Common menu bar links

Parks Canada’s Gift to the Earth

Working Together: A Common Vision to Conserve and Share Canada’s Greatest Natural Treasures

The path of stewardship that was started in Banff is not one that Parks Canada has walked alone.

Parks Canada could not have succeeded in conserving large natural areas and species’ habitat without a common vision shared with others. Aboriginal people, our partners, other governments, regional communities, conservation organizations, volunteers and stakeholders have been, and will continue to be, an integral part of Parks Canada’s success. The challenge of protecting our land and marine environments and connecting Canadians to our shared natural heritage continues to increase in our rapidly changing world. The Gift to the Earth recognizes Canada’s dedication to creating protected areas for the use and benefit of future generations, despite these challenges.

As we enter our second century of service to Canadians, the efforts of Parks Canada are increasingly focussed on conservation of the diverse marine environments that make up our three immense oceans and the Great Lakes.

Canada is being recognized by WWF-International for its gifts of conservation but by far the greatest gifts we receive are the ones given to us by the Earth itself―clean water, fresh air, food, clothing, shelter, and beauty and inspiration. Human beings are bound to the Earth in an endless cycle of receiving and giving.

Aboriginal people have always understood this concept. They honour the land and live in respect of it.

“Even when we don’t walk on the land, our spirit is walking the land. This work has taken many years, many people working with passion and dedication. We must always remember the words of our Elders: Take care of the land and the land will take care of us.
Jonas Antoine, Dehcho First Nations Elder, Nahanni Expansion Working Group  


Former Grand Chief Gerald Antoine, Dehcho First Nations, on the Nahanni River
Former Grand Chief Gerald Antoine, Dehcho First Nations, on the Nahanni River
© Frédéric Baril

Un Don à la Terre de Parcs Canada

Travailler ensemble : Une vision commune pour la conservation et le partage des plus grands trésors naturels du Canada

Le grand projet d’intendance qui a vu le jour à Banff n’est pas un projet que Parcs Canada a entrepris en solitaire.

Parcs Canada n’aurait pas réussi à protéger de vastes aires naturelles et à conserver les habitats sauvages sans partager une vision commune avec d’autres parties intéressées. Nos partenaires, les peuples autochtones, d’autres gouvernements, des collectivités régionales, des organismes voués à la conservation, des bénévoles et divers intervenants ont été, et continueront d’être, une partie intégrante du succès de Parcs Canada. Le défi que représentent la protection et la conservation de nos milieux terrestres et marins et le défi de rapprocher les Canadiens et Canadiennes de leur patrimoine naturel est toujours plus grand dans notre monde en constant changement. Le prix Don à la Terre reconnaît l’engagement du Canada à surmonter ces défis pour continuer de créer des aires protégées pour le bénéfice des générations à venir.

Certes, le Canada reçoit la reconnaissance du WWF pour sa contribution à la conservation, mais les plus grands dons sont, de loin, ceux que nous fait la Terre elle-même – eau pure, air frais, nourriture, vêtements et gîte et surtout, beauté et inspiration. Les humains sont liés à la Terre dans un cycle éternel qui consiste à recevoir et à donner.

Les peuples autochtones ont toujours compris ce concept. Ils honorent la terre et la respectent au quotidien.

« Même quand nous ne marchons pas sur la terre, notre esprit la parcourt. Ce travail s’est échelonné sur de nombreuses années et plusieurs personnes passionnées et dévouées y ont travaillé. Toujours, nous devons nous souvenir des paroles de nos Aînés : Prenons soin de la terre et la terre prendra soin de nous
Jonas Antoine, Aîné des Premières nations du Dehcho, Groupe de travail sur l’agrandissement de Nahanni


Gerald Antoine, ancien grand chef des Premières nations du Dehcho, sur la rivière Nahanni 
Gerald Antoine, ancien grand chef des Premières nations du Dehcho, sur la rivière Nahanni
© Frédéric Baril