prix Don à la Terre.

Ces endroits sont le don que fait le Canada au monde entier..

Alan Latourelle

Directeur général de l’Agence Parcs Canada

Au nom de l’ensemble de la population canadienne, c’est avec une grande fierté que j’accepte le prix Don à la Terre du WWF-International.

Les Canadiennes et les Canadiens peuvent être fi ers de l’excellent travail de conservation et des efforts de réintroduction d’espèces en péril qui ont valu à Parcs Canada de recevoir ce prestigieux prix. L’important travail de l’Agence à cet égard consiste à protéger ce qui est fragile mais vital, c’est-à dire les lieux uniques, incomparables et irremplaçables où les Canadiens peuvent tisser des liens avec leur patrimoine, la faune, avec ces paysages et ces étendues d’eau qui représentent l’essence même du Canada.

Inspirée par les premiers visionnaires, et en collaboration avec de nombreux partenaires, Parcs Canada a créé le plus impressionnant réseau d’aires protégées au monde. Les réussites soulignées par le WWF sont fruit de plus d’un siècle de dévouement, de collaboration, de leadership et de passion pour le Canada.

Le fait de recevoir le prix Don à la Terre nous rappelle que nous avons la responsabilité de continuer nos efforts visant à protéger les trésors naturels du Canada et à les faire connaître au reste du monde, pour le plus grand bien de notre merveilleuse planète.

James Leape

Directeur général, WWF-International

Le Canada a le privilège de posséder certaines des dernières grandes régions sauvages de la planète, allant des forêts et de la toundra aux océans, en passant par les lacs et les rivières.

Puisque le Canada est le pays où le patrimoine naturel est le plus important par rapport à la taille de la population, les Canadiens ont donc la responsabilité de le protéger . Ce legs, hérité des nombreuses générations passées ayant vécu dans cet endroit magnifique, doit être protégé pour le bien de la planète et pour les générations à venir.

Le Fonds mondial pour la nature est heureux de souligner les grands efforts d’intendance déployés par Parcs Canada. Au cours de son premier siècle d’existence, l’Agence a fait un travail remarquable dans la création et la gestion des parcs du pays, qui sont réellement des dons pour la Terre. Parcs Canada a également établi, sur les plans des activités et du rendement, un niveau qui constitue un exemple à suivre pour les organismes de protection de la nature de partout dans le monde. Nous nous réjouissons d’entreprendre un deuxième siècle de développement du réseau de parcs nationaux, si vital pour la conservation des régions sauvages dont la faune et la flore ont besoin pour survivre et s’épanouir.